Kennametal Employee Reviews

Found 191 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and nice place to work
Machinist (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJuly 13, 2017
Really good and nice place to work.really clean environment .
But yet need to pay people more for what they do
Management people are really nice and fun working place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice productive work area
Manpower Temp Service (Former Employee) –  Fallon, NVJuly 11, 2017
everyday was great. i learned to run my whole powder milling department less than 7 days. managment and crew where terrific. hardest part was remembering i had machine on. most enjoyable part was every part.
Pros
brought own lunch
Cons
nice enough breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Senior Engineer/Laboratory Manager (Former Employee) –  New Albany, INJune 29, 2017
Great place to work. Management seems to make many changes and have some people with no capabilities but overall people are nice and cooperative. Def good copmany
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Machinist (Former Employee) –  New Market, VAJune 25, 2017
It's a good clean factory. Has AC and bosses are helpful and knowledgeable. If I was given the opportunity I would work there again and never leave. It's a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A large company, which makes it very hard to make changes and corrections. Concerned with the stock prices from quarter to quarter and changes sales p
Area Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJune 20, 2017
A large company, which makes it very hard to make changes and corrections. Concerned with the stock prices from quarter to quarter and changes sales policies and goals quarterly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 14, 2017
It was a great company to work. I would have never thought that this company would be closed down completely. It was fun working with people that you have been working for so many years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a joyfull place to work.
Multi-Machine Set-Up and Operator (Former Employee) –  Lyndonville, VTJune 4, 2017
Started out great place to work but upper management was looking out for bottom line with not much consideration for employees well being.Got very rough working there then they relocated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe environment to work
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 30, 2017
It was a nice place working in Kennametal. I had a great supervisor/manager staff. Safety was a number one for this company. I was devastated that this company no longer exist in Houston facility.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Solon, OHMay 22, 2017
I really loved interning at Kennametal last summer. The people were very nice and I was given a lot of freedom in my work there. They treated me very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kennametal
Receptionist, Dept. Secretary and Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNMay 18, 2017
I enjoyed working at Kennametal. Made a lot of personal friends over the years.

I started working on a computer in 1982. I learned how to do spreadsheets, monthly sales reports, and cost accounting on various reports.

I spent over 20 years at Kennametal until they sold my specific dept to a company from Chicago. No a good fit for the employees in this area. The company is now closed. I would not I left if Kennametal was still the owner at that time.
Pros
Great and fun people to work with
Cons
Sold my department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 8, 2017
I loved working here. I was 21 when I started and started as a receptionist and then moved to customer service. They decided to close the Houston location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty job, but someone has to do it.
CNC Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Weldon, NCMay 7, 2017
The people I work with are great. But the machinery is old and the P.M. there is lacking. So the operators are consistently having to trouble shoot and repair the machines. Lots of oil and carbide dust in the air, on the machines, and on you.
Pros
work only half the month
Cons
standing on concrete for 12hrs, breathing in harmful dust daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Human Resource Analyst, Global (Former Employee) –  Fort Mill, SCApril 26, 2017
Corporate office lack respect for the office I worked in because the company laid off people in the corporate office only to give those jobs to us....
Pros
Great healthcare benefits
Cons
Lack of respect from HR in corporate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced.
Member of Safety Committee (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 19, 2017
Fast paced environment. Hours varied at the time with short notice. Some heavy lifting. Friendly people. Very clean for a warehouse since we would all straighten it out after our shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for the company
Hydrogen Furnace Operator (Former Employee) –  Rogers, ARApril 14, 2017
I enjoyed working for the company. The benefits were good. I enjoyed the co-workers and the atmosphere. The work load decreased and therefore layoffs were necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good clean environment
Machine Operator I (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TNApril 12, 2017
Very clean and laid back workplace climate controlled environment people are friendly machines are well upkept respectful very good pay for this area and benefits
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Can not miss any days of work even if sick
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but competitive with one another in a good way to help each other grow.
Lathe Operator, Mill Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 10, 2017
Kennametal is a wonderful place to work at. Majority of management knew what they were talking about. A lot of their programmers use to work on the floor with the machines. The work environment was good to work in.
Pros
The Atmosphere
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management turnover
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Orwell, OHApril 3, 2017
Kennametal is, with all things considered, a decent place to work. The pay is ok, but don't bother getting to know your supervisor's name because he/she won't be there long. That includes upper level management as well.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Surface Grinder /Inspection (Former Employee) –  Whitehouse, OHMarch 31, 2017
This job is very detailed grinding. This job would not be for someone that has never done grinding before. I was responsible for all my own work, doing quality control on my parts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Technician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Goshen, INMarch 22, 2017
this is a very large company that cares about the employees. I have learned a lot in the I have been there. the team is willing to help to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kennametal. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 288 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7