KAR Auction Services

KAR Auction Services Employee Reviews

Found 193 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Driver/Car wash (Former Employee) –  Manteca, CANovember 13, 2016
The only thing that i would have to say bad about this job is that if you are concerned about getting sun burned than this is not the place you want to be. this job requires a lot of hours maintaining vehicles clean and up to standards for auctions and therefore we spend a lot of the day outside in the parking lots and in the sun. working here i definitely left here a couple shades darker than when i first started my job there.
Pros
good environment and good people to work with
Cons
spending ALOT of time in the sun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to fill the void.
Lot Crew (Current Employee) –  Plainfield, INNovember 5, 2016
The work is monotonous and rarely changes beyond the weekly cycle. Most of the work on the lot can be learned in a single day. Proficiency in the field, of course, takes time.

Management is usually two steps removed from the Lot crew in demeanor and action. It takes quite the effort to reach member of management let alone receive acknowledgement or the due change that is requested.

The work itself is extremely easy, only needing to be good at parking cars with some accuracy and the ability to count.

The Lot crew is subjected to the elements, so winters and summers can be brutal.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical office environment
Online Operations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Carmel, INNovember 25, 2016
While coworkers were amicable and friendly, the nature of the work was largely independent, incredibly repetitive, and overall unfulfilling. The independent work largely prohibited the formation of any bond beyond spending 9 hours in the same wing together. Departments across the board experienced fairly low turnover, especially in mid-management, leaving entry-level employees stuck for long periods of time without upper positions available for career growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be part of something!!!!!!!!
Account Administrator II (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 7, 2016
Only left because I had to move out of state for family. Very difficult decision considering the family atmosphere I had at work. 25 years in Automotive and I can honestly say that ADESA Las Vegas is the only place that I looked forward to getting up and going to work Mon-Fri. Management knows the true meaning of work life balance and you can leave work at work and enjoy your life outside of work. Yes, it's high paced but it is actually a fun high pace. Upper management and the management team are customer focused but you are the main priority. Do the job, ask for help when needed and perform how you want to be performed.
Pros
Sense of accomplishment, supportive and knowledgeable staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, Terrible Management, not a company if you have an opinion.
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasSeptember 14, 2016
The team were always talking about the clients behind their backs. Upper management runs like a sorority, the scold you for asking questions pertaining to the job. Outside sales reps were great to work with but ultimately were only out to save themselves. They have ridiculously high goals and for a multimillion dollar company; they can sure use a fine tune. Many people at the corporate office are rude and have a condescending adittude towards callers.
Worst experience to date... avoid if you like having fun and not panicking everyday like your about to be fired.
There are so many other companies doing floorplans nowadays pick another....
Pros
Good pay, hours
Cons
Have to work from home, use of own car, ridiculous goals, managment unapproachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work at
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Manville, NJJuly 23, 2016
Routinely inspected all points of entry ensuring maximum security, maintained log of visitors and created identification badges. Assisted in conducting fire drills noting any security, safety or fire hazards. Monitored for any irregularities during patrol and prepared incident reports. Provided escort services to guests and employees. Maintain Security Officer Certification and SORA License. Patrolled the facility and served as a general security presence and visible deterrent to crime and rule infractions. Patrolled industrial and commercial premises to prevent and detect signs of intrusion and ensure security of doors, windows and gates.
Pros
advancement opportunities
Cons
un organize
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People - Wrong Management
OFFICE (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJuly 8, 2016
Black managers and women managers are paid substantially less than their white male counter parts. Management is geared toward making the money - with no regard to do the right thing for the right people. Exempt employees are often treated like non exempt and expected to work 50 + hours weekly and are expected to only take minimal time off. Upper management takes extensive time off.

