Kernan Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challegeable experience you kept busy.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  MarylandJuly 6, 2017
Very pleasant atmosphere fun fast paced hospital. You keep busy I had 3 sections of the hospital to clean, The recovery room, The lab, The Pain Management Area.
Pros
A warm invironment.
Cons
The hours was late evening.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best hospital
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 21, 2017
One of the best hospitals to work for and management is excellent. friendly and professional staff. Excellent location and parking. Patient to nurse ratio is excellent. good benefits
Pros
Tuition re-inbursement
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at carefirst
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  2200 KERNAN DRIVEFebruary 27, 2017
Get there on time punch in. I pull up my pics computer system and use data sheets to enter practitioner and provider information into the pics computer system. I stamp all data sheets when finished. Then I go into the caqh computer system and put in social security numbers to pull up practitioner and provider applications and print those out and give to another coworker working on them. The hardest part is identifying the status of the data sheets that's put into the pics system.
Pros
I get 45min total in breaks a 30min lunch and two 15min breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work place, great co-workers
CNA/SITTER (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMay 4, 2016
Working as a prn status, needing more hours and benefits, at times difficulties getting a break when everyone is busy on the floor/ new patients arriving
Pros
Excellent management, great co-workers
Cons
Prn status
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great experience as a student gaining experience with different patient populations.
Dental Hygiene Student Externship (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 5, 2015
Wonderful dental clinic! Great chance to work with different patient populations and gain experience with pediatric patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 5, 2014
A caring and loving place to work.I enjoy the patients and working with all kinds of people.It is a great life experence
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Patients
Sunday Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Batimore, MDJuly 18, 2014
The patients have such good hearts and positive spirits about being in physical therapy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced rehabilitation unit.
Staff nurse on rehab unit (Former Employee) –  Baltimore , MarylandMarch 12, 2014
The nurse patient ratio was 10 patients per nurse.The unit consisted of medical and orthopedic rehab patients. Kernan Hospital is the former name of the University of Maryland Rehabilitation and Orthopedic Institute
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Sr. Administrative Associate/ Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 28, 2013
An overview of a day would be patient registration, personal administrative assistant for the Unit Director for the MSU/ICU Unit. I transcribed medication orders off of patient charts and sent them to pharmacy. I was the team leader supervisor for a total of 6 administrative associates for the patient registration department. I corrected registration issues on patient charts, scheduling, transportation, calendars, greeting at the front desk, and ordering of paperwork and supplies. Management was excellent as well as staff, but that changed everyday. It was always a positive experience even on the busy days. My hardest part of the job was I would have to come in on both days in the weekend due to issues in the registration system. My most positive experience is that I learned so much and I was able to receive promotion and acknowledgement for my perfomance.
Pros
Advancment Opportunities
Cons
Positon was eliminated due to downsizing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work assignments
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Woodlawn, MDFebruary 8, 2013
Patient care, lab draws, specimen collections, patient adl's
Pros
the pay was very good
Cons
not enough shifts given out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 6, 2012
A typical day at work would be in a good work environment, with nice co-workers. I learned to be a smart worker not a hard worker. The hardest part of the job was volunteering with no pay.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kernan Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.1
Culture
4.0

Kernan Hospital Reviews by Location