Find companies:
keystone human services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

keystone human services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment, poor communication from supervisor
Senior Community Support Specialist (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAJuly 13, 2014
Although KHS has a mission to ensure the safety and wellbeing of its clients, there are several incidences that occured during my short time with the company that disproves this mission statement.

$10/hr barely compensates for the amount of work, stress, and lack of a regular work schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in the community
Case Worker (Current Employee), Allentown, PAMay 30, 2014
Cons: having to use personal car
Provide life skills training, • Manage a caseload and ensure all entries are documented, • Prepare Individual Support Plans and ensure their accurate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 20, 2014
I learn a lot of new things at this job about children and there surrounding. How they act to certain situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Day
COMMUNITY SUPPORT STAFF (Current Employee), Chambersburg, PAMay 12, 2014
Support individuals who are intellectually disabled to live full and active in the community by educating them on proper hygiene and daily living tasks. Assisting them in administering their medications, and completing household duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help to support individuals with intellectual disabilities
Community Support Specialist (Current Employee), Lancaster, PAApril 15, 2014
I am a care giver for individuals with intellectual disabilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoy being and helping the individuals
Community Support Associate (Current Employee), Sunbury, PAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: benifits
Cons: no breaks
My typical day at work is maintaining the individuals needs goals and achievements such as taking them to there job site taking them shopping and have them purchase items, make 3 meals a day take to a appointments go to restaurants etc. I manage 3 female individuals. The most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the ladies achieve everything in life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an OK
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee), ConshockenFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: had a lot of hours
Cons: didn't care for people i worked with
The company it self is a very good company they are allover the world , The section that I worked for was not good they are no longer around so that say's a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always have hours for nights part time
Resident Assistant (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: part time if your willing to work around about schedule they will give you hours
Cons: when i went nights at my full time job .hardley no evening hours
I loved and enjoyed workig and help people. I learned how to pass medication and reward those less fortunate the others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging
Direct Care (Former Employee), Whitehall Township, PAJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: work at own pace
Cons: clients lied about you
full work day, worked with 3 individuals, all different personalities, most times they were pleasant to be with. Other staff was nice to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Keystone
COMMUNITY SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 27, 2013
Pros: working with adults with mental disabilities and learning from them
Cons: management
When I worked for Keystone, it was an incredible experience. I discovered a talent and love that I didn't know I had. I enjoyed working with the adults I took care of and they showed me a new world, their world and how they are viewed. Everyone told them that they could never accomplish anything due to their disability but our company showed them that – more... they can live a normal life. A majority of the people I took care of are still in my life today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible management
css (Former Employee), lehihg valley paDecember 22, 2013
Pros: clients
Cons: management
there is no teamwork. You are treated as a low=life and stupid and your opinion doesn't matter to anyone. Certainly not worth it for 9.50 an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute waste of my life
Project coordinator (Former Employee), Dauphin, PASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: none really
Cons: many
This place is a joke, if offered a position think long and hard before moving forward with them. Management is in disarray and projects quickly spin out of control. This is a non profit organization with like 100 Vice Presidents and over a dozen chair holders that feel like they own people. People in positions of authority use their power to pressure, – more... coerce and neglect their biggest asset, the people. There are many wonderful individuals who work here and it is a shame because the company's very own standard that they preach is not even upheld... "Advancing the human spirit." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of overtime available
Support Associate (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 4, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: inconsiderate coworkers and no consequences for their actions
Easy to get employed. Turnover rate is high. Unexpected mandatory meetings at main office which is usually quite far from daily work location. Most difficult and annoying aspect about the job is that employees show up whenever they feel like it and you can't leave until someone arrives. No consequences for tardiness. Once or twice is understandable – more... but everyday is not. Don't expect teamwork. If you take pride in your job, more than likely, you'll be the one doing everything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Mental Health Patients
Rehabilitation Specialist (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PAJuly 17, 2013
Management wasn't the greatest, great dependable co-workers. Days differed depending on shift worked. In general assisting consumers to further their recovery and accