Find companies:
Kaplan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
484 reviews

Kaplan Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Masters Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Plantation, FLMarch 2, 2014
Pros: health benefits are available day one of employment!
Cons: turn over can be high, you have to hit the ground running or else you are gone.
Time really flew by fast because I enjoyed what I was doing. I felt the need to help people improve their lives. In helping people to enroll back into school, I felt a sense of purpose. Great pay ( but you have to work for it). Check it out you will be happy you did. Hardest part of the job is cold calling students, who have filled out a form to get – more... more information. All calls are monitored so you have to stick to the script they give you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College where aspirations are met
Adjunct math teacher (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 1, 2014
Typically, I get students who have had prior problems with math after they have already spent a full day at work. Interaction with students is the best part of this job. Getting to know them as more than just a student. I am constantly amazed by some of the struggles they face and are earnestly trying to overcome.
The dean is knowledgeable and easy – more... to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive management staff
Adjunct Professor - Associate Degree Program (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: able to perform responsibilities in evenings and weekends
Cons: compensation is not adequate for amount of hours spent
As an adjunct professor, I feel I have the support of all staff. Distance has not been an obstacle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent teachers and other students
Student (Former Employee), davenport, IAFebruary 26, 2014
There are some students that are rude, but ignore them. The main concern is to get your degree and move on with life. They will not be in your life every day. For the most part the other students are extremely helpful and the professors are understanding and will help as much as they can help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Lead Admissions Advisor
Team Lead Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 25, 2014
Team Lead Admissions Advisor
Duties: Assist students through the enrollment process as well as helping new employees to become acclimated with the Kaplan enrollment process.
Provide shadowing and second voice for new employee until they are comfortable with the enrollment process. Also handling all customer complaint calls, being a second voice for – more... all new representatives – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting student with options in becoming current on student loan payments.
Student Loan Counselor (Current Employee), Plantation, FLFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: temporary position
Cons: enjoyed the people at work.
During a nine hour day we contact students who are currently delinquent with their student loans. On Fridays we only work four hours. Learned a lot of options the Federal Government have available for student loans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than no work
Security Officer (Current Employee), WoodburyFebruary 21, 2014
No benefits, no appreciation, no cares. The corporate heads come in and neglect everything but paint and cobwebs, meanwhile the whole building goes to hell. The directors care but are kept impotent to change anything for the better. the co-workers are fired based on drama, while the favored employees get away with anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
Program Director Allied Health (Current Employee), Riverside, CAFebruary 21, 2014
Worked for Pomona Valley Hospital for several years as an EMT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great integrity with high ethics
Director of Career Services/Student Services (Current Employee), Phoenix, AzFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: positive, ethical and has integrity
Cons: closing our phoenix campus
Have been with Kaplan College since 1995. Started out as the Medical Assistant Program Director. Accomplished getting program accredited with AAMA, providing graduate eligibility to take Certification. Wanted to learn more about the school business, became the campus Registrar. Eventually I became curious about the PR on the back end of the graduate's – more... education. I became the Externship Coordinator/Administrator in the Career Services department. The Director of Career Services was promoted to Executive Director of a sister campus. I was then promoted to the Director of Career Services position. I enjoy watching the students start their career paths and coach them along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory entry - level position
Records Auditor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Kaplan is a good place to learn about higher education the business environment. It is very hard to move up within the company and daily work is repetitive. The department is very friendly and young which can be pretty fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting and Advising
Career Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: work culture
Cons: low pay not appreciated
This company is a great company to work for however the pay is not fully up to par. Kaplan has an extermely talented team in place but raise's are extremely low and perfomance is expected at an al time high with little given back in return from the company. However, the people are amazing and many employee's have stayed in place because of the work – more... enviornment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and teach a great class of students.
Extern Coordinator (Former Employee), las Vegas, NVFebruary 10, 2014
A great place to work and teach a great class of students. I enjoyed the time I spent at this college teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical
Instructor (Former Employee), CAFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: sorry
Cons: read comments
Everything was fine for me until I complained about unethical behavior and classroom conditions. Then came the harassment and retaliation, it was down hill after that. Things are fine if you go with the flow. My main complaints are that students are encouraged to enroll even if they are not ready for college. This leads to drops early in their program – more... and leaving the student owing several thousand dollars. For example, a student with no job, no car and no stable residence 15 miles away from campus was encouraged to sign up and told a ride share could be arranged for them. The programs are 9-18 months. Needless to say the student dropped. Budget is top priority but it got to the point where educational resources were sacrificed. One of the higher managers wouldn't adjust the classroom air temperature to save money. I had a class with 24 students in a 20'x23' classroom, it was very uncomfortable. At on point I had to go through several managers to get a $12 pair of speakers for a projector. The student population ran between 400-600 students and the library was 20'x20' with outdated material (other Kaplan campuses could be different). The student's didn't get what they paid for. Instructors are asked to "donate" time to school activities for example graduation. Management wants instructors there but instructors are not paid for it and they are working. Kaplan also pays about half of what other colleges pay per hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A specialized education
Medical Assistant Nursing (Former Employee), Davenport, IAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: i was able to meet a diverse group of students.
Cons: some days were extremely long.
I Instructed Medical Assistant Nursing Students in their Skills: Anatomy/Physiology, Medical Terminology, Medical Law/Ethics,Vitals, American Heart Association C.P.R., American Red Cross First Aid, Laboratory Procedures, Urinalysis, Phlebotomy/Venipunctures, EKG's.

