Kar Auction Services Employee Reviews

Found 177 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work at
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Manville, NJJuly 23, 2016
Routinely inspected all points of entry ensuring maximum security, maintained log of visitors and created identification badges. Assisted in conducting fire drills noting any security, safety or fire hazards. Monitored for any irregularities during patrol and prepared incident reports. Provided escort services to guests and employees. Maintain Security Officer Certification and SORA License. Patrolled the facility and served as a general security presence and visible deterrent to crime and rule infractions. Patrolled industrial and commercial premises to prevent and detect signs of intrusion and ensure security of doors, windows and gates.
Pros
advancement opportunities
Cons
un organize
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, Terrible Management, not a company if you have an opinion.
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasSeptember 14, 2016
The team were always talking about the clients behind their backs. Upper management runs like a sorority, the scold you for asking questions pertaining to the job. Outside sales reps were great to work with but ultimately were only out to save themselves. They have ridiculously high goals and for a multimillion dollar company; they can sure use a fine tune. Many people at the corporate office are rude and have a condescending adittude towards callers.
Worst experience to date... avoid if you like having fun and not panicking everyday like your about to be fired.
There are so many other companies doing floorplans nowadays pick another....
Pros
Good pay, hours
Cons
Have to work from home, use of own car, ridiculous goals, managment unapproachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People - Wrong Management
OFFICE (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJuly 8, 2016
Black managers and women managers are paid substantially less than their white male counter parts. Management is geared toward making the money - with no regard to do the right thing for the right people. Exempt employees are often treated like non exempt and expected to work 50 + hours weekly and are expected to only take minimal time off. Upper management takes extensive time off.

The company has a long ways to go in creating diversity and equality in the workplace.
Pros
Great Co Workers
Cons
HR staff is lacking in real world policies and practices
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAApril 30, 2016
Don't ever work here. You will be bullied if you don't get along with the right enployees. You upset one manager you've upset all of them. Very highschool mentality. Backstabbing, drama, gossip galore! They will also expext you to do 4 people's jobs for the same money. Avoid at all costs. Retail is better.
Pros
I made a couple of friends, experience for the resume, that's about it.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place work
Institutional AR Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 9, 2016
I worked for OPENLANE/CarsArrive. The environment, staff, managment was outstanding. It was a place where management really took the time to know about its staff. It was fun, yet a sense of accountability. I enjoyed the quarterly business updates provided by the executive stafff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kar auction services
Auction Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 10, 2016
This place pay rate is pretty bad takes forever to advance in the company if Im not mistaken they show a little favortism in certain positions. I come to work everyday on time and work overtime if asked but the hours of not knowing when to get off hurts other plans outside of work.
Pros
you get to meet dealers and buyers at the auction.
Cons
Not knowing when you will get off for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the process I suposse
N/A Right Now (Former Employee) –  NJApril 2, 2016
Anyway, I have spoken with the ORMGR. a few weeks ago and he stated he would have to check this certain area to be sure the position was not filled. He also stated that he would call me in about a week to do a power point to go over the system. So I had not heard from him so I called him and asked him about such so then he stated that he would again have to check this cetain other area because he had an phone offer out there to someone and then he would call me back eiether way.

Still waiting,....

As by reviewing the other reviews on this site I'm not affraid of work of any kind I have been in the Automobile Field over 32 years.

