Kelley Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Meadville, MS 39653July 11, 2017
Small company run by a born again christian says one thing and acts the opposite. When a co-worker was injured falling through a rotten floor while carrying a toilet, he came up with a new "policy"regarding accidents. Since he didn't take out taxes, we were considered subs and would have to pay our own medical bills. I couldn't wait to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Carpenter/operator (Current Employee) –  Pearland, TXJune 3, 2016
Its a very good company to work for good on hours per week, the people u work with and the management or very good in communicating. The have a very good safety environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional/ Will use you then throw you away!
Construction Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 8, 2016
Kelley stole me away from another company and just two months later laid me off "Due To The Lack Of Work". Now they are rehiring for the same position they laid me off from.
These people are a joke! Joe Kelley won't even acknowledge you if you try and contact him.
BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY! THEY WILL TELL YOU ANYTHING TO GET WHAT THEY WANT, MAKE SURE YOU GET IT IN WRITING. GOOD LUCK!
Pros
You will get a paycheck.
Cons
They will throw you away without notice, no loyalty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never home
Super (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 16, 2015
Forced to room and work with unskilled labor and the management is even worse

pay check is wrong every week

Not allowed to go home on a regular bases
Pros
None
Cons
ALL worst place I have ever worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Idea Job
Industrial Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 7, 2014
Great companies, ample chances to move up the ladder, and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-employment
Sub Contractor (Current Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARJune 27, 2014
When business is good, it's great. When business is slow, there is a lack of income.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Construction decrease
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dysfunctional, unorganized, and a lot of safety violation.
Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KentuckyMarch 30, 2014
I worked for Kelley Constitution for about 6 months, and I should have left sooner.
There are some good guys working there, however for the most part the management is extremely unqualified. I would be sent to a job for a few days then sent to another job for a week, and then sent home for 3 weeks.
It would take 2 or 3 months to get reimbursement for gas or anything that I paid for.
Also they MAKE two guys room together, no matter what, and most of their workers are drunks.
Kelley Constitution is the laughing stock of the petroleum industry.
Pros
None
Cons
To many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Family Business
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Pierre, SDMay 20, 2013
Kelley Construction is very family orientated. They are a great bunch to work with, and I've learned a lot in the years I've been with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Life experience
Summer job as laborer (Former Employee) –  Englewood, TNFebruary 21, 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed working with Kelley Construction. It was my grandfathers company so he gave me a great deal of responsibility while I was there. It taught me a lot about effective management along with great life skills. The hardest part of the job for me was the intense heat on some days when it was in the high 90s.
Pros
great life skills
Cons
potential for heat exhaustion
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place Consultant
Owner/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Blue Springs, MODecember 14, 2012
I do well in cold calling. I learned how to consult with clients in the positive of ways. I work well with Management. I am a team player. The hardest part: was bid situations. I enjoyed the presentations that I did, working with AutoCAD programs.
Pros
health insurance
Cons
some people not being team players
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's an ok company to work for
Concrete finisher / Carpenter (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 21, 2012
Kelley construction is ok but there is alot of race issues concerning hispanics/ African American from a few of the workers, but I have learned to not pay attention to their remarks.
Pros
always kept busy
Cons
racial slurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kelley Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1