Kelley Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional/ Will use you then throw you away!
Construction Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 8, 2016
Kelley stole me away from another company and just two months later laid me off "Due To The Lack Of Work". Now they are rehiring for the same position they laid me off from.
These people are a joke! Joe Kelley won't even acknowledge you if you try and contact him.
BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY! THEY WILL TELL YOU ANYTHING TO GET WHAT THEY WANT, MAKE SURE YOU GET IT IN WRITING. GOOD LUCK!
Pros
You will get a paycheck.
Cons
They will throw you away without notice, no loyalty.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never home
Super (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 16, 2015
Forced to room and work with unskilled labor and the management is even worse

pay check is wrong every week

Not allowed to go home on a regular bases
Pros
None
Cons
ALL worst place I have ever worked
Was this review helpful?Yes24No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idea Job
Industrial Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 7, 2014
Great companies, ample chances to move up the ladder, and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-employment
Sub Contractor (Current Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARJune 27, 2014
When business is good, it's great. When business is slow, there is a lack of income.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Construction decrease
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dysfunctional, unorganized, and a lot of safety violation.
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KentuckyMarch 30, 2014
I worked for Kelley Constitution for about 6 months, and I should have left sooner.
There are some good guys working there, however for the most part the management is extremely unqualified. I would be sent to a job for a few days then sent to another job for a week, and then sent home for 3 weeks.
It would take 2 or 3 months to get reimbursement for gas or anything that I paid for.
Also they MAKE two guys room together, no matter what, and most of their workers are drunks.
Kelley Constitution is the laughing stock of the petroleum industry.
Pros
None
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes30No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Family Business
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Pierre, SDMay 20, 2013
Kelley Construction is very family orientated. They are a great bunch to work with, and I've learned a lot in the years I've been with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life experience
Summer job as laborer (Former Employee) –  Englewood, TNFebruary 21, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed working with Kelley Construction. It was my grandfathers company so he gave me a great deal of responsibility while I was there. It taught me a lot about effective management along with great life skills. The hardest part of the job for me was the intense heat on some days when it was in the high 90s.
Pros
great life skills
Cons
potential for heat exhaustion
Was this review helpful?Yes8No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place Consultant
Owner/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Blue Springs, MODecember 14, 2012
I do well in cold calling. I learned how to consult with clients in the positive of ways. I work well with Management. I am a team player. The hardest part: was bid situations. I enjoyed the presentations that I did, working with AutoCAD programs.
Pros
health insurance
Cons
some people not being team players
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's an ok company to work for
Concrete finisher / Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 21, 2012
Kelley construction is ok but there is alot of race issues concerning hispanics/ African American from a few of the workers, but I have learned to not pay attention to their remarks.
Pros
always kept busy
Cons
racial slurs
Was this review helpful?Yes24No9Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 10 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1