Graded Exams, Calculated Grades

There were 3 other members in this Health Department – more... teaching other coursework.

The hardest part of job was putting in a 15 hr. day

The most enjoyable part of job was watching them cross the stage on graduation day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 28, 2014
Successfully strategize and execute on ways to help qualified prospective students enroll into programs that will help them achieve personal and professional success. Serve as a Kaplan University ambassador by managing the relationship between the student and the University itself.
 Nominated as Team Leader in September 2007.
 Continually drive team – more... metrics through active participation in group huddles and individual meetings.
 Serve as a cross-functional team mentor by continually reinforcing team training concepts and tying them to conversations with prospective students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and very productive place to work.
Financial Aid Officer (Former Employee), Brownsville, texasJanuary 27, 2014
My work experience at Kaplan College was awesome. I was laid off one day before my eight year anniversary. Being able to assist my students was the best reason to wake up every morning. Everybody knew that as long as I had a student waiting for me I would be there to assist them 110% . I have 20 years customer service experience. The most difficult – more... part of my job was/is not having a job. I very much enjoy being able to guide my students towards success. If you review my resume, I worked at Kaplan College and studied at Southern Career Institute. I am a true believer in following your dreams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, great leadership, and staff
Tutor (Former Employee), Cedar Falls, IAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: happy enviroment
assisted with Kaplan university student with assignment, question on APA, proof read assignment, assisted with topics for assigned papers in Composition I & II, Anatomy & Physiology, and many more. Pharmacology class many student needed assistance with the formulas and mathematics. Make up test the student needed to come to Academic Success Center to – more... take the test in our room tutors put the exam in their professor folder. Everyone loved to work as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: excellent break room which included tv and numerous refrigerators
Worked in several positions at Kaplan. Started as Administrative Assistant, left Kaplan to pursue a different academic position. Returned to Kaplan several years later as a Quality Control Specialist.
Enjoyed working at Kaplan both times. Enjoyed co-workers and my managers were excellent.
Hardest part of the job was keeing current with daily requirements.
Most – more... enjoyable part of the job was the team members and how everyone helped each other resolve issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitie Work Environment
Associate Director of Admissions (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FloridaJanuary 19, 2014
A typical day at work includes driving for daily and cycle goals on an individual and team basis. I have learned how to engage employees and to strategize on receiving the best results. My coworkers and team are my favorite part. The most difficult part of the job is dealing with and overcoming outside influences that we have no control over. The most – more... enjoyable part of my job in motivating my employees and contributing to a thriving and satisfactory environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school
Student (Current Employee), Paris, TNJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: learn at own pace. teachers are very helpful and understanding
Cons: online learning
I love the school. They are very helpful and I have learned so much over the years. I recommend this school to anyone. The hardest part is trying to keep up with all of the laws that we learn because there are so many. It is very interesting and I have enjoyed every class that I have had at Kaplan.

About Kaplan

Kaplan will put you to the test. The Washington Post subsidiary is perhaps best known for its test-preparation publications, which – Read more