Find companies:
Kettering Health Network
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Kettering Health Network Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respiratory/ Management very poor
Resp Therapist (Former Employee), KetteringAugust 20, 2014
Pros: 3 days/week
Cons: horrible boss
The Resp Dept Manager's clinical and managerial skills are non existent. She has zero people skills and is just an all around bad person. I'VE never seen or experienced anything like it! I really am clueless as to how she is still the Dept Manager or even employed here, as there have been numerous complaints about her, which speaks volumes about upper – more... Resp Management here at KHN. I would make this the last place on your list of places to work as an RRT. Free advice – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managers and coworkers will throw you under bus to save themselves
accounts (Former Employee), miamisburg ohioAugust 19, 2014
Pros: schedule
Cons: high deduct insurance, manages are not qualified for their jobs
To many chiefs not enough indians. you have managers who worry about people they are not even in charge of. co-workers that run and tell every little thing thinking it will better them. very stressful environment to work in. if you like to be micro managed and questioned about everything, even about going to bathroom this is the place for you. if you – more... want to be treated like an adult don't apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAD PLACE TO WORK
xray tech (Former Employee), GreeneJuly 18, 2014
Cons: had to work with no lunches and were told we could not get a lunch credit.
As a former employee, this hospital was a very bad place to work, especially the last year of 2013 and 2014. They had new management, (brought over from Soin) and only cared about the numbers of patients we did everyday instead of our quality of work. They fudged the numbers, and hours were moved around to make it look better on the xray supervisors. – more... Problem employees were brought to the attention of management, and they did not care. Certain employees got away with situations that were not right. if you want to feel appreciated on your job do not work here. You will be spending a lot of nights stressing over your jobs with no satisfaction – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident centered care
LPN (Current Employee), Xenia, OHJune 26, 2014
The care that is given at kettering is a geared to the residents. We car about their need first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Xenia, OHJune 23, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: bad employee insurance
I enjoyed working at this facility. Everyone was welcoming as a new employee. The nurses included me in their routine so that I could learn. Everyone worked very well as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work crew
Staff Nurse II (Former Employee), Dayton, OHApril 30, 2014
Great co-workers. Work is fast paced environment. Hardest part of job is not getting to know everyone or share like you wish you could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
has its good and bad days
Housekeeping (Current Employee), Kettering, OHApril 16, 2014
Pros: good benfits
Cons: they are very picky and some times rude
to be honest its not a bad place to work just some people in the deparmeant make it hard for others and somethings they are unfair to new comers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I helped the patients in any way that I could within company guidelines.
CANCER SPECIALIST OF GREATER DAYTON (Former Employee), Kettering, OhioApril 2, 2014
Pros: giving the best service that i could give to the patients.
Checking patients in for chemo treatments or physicians appointments, labs, nurse visit. I learned a lot about the medical field, their was a lot of team work, from my co-workers, schedulers, medical assistants, nurses, doctors, lab. The hardest part of my job is when a patient expired. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping waiting on the patients, – more... and greeting them with a smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
F-
Former Employee (Former Employee), SoinMarch 8, 2014
Horrible place to work. Management not open to input, safety protocols not in place, no support during crisis, pay scale substandard. Worried about money and little else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demands greater than resources available
RN (Former Employee), Kettering hospitalFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: nursing experience
Cons: demands greater than resources
"This is a hard place to fit in" said my Preceptor during orientation.
There is no allowance for being sick, you simply get an occurrence. You can not clock in more than 5 minutes before your shift & can not clock in one minute late. You have only a 30 minute break, if you can get it, during a 12 hour shift. Difficult to get help with load of patients – more... needs, but management is concerned about patient's length of stay & their press ganey survey results being highly scored. I was told there was not high turn over but none of the people who interviewed me were still employed when I left. The nurse educator did not help educate. Some of the team leads were helpful, one was excellent (KO). I asked a colleague if I offended her & she said "Oh no, I can just be a b****".
One nurse wouldn't talk to me until she wanted me to cover shifts for her. If it's your 1st time doing something, a lot of people act like you are incompetent because it's your first time.
There are good people there but the majority of the culture is based on favoritism of employees who have been there the longest (and those employees complain about how bad the place has become). They don't really seem to want to keep the staff they have because they feel "there are nurses lined up to take your place." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kettering Health Network
Housekeeper (Current Employee), Kettering, OHJanuary 13, 2014
Kettering Health Network housekeeper are to make the environment a clean place for the patients to come. The thing I have learned at Kettering Health Network is making a difference in patients life. The management is great with helping problems and helping out. Some of my co-workers helped me out by showing me skills on cleaning up rooms. One of the – more... hardest part of my job are seeing patients really ill. The most enjoyable part about my job is talking and helping patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy 23hr observation floor,but awesome coworkers
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Dayton, OHDecember 17, 2013
Pros: great people to work with, worked around my school schedule well
Cons: everyone is over worked, dont get paid enough for the work we do
My coworkers on night shift are amazing and work well with each other!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Pct (Former Employee), KhnDecember 5, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: management, disorganized
Very disorganized company. I worked for them for 4 years left and came back and boy have they changed. They used to care about there employees but not any more. All they care about is there image and patient satisfaction. They will let anyone be a manager and they don't know what they are doing. Management plays favoritism and listens to what others – more... say about an employee than finding themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They just don't care about their employees
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Kettering Medical CenterDecember 4, 2013
Pros: close to where i live
Cons: management doesn't care, health insurance is horrible, uncaring to employees.
I worked to KHN for five years part of that time is when my mother had cancer and passed away though they were understanding while she was battling cancer afterwards when I struggled with things they just didn't care and eventually eliminated our jobs because it was cheaper and more cost effective to do something else. KHN is all about making theirselves – more... money. They would tell the nurses to come in sick knowing full well that the patients would be ill as well if you came into contact with them.