The company has a long ways to go in creating diversity and equality in the workplace.
Pros
Great Co Workers
Cons
HR staff is lacking in real world policies and practices
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration does NOT care.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Bay City, MIOctober 4, 2016
WAS a good place to work for until Adesa took over. then no raises & increased amount of work expected. Administration did NOT care, thus way to many ATTITUDES allowed to exist.
Pros
Got to drive all kinds of vehicles.
Cons
No breaks, almost never given a lunch, EVERYONE thought they were your boss!
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Auto Detailer (Current Employee) –  Dayton, MNNovember 14, 2016
There is nothing I enjoy more than working on cars. If you are a "car guy", this place will be a piece of cake for you, although great power comes with great responsibility.
Pros
All kinds of vehicles from Maserati to Honda
Cons
Production pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, friendly, positive environment
Dealer Administrative Representative (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYNovember 15, 2016
Great place to work. Great friends, fair pay with room for advancement and growth, equality and positive outlooks. The only reason I left was an across the board lay-off
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adesa
Lot Technician (Former Employee) –  Franklin, OHDecember 1, 2016
This is an awesome company to work for. I have no complaints other then I wish they had different hours of operation. This is a well rounded company and is an awesome career choice.
Pros
Pay, benefits
Cons
Hours of operation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place work
Institutional AR Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 9, 2016
I worked for OPENLANE/CarsArrive. The environment, staff, managment was outstanding. It was a place where management really took the time to know about its staff. It was fun, yet a sense of accountability. I enjoyed the quarterly business updates provided by the executive stafff.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAApril 30, 2016
Don't ever work here. You will be bullied if you don't get along with the right enployees. You upset one manager you've upset all of them. Very highschool mentality. Backstabbing, drama, gossip galore! They will also expext you to do 4 people's jobs for the same money. Avoid at all costs. Retail is better.
Pros
I made a couple of friends, experience for the resume, that's about it.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Positions
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZNovember 29, 2016
Fast paced.
Management doesn't communicate well...you have no clue if your doing well or not.
Very few SOP's which leads to confusion by employees and management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place in the world to work for
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Buffalo New YorkMay 27, 2016
This company uses and abuses the minimum wage. The benefits are available but, but by the time he hears him you be lucky to have 50 bucks in your paycheck. Don't waste your time!!!
Pros
Benefits but you can't touch them
Cons
The general manager that doesn't care for his employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Enough
Email Marketing Specialist - Email Developer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 1, 2016
KAR/ADESA is a good place to work. The work was fun and the creative team is really good. It would have been nice to have had a "heads-up" that they would be letting us go. other than that, it was a good job.
Pros
Great team, fun work
Cons
layoffs, zero communication
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kar auction services
Auction Driver (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 10, 2016
This place pay rate is pretty bad takes forever to advance in the company if Im not mistaken they show a little favortism in certain positions. I come to work everyday on time and work overtime if asked but the hours of not knowing when to get off hurts other plans outside of work.
Pros
you get to meet dealers and buyers at the auction.
Cons
Not knowing when you will get off for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the process I suposse
N/A Right Now (Former Employee) –  NJApril 2, 2016
Anyway, I have spoken with the ORMGR. a few weeks ago and he stated he would have to check this certain area to be sure the position was not filled. He also stated that he would call me in about a week to do a power point to go over the system. So I had not heard from him so I called him and asked him about such so then he stated that he would again have to check this cetain other area because he had an phone offer out there to someone and then he would call me back eiether way.

Still waiting,....

As by reviewing the other reviews on this site I'm not affraid of work of any kind I have been in the Automobile Field over 32 years.

So I will leave this review at that and wait and see process, Then I will go from there.
Pros
They called me once and or twice or so.
Cons
When will they and if they will follow up is the true question.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 4, 2016
a lovely place to work & meet new people great opportunity to expand. What I enjoy most is meeting new people and being able to see the newest vehicles.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 20, 2016
Work environment is horrible. Claims to be drug free but questionable. Management has gone down hill and is not open door.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 221 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9

KAR Auction Services Reviews by Location