Find companies:
Kemper
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Kemper Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY~Reliable Life Insurance
Licensed Agent (Former Employee), OklahomaJanuary 29, 2014
Cons: no set schedule however they want you to be available 6am-9pm every day of the week
I am a licensed insurance sales representative. This company expects you to go door to door to get your own sales. They do not provide leads. They state you do not have a schedule but expect you to be available from 6am till after 9pm in the evening. They schedule little team meetings all the time that interferre with your sales appointments that you – more... have set not paying their customers any mind or attention. I have had two managers within a few months that both have been successful in berating and being very demeaning and rude. They micro manage. They expect you to run your car into the ground with no gas reimbursement.Nothing enjoyable about this job whatsoever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work.
MANAGER DATA CENTER (KEMPER) (Former Employee), Kanasa City MOJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: family atmosphere
Cons: none really, other than we were bought out and things changed.
Kemper made you feel like a family. As managers we were given the freedom to make decisions and handle all aspects of our jobs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do Not Work Here
Accountant (Former Employee), St. Louis MoNovember 20, 2013
Cons: pay, benefits, everything
Kemper does not care about its workers. The pay is horrible. The overtime is ridiculous. Management is very unprofessional. Often didn't get lunch or any breaks. No appreciation at all. Lots of favoritism and preferential treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where ongoing education is available
Sales Manager (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 25, 2013
A typical day at work is spent developing others to reach their goals and to become successful. Developing others can be challenging and very rewarding. Motivating people to do and understanding that all should be treated fair but different. My co-workers respect and appreciate my assistance. The hardest part of the job will be moving on to a different – more... position within another company, so that I may continue to prosper. The most important part of the job is watching people develop to the best of their abilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the work and the people I worked with.
Billing and Collection Clerk III (Former Employee), DeWitt New YorkJuly 23, 2013
Pros: i enjoyed the work i did. it kept me busy.
Cons: there wasn't any room for advancement
Responsible for all commissions paid/received by insurance brokers and insured’s unpaid balances. Processed accounting journals as needed to correctly pay commission, make corrections, reviewed accounts to determine if further collection activity is needed. Made collection phone calls to debtors regarding delinquent accounts and sent letters to debtor – more... regarding payment on their account. Referred delinquent accounts to collection agency or attorney when no response from letters and phone calls; I collected on average, 60% of delinquent accounts before referring to collections. Retrieve customer service phone calls. Keep Excel spreadsheets to monitor activity on delinquent accounts. Processed insured’s premium payments when needed. Processed data entry for manual premium adjustments. Reviewed and issued refunds for premium accounts. Made Organizational charts in Visio. Used Micro soft word and excel.

Management was very controlling. They didn't give you a great deal of control. All decisions had to be made by management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a correctional officer wasn't much fun, it convinced me to go back to college
Correctional Officer (Former Employee), dekalb,msApril 30, 2013
Pros: hours worked
Cons: dealing with prisoners
i learned being a correctional officer wasn't my cup of tea' well i just don't have the mentality, well i don't like contfrontation, and having to get in peoples face, working at the prison wasn't a good experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Casualty Adjuster (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 11, 2013
Pros: vendor relationships and mangement
Cons: healthcare, salary, advancemet
Most typically days consist of providing customer service to Insured's and 3rd party claimants through claims handling.

The most enjoyable part of working at this company is the interactions with customers.

The hardest part about this job is keep control of one's own stress level while maintaing a positive attitude.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Won't ever work for them again
Assisting developmentally disabled children (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WAMarch 27, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: low pay
Rude, tried to work with them, was accepted to a nursing program and well it was not very nice, unless they needed something. I gave a months notice and they didn't do much for my client. I even gave up some of my own time to help my client out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Tape Librarian (Former Employee), 811 MainAugust 8, 2012
Pros: friendly
Cons: too much return mail do heavy season
There were always something different to do at Kemper daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they went out of business
Appeal Coordinator (Former Employee), Plantation, FLJuly 30, 2012
Pros: family atmosphere
Cons: went out of business
They were a great company to work for until they went out of business and then sold the company to Broadspire
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run-off company with interesting work
Sr. Claims Analyst (Former Employee), Long Grove, ILJuly 19, 2012
Pros: lots of interesting work
Cons: kiddle management couldn't get out of its own way
Top mamagement seemed to have a good handle on what a run-off company needs to do. The middle management didn't get the word. They thoughjt they were still running the old Kemper.To rigid at one moment and sloppy the next. Many people were out of their depth and many programs were run badly by people outside of the company without proper oversite. My – more... assigned work was interesting and I certainly wasn't overloaded. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEVER GOT OFF THE GROUND
VP Sales (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 16, 2012
AFter setting up company. Kemper pulled the plug on the project
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No regard for employees - just concerned about the bottom dollar
Office Clerk III (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 31, 2012
Pros: no pros
Cons: doesn't recognize employees for their work, raises, if any, are low, managers get bonuses up to 5 figures
Kemper is a company that unfortunately is now only concerned about making the almighty dollar. They are not concerned about the employees that help them get to where they are. Kemper used to be a company that treated all their employees like family. They cared about their employes and made the company a good place to work. They get rid of employees – more... who are productive and who try to make the company better by making suggestions for smoother operations. Instead, they hire consultants at a higher rate than they pay their employees who know nothing about the business nor do they care about it. They have hired several senior VP's at very high salaries while laying off the workers who are the ones working to help management look good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
es una empresa que no permite sobresalir
CHOFER (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFAugust 16, 2013
no tener la oportunidad de salir adelante y que pongan muchos obstaculos para desempeñar algo diferente
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leuk klein bedrijf met fijne collega's
assistent keurmeester (Current Employee), UdenJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: ik hoop gezelligheid
Cons: op drukke dagen minder leuk als je er alleen voor staat
Ik ben assistent keurmeester dit houdt in het keuren van kippen.

De dag begint met bestellingen maken en in juiste doos/ kratten doen.
Ik doe het met plezier en je leert altijd bij.
Iedere dag is niet alijd hetzelfde.
Er zijn fijne collega's bij , maar ook minder leuke.
Het leukste is iedere dag is anders .

About Kemper

Kemper Independence Insurance doesn't really operate alone. The company specializes in personal property/casualty insurance, including – Read more