Do NOT work for this place, their benefits used to be great but their health insurance is horrible and other co-workers have felt the same and got out of their. I've had a chance to go back but I won't go back to KHN. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture
Network Director Supply Chain Management (Former Employee), Dayton, OHOctober 25, 2013
Kettering has a wonderful, faith-based culture and was a great place to work. The team as the best I have ever worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kettering Health Network
Unit Service Coordinator II (Current Employee), Soin Medical Center - Beavercreek, OhioOctober 2, 2013
Kettering Health is a great company. They treat employees well and allow an excellent work/ life balance and have well defined culture and values. They pay a little less than some locations, but the overall environment easily offsets that. The only complaint is that the Network preaches how it promotes from within, but as a new nursing school grad, – more... the company does not seem to want to move an aide who has been with them for 1.5-2yrs into a nursing position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warning
Unit Service Coordinator (Former Employee), Kettering Medical CenterApril 6, 2013
I worked for KHN for 5 years. They do not value their employees. However they do care about their public image and accruing as many money making assets as possible. They underpay, abuse, and misuse their employees.

If you have a choice, I do not recommend working for this organization. I regret giving them my talent, time, blood, sweat and tears. Steer – more... clear if you are able. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poorly organized,
Rehabilitation (Former Employee), RehabilitationMarch 12, 2013
Pros: nice physical environment
Cons: inconsistent
Trust me, steer clear of this one! I have worked for some excellent very professionally rewarding organizations in the past. Please believe me! This is not one of them, no matter the external appearances. Management very disorganized, talking a good talk, but unable to provide a healthy professional growth environment.

June 11, 2013

I was interviewed recently three times for a job, was told would hear in several weeks, it is now into a month and a half and I have heard nothing. Not even a letter that I did not get the position, have tried communicating to supervisors that interviewed me and they are not responding. This is not a good impression at all, losing interest very quickly!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it appears
A face in the crowd (Current Employee), xeniaMarch 6, 2013
Work is work but this organization is all about their fake, spiritual image. Administration couldn't care less about anything but the bottom line and their million dollar salaries on the backs of overworked, underpaid rank and file employees. In competition with Premier. Loyalty/seniority means nothing unless you are one of their religion. Preferential – more... treatment to fellow SDAs whether they can do the job or not. "Us" and "them" atmosphere and you soon find out who they are...Nepotism appears to be standard practice.. Employee benefits are pitiful for organization of this size. Talk the talk only. Image is everything but employees are commodities. Women are second class citizens. Must have the "look" and maintain your "place" to keep your job. Administrator/Managers will pass right by and not even speak or make eye contact with the little people. Eliminate jobs or drop pay at will. Pray at employee functions but turn it off when the public comes in. Loved my job until the KHN took over. Brought fear, arrogance and cleaned house. Wouldn't take my dog there......... – less

March 11, 2013

I couldn't agree more with you! Administration is all about the face they want to present but the underlying truth is that they are far from what they portray. It wasn't always the case. The organization used to be run by caring individuals who did place the right person in the right job but then upper management changed and with that change came came the attitude that it is all about "me, me, me" and the bottom line. I would be ashamed to call myself a faith based organization with the tactics that go on here. The manner in which they treat their employees is appalling, they are not above lying about you to get rid of you either whether a long time employee or newly hired. Run as fast as you can, away from this place, as they will use you up and spit you out. I have seen it more times than I care to say.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i never had a day that i did'nt enjoy
staff nuclear medicine technologist (Former Employee), Kettering, OHFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: great people
i enjoyed every day .......great working enviroment.....fair management....pleasant co-workers...like most scientific work....
i learned something new almost every day...the most enjoyable
part of the job was working with patients...which i did every day

March 16, 2013

Then, WHY are you a former employee? People who have that much love and enjoyment from a job do not leave.

About Kettering Health Network

Kettering Health Network is a not-for-profit network of seven hospitals, eight emergency rooms and more than 75 outpatient facilities – Read more