Kern Community College District Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal work place
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (Current Employee) –  Porterville, CAJanuary 18, 2017
It is an honor to work for a community college. It is a good working environment and enjoy the staff.Overall, good job and it is nice to work 185 days out of the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individuals are hard workers who will always give more than required
Institutiional Research Analyst (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 26, 2016
The people who work here are like mined and have student successes at the forefront of their minds. Individuals are hard workers who will always give more than required.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Student Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CASeptember 21, 2015
Start out the day with saying hello to everyone. Answer calls and then transfer. Check the mail then take them upstairs and deliver in proper mail slots. Filing was done when necessary. I learned to smile more. Management was great. My coworkers were so nice and always supportive. The hardest part of the job was sometimes getting the wrong kind of people in the halls. The most enjoyable was being able to work at my own pace.
Pros
Great environment and coworkers
Cons
pay was minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes22No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJune 18, 2015
I learned a lot of new things working at kern community college district, Very busy. Co-workers were awesome. The hardest part was leaving because no more for me to do. overall the job was great.
Pros
Great
Cons
Great hours
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMarch 24, 2014
Had to go through stringent hiring practices to get the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co workers very helpful and make working there a pleasure.
Swap Meet Worker (Former Employee) –  Porterville, CAMarch 20, 2014
A typical day at work, is taking the $1 gate fee per person. I worked with another person in the booth. I learned that the customers sometimes didn't always accept change of nickels and dimes. My co workers were a pleasure to work with, and made the work day a lot of fun.
Pros
free lunch.
Cons
the weather hot in the summer, cold in the winter.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Mailroom Coordinator/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAOctober 14, 2012
I learned a lot with the school. Working with people and teamwork.
Pros
insurance, teamwork, communication
Cons
management does not like to communicate
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke
Human Resource Assistant Dept Assist (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CASeptember 28, 2012
This place is a joke unless your over 50 and want to act like your in high school then this is the place for you to work at
Was this review helpful?Yes28No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet new people
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAJuly 19, 2012
When I would first get there I would review my duties and see what was needed to be done first. I would see what was more important to get it done first. I would file answer phones any labels or new folders I would do. Anything that the boss needed for me to get done for her I would assist her.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Mailroom/Shipping Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAMay 14, 2012
Looking to advance within a company outside of Bakersfield
Pros
educational institution
Cons
student's who don't take education seriously
Was this review helpful?Yes5No17Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kern Community College District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.6
Culture
3.7

Kern Community College District Reviews by Location