Find companies:
Kennametal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Kennametal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and challenging position.
Cost Accountant/Analyst (Current Employee), Madison, ALApril 14, 2014
I work with wonderful people. The position is challenging and can be exciting. There is little room for advancement, and I am struggling as to where I fit into the business structure.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alway s under presure
Grinder Operator (Former Employee), Traverse City, MIMarch 16, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
not a friendly work env.alot of health issuse with air quality
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machinist/Center less Grinder Operator
Machinist/Center less Grinder Operator (Former Employee), Rogers, ARMarch 7, 2014
setup and operate the center less grinder.
Read blue prints, inside/outside micrometers, calipers., data entry Excel, Comparators
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safe enviroment , but not a place where you can advance.
customer service (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: good benifits and very safe envioroment
Cons: poor management and procedures
Data entry and phone calls and too many emails.
Great place to start out for corporate setting. Management is too over loaded with work which leads to bad team dynamics etc. Hardest part of the job is putting in 100% and it leading to no where. I enjoy my coworkers the most.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long weeks
Machine Technician (Former Employee), Evans, GAJanuary 9, 2014
Every week I worked between 60 to 65 hours. This made it tiring when trying to rest.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good company
Manufacturing/Supervisor (Former Employee), Goshen, INDecember 5, 2013
Pros: there are none
Cons: long hours
Poor management good co-workers. I learned about continuous casting and forming mill.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Machine Operator (Current Employee), Irwin, PANovember 24, 2013
its so nice company and good job enjoy and have good co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive & fun place to work
Manufacturing production (Former Employee), Latrobe, PAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: laid back environment
The day is very productive but fun. Co-workers were enjoyable making for a good atmosphere. As long as you did your job management did not bother you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work, Family, Open Door
Senior Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Evans, GASeptember 12, 2013
Pros: paid holidays, 3 wks vacations, companny contribute to 401k
Cons: high benefit premiums
A typical day for me at work is I enjoying talking to different people all over the world. I have the pleasure of taking care of their daily issues with our company from, checking stock, placing orders, tracking orders or getting a part submitted to be quoted. The interaction with our customers is what I enjoy most. I have worked with about 60 people – more... in the same department for over 10 years until we downsized in 2009. Regardless if it was 60 CSR's or 15 CSR's, we have always been like a second family to each other and have the upmost respect for each other. I enjoy working at a place that is like hanging out with family for 8 to 10 hours. The hardest part of my job is not being able to take care of the customer at their convenience, this could be because of many reasons, but to name a few would be because, we are out of stock or their order is lost by UPS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Machinist (Former Employee), Martinez, GASeptember 11, 2013
Pros: good working conditions
Cons: company moved
I learned a lot about the machining industry while working for Kennametal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
picker/shipping dept.
warehouse 2 (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 6, 2013
Pros: pay, free lunches
Cons: management, long hours, never know what time you get off, treated like children
I loved working there for the first couple of years..but then I just start going down hill. When they let certain people become leads.They have turned the place upside down.They don't know what their doing. They put unbelievable amounts of pressure to reach 50 lines a hour which is outrageous they don't value our opinions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Factory Work
Press Operator (Former Employee), Bedford, PAJune 12, 2013
Good place to work. Fair hours and wages. Typical factory job. Swing Shift etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Mixing & Bagging Operator (Former Employee), Fallon, NVJune 11, 2013
Pros: 90 safty breakfasts
1. Very busy, productive,
2. Be on your toes, things always change.
3. insured that we did our jobs, inforced safty,
4. Worked well with most of them.
5. Standing in one place stacking bags.
6. crew worked well together.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved receiving
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Bentonville, ARMarch 18, 2013
Pros: being in charge and dealing with customers
Cons: inventory was hard
I worked alot of hours I loved meeting new people. I learned how to do the books and deal with even the unpleasent people. I got along with everyone that I came in contact with. The hardest part of the job was telling people what to do. The second hardest part was when they came and and said they sold out and we were without a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company with good focus of ethics and safety
Open Innovation Leader, Innovation Ventures Group (Current Employee), Latrobe, PAFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: fitness center in the headquarters
Cons: headquarters is 2 hrs from airport
Great co-workers and management. Emphasis on safety, ethics and innovation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
machinist/ laborer
Machine operator (Former Employee), Evans, GADecember 27, 2012
Pros: i enjoyed working with the company and with the people
Cons: that they got bought out and shut down
I was constantly learning new operations and it was always busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment where lots can be learned.
Account Manager (Current Employee), Fort Mill, SCOctober 29, 2012
Pros: great benefits
Cons: hq are in pa
I work in a tight team and we support each other unconditionally.
Kennametal offers constant training.
I was giving a huge opportunity as a participant in a SixSigma event. It's one of my proudest accomplishments. I would like to have more time to dedicate to it... It's very interesting and rewarding, however it can impact my daily activities and the – more... rhythm of the team.

Super great benefits, they make sure you understand all the information within each benefit package offered.
I like the fact that I can have an extra week vacation once I turn 3 in the company. I think all companies should have this. It's something to look forward to.

The HQ are in PA and that can be career limiting for the ones that want to move and be promoted into new challenges.

Overall, I recommend Kennametal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and laid back environment
Wire Coiler (Current Employee), Goshen, INSeptember 23, 2012
Pros: could take a break when wanted. treated with respect
Cons: its a 45 minute drive to work.
A day starts out from last shift employees telling how their shift went. While working there I learned how to be more productive and to work on my own equipment. The management comes out and gets to know the employees as people and treats everyone with respect. The co workers treat each other as family and all team players. The hardest part of the job – more... was when a customer wanted a order out a day earlier than scheduled and had to rush more to get it finished. What I enjoyed most was everyone was respectful and was able to work at my own pace and still got my work done ahead of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An OK job.
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 25, 2012
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: long hours. poor management
Fair pay. Long hours. Unstable work hours. The culture and the people are good but if trying to go to school and work at Kennametal is very difficult. But the vacation days are the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employees who helped each other
File Clerk (Former Employee), Latrobe, PAJune 18, 2012
Pros: benefits
It was a good place to work, but I was too young to realize what a good opportunity it was for me

About Kennametal

Kennametal welcomes your cutting-edge remarks. The company offers a host of metal-cutting tools and tooling supplies for machining – Read more