Kentucky State University Employee Reviews

Showing all 37 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Residence Hall Manager (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYSeptember 24, 2015
Check your emails, address concerns of residents, place work orders, attend meetings, manage at least 10 student workers.
Pros
Free lunch, no rent or utilities, mentoring students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized No Structure & Stressful Work Place
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee) –  CampusAugust 25, 2015
When I first started working at KY State University it was an enjoyable place to work. 21 years later its stress-filled, managers who don't know the history of the university yet have been put in place to "manage". The hardest part of the job is coming to work. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting off work.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
digital productions
Camera Operator (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYJuly 15, 2015
I loved everything about this position. It just made me love my field even more and more. The most memorable was hosting my first show at Kentucky State University, such an great feeling.
Pros
everything was great
Cons
nothing was bad ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University Rebuilding
Admissions Counselor/Campus Tour Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Frankfort, KYJuly 15, 2015
Kentucky State University is undergoing a number of new changes. The university has just received a new administration and going through a major shift. The best part about KSU is the student body and the energy that comes from them to the administration.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to find excellent employees
KSU Employee (Current Employee) –  Frankfort, KYJuly 7, 2015
The people who do the work at KSU are fantastic, friendly and knowledgeable. The management of this institution, however, leaves it's employees in the dark about every aspect of change. Often times people with little to no qualifications or knowledge about the company's history are brought in, often times, without allowing internal candidates to apply for newly created jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Researcher
Student Researcher (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYJune 30, 2015
I worked with my professor and it was a knowledgeable experience. We worked on food safety lab work and completed the data needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
KSU Bursar
COORDINATOR COLLECTIONS & CASH (Former Employee) –  KYJune 24, 2015
No training.
No assistance with computer/software issues
The rules change daily and the turnover rate is astronomical compared to other Universities.
Pros
Vacation Time/Holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HBCU Pride
Internship (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYMay 7, 2015
Diversified my life goals exponentially.
Distance from hometown forced inner growth outward.
Comprehend the work life battle better on any given campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good tech enviroment
IT Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYApril 23, 2015
A place where you could actually thrive and have them let you run off doing your own thing. You felt freedom in the department and feeling it was not overwhelming. Had a sense that you would be happily working here for a long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kentucky State University!!!!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYApril 9, 2015
- data entry / answering phones
- helpong students with various issues around campus
- interacting and getting to know the students on a personal and professional level
- being a positive role model and someone the students could look up to
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College
Teaching Assistant/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 5, 2014
I am proud to graduate from this fine institution. The classes were small and the professors are helpful. My work experience as a tutor was a beneficial way of developing communication skills with clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work
Director Auxiliary Enterprise (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYNovember 3, 2014
Under management change not a good place to work under this change. After management adjustment it will be a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Director, Youth Empowerment Program (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYOctober 29, 2014
The department did what it took to get the job done. Everyone knew it was about the children and families and worked toward the betterment of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYOctober 14, 2014
• Clerical Duties
• Brand Management
• Conduct Campus Tours
• Admissions Presentations to Campus Visitors
• Created and organized a daily calendar, task list, and meetings
• Event Planning
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an independent business and was a good experience for me to see how it would be to run my own group home
Student Child Care Provider (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYSeptember 25, 2014
This was a real life day to day experience with children who needed love; this taught me patients and to love unconditional
Pros
great real life experience
Cons
business format
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Director of Student Support Services (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYSeptember 5, 2014
Very good start for me I really enjoyed it ! I wish i could have stayed after graduation but I moved on and no positions were available.
Pros
bounus, discount on schooling
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KyAugust 17, 2014
Very productive and brain storming work since it was an instutional environment. was more a research job. this is a college area
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professor were very helpful
WEB Development (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYJuly 13, 2014
Love the learning experience and the people I meet. This was class room project.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
class room expericence
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be boring at time but easy job
Building Assistant (Former Employee) –  Frankfort, KYMay 31, 2014
Mostly sitting around and dealing with students who don't want to follow the rules. You sit at a desk for about 4 to 5 hours a day for 4 or 5 days. Coworkers won't show up to work when hours are assigned.
Pros
you can chill and do homework, go to lunch whenever you want, pick the hours of the day you want to work
Cons
no benefits, you have to be a student at the college, most of the money don't go to you
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Frankfort, KYMay 20, 2014
I have had the pleasure of working with some incredible people and students. Each day is different; it may either be a good day or a bad day. A lot of improvements need to be in organizing and communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 37 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture