Find companies:
Kern Schools Federal Credit Union
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Kern Schools Federal Credit Union Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bank
Financial Service Officer II / Loan Specialist (Former Employee), Bakersfield CaMay 27, 2014
Lending Focus with managing other team members to allow them to meet the branch goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Team, OK Leaders
Admin Team Member (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAMay 19, 2014
The Credit Union is a wonderful place to work if you don't want to advance. The opportunities for moving forward are limited, and seemed to be reserved for those people who are favored by upper management for not rocking the boat. Those with a voice are discouraged and left behind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun-Environment
Member Services Representative Intern (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CANovember 25, 2013
I've learned a lot, as intern. There was nothing hard that i couldn't over come. The members are amazing, and the people i use to work with are amazing, fun people every friendly! The most enjoyable part of my day was helping members and helping them what they needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working here felt as if you were working in a sweat shop. Not very enjoyable at all.
Mortgage Loan Officer (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 5, 2013
Pros: good benefits nothing out of the ordinary really for a full time job.
Cons: worse place i have ever worked for. no assistance when needed, management did not back you up, could go on and on.
Day started with returning the hundreds of phone messages that were left on phone overnight. This took up probably the minimum of 1-2 hours depending on how much complaining the caller did. Did not learn much here except that a credit union pales to a banking as far as leadership, management, assistance etc. Management of the home loan center was a – more... joke. If you needed assistance you were on your own. The manager would send you to the underwriter, she would send you to the manager, so on and so forth. You would not receive any help at all. Understaffed and very overworked. Co workers were so overwhelmed with their own issues and work that they could not assist you either, but we understood as we were in the same boat and at least could bounce the frustration off each other. Cannot think of one enjoyable part of this job. I almost had a complete breakdown working at this employer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience
Member Service Representative (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 26, 2013
Pros: handling large quantities
I helped a lot of people with my time as a teller. I learned about federal regulations as well as Kern Schools policies and proceedures. Management was always very professional and respectful. My co-workers were very nice and we were all like family on our off time. The hardest part of the job was trying to remember all the codes before they changes – more... their systems. Once they changed the systems being used doing transactions became extremely easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing job with wonderful people.
Member Services Representative (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 8, 2013
Kern Schools is one of the best small companies to work for in Kern County. Although sometimes it could get really busy and hectic the people who work there show the greatest compassion towards not only each other but to the members they serve. While they are going through a bit of a structural change in moving some branches and opening new ones it – more... has been a bit of an awkward transition but I have full confidence Kern Schools will do great.
The most enjoyable part of working at Kern Schools is not only the people you work with but also the people that come in to do their banking. Working at KSFCU has taught me so much from how to deal with disgruntled people to how to change toner in a printer. It was truly a great experience that I won't soon forget. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Credit Union
Financial Services Officer II (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJune 7, 2013
Good place to work for, good benefits, good hours. I enjoyed working for this company. They pay very well compared to most credit union and banks in the area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
internship
Internship (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAMay 1, 2013
Very fun and great learning experience. Got hands on training by shadowing teller line.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internships MSR
Internship MSR (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CADecember 21, 2012
Pros: new learned experience
Being a MSR is an amazing job as an intern I have learned so much from many of the supervisors. I enjoy making transactions, selling products, and cash handling. My co workers are wonderful they are constantly kind, funny, and talkative to our members. The hardest part of the internship is that I am not constantly in the credit union. Most enjoyable – more... would be that i am a hard worker and very organized I check for all my transactions I take. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but able to wear jeans and have potlucks on ocassion.
Financial Services/Communication Officer II (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CADecember 12, 2012
Pros: low cost benefits.
Cons: no advancement, loss of longevity bonus, froze pension, increase of benefits.
Review and open new memberships through out the day depending on the application flow and qualifications. Audit, scan signature cards to file, balance our branch, maintain branch offsite storage contents and retentions.

I learn new things everyday with all the changes that take place with in the Credit Union (laws etc) We are expected to keep up with – more... Operations Manuals.

My Co-workers and I work as a TEAM.

The hardest part of my job is to deny a membership.

I really like what I do (opening new memberships) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad but a good starting place
ODP Coordinator Central Research (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CASeptember 26, 2012
Pros: there are so many different positions to try out and see what you like.
Cons: every time i turn around the raise the rates on our health insurance and our pay is the same.
I have learned so much and have been all over the place there. I have learned from customer service to behind the scenes. I love my Overdraft Privilege members and they love calling me. I try to help as best I can and give them options, but you cant help everyone. Things have changed a lot with management and its no longer what is use to be, a family, – more... its more business like. Its hard working with women but they are great most of the time but as long as you do your part you are good. The hardest part of my job is learning how to allow other people to help do the work because I am very meticulous and others are not. I love my friends I have made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and different
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CaFebruary 28, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: retail hours aren't enough
Easy way to meet new people and find out fashion trends. Fun place to work and shop.