So I will leave this review at that and wait and see process, Then I will go from there.
Pros
They called me once and or twice or so.
Cons
When will they and if they will follow up is the true question.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place in the world to work for
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Buffalo New YorkMay 27, 2016
This company uses and abuses the minimum wage. The benefits are available but, but by the time he hears him you be lucky to have 50 bucks in your paycheck. Don't waste your time!!!
Pros
Benefits but you can't touch them
Cons
The general manager that doesn't care for his employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enough
Email Marketing Specialist - Email Developer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 1, 2016
KAR/ADESA is a good place to work. The work was fun and the creative team is really good. It would have been nice to have had a "heads-up" that they would be letting us go. other than that, it was a good job.
Pros
Great team, fun work
Cons
layoffs, zero communication
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you're young, you want to work here!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carmel, INAugust 2, 2016
The CEO is absolutely amazing! The culture is great! They actually have "FUN" as one of their mission statements.
Upper management are all seasoned experts in this field and they can teach you a lot if you are lucky enough to get some of their time.
The health care coverage is very reasonably priced, comparable to many other companies I've worked for. I didn't find it to be expensive when considering how expensive it is to NOT have insurance when tragedy strikes.
Their corporate office is way over crowded and people are crammed in there like sardines. They think the "open-concept" is still a cool thing... I think the corporate world shot that down long ago. People HATE the open concept....it is a productivity killer unless it is solely a call center environment. I can literally hear the phone conversations of 7 people with cubes surrounding me. I can hear the girl next to me CHEWING HER FOOD! GROSS...gotta love that open concept, huh???
Pros
FUN @ Work, Outstanding CEO, lots of extra perks & benefits
Cons
low pay, no work life balance in my dept; manager refuses flexible schedules regardless of the reason
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work place
Car Detailer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 15, 2016
It was a good working environment. I enjoyed working I would still work there if I had not moved state. It was not hard working there at all. My co-coworkers were great, very helpful. I enjoyed that I was able to work and have fun doing so.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal oriented, team player, and energetic enviornment.
inside sales representative (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 18, 2016
My day's at the auction consisted of always going the extra mile to keep our customers happy. Meeting new customers was almost a weelky thing that kept the work load big and days go faster.


I was always learning new things from my supervisors because they were team players and took the time to show me how to do something correctly instead of telling me. I also learned how to communicate effectively with individuals from both very large and small companies.

While me being the only Spanish speaker in the office was a constant struggle with so many cutomers it was also one of the position's I have liked the most because I enjoyed helping people make money.
Pros
Auto discounts, PTO
Cons
32 hour work week, 45 mile commute
Was this review helpful?Yes14No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adesa
Account Administrator (Former Employee) –  Franklin, OHAugust 8, 2016
Handled several accounts for a variety of retail, financial and rental car companies. Good opportunity to develop software computer skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there.
Branch Manager/GM (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 29, 2016
Very big disconnect between Corporate and real world operations. Minimal advancement opportunities and real number quotas of the actual number of employees that can "exceed expectations".
Pros
Great work/life balance
Cons
See above
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful place to work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Carmel, INApril 1, 2016
There are some good people there but the management and culture of this place is the worst I have come across. Anyone that asks me about ADESA I warn. Only if you are really desperate should you consider a job here.
Cons
Bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique Job
Field Manager (Current Employee) –  Roswell, GAMay 30, 2016
Working for KAR Auction Services as a field representative is a truly unique opportunity. However, there is little to no opportunity for advancement and pay increases.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable work place
Quality Control Analyst (Current Employee) –  Carmel, INDecember 31, 2015
It's exciting to be part of a company that is delivering winning solutions to customers and growing like crazy. People are encouraged to innovate and we steadily adopt new technologies that help us move faster and improve the experience of those using our solutions. The company is willing to invest in new technologies where it makes sense.The work is fast paced combined with a high level of attention to detail.

Management is trying hard to provide a high-performing team culture and seems to really care about being the employer of choice.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Damage Appraiser
Damage Appraiser (Former Employee) –  Concord, MAJuly 17, 2016
Inspected cars before they go to auction
Write reports reflecting damage and work needed to be done
Trained new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer, Tv, bathroom
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Plantation, FLMay 27, 2016
Nice time working at this place take ID call in guests to residents u have to observe and walk, stand , talk , friendly, make sure your uniform clean
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
synergy
App Support Operations Analyst Tier 1 (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAJune 15, 2016
Able to work among different teams and get a better understanding of what different departments do that affect your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kar Auction Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 203 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

Kar Auction Services Reviews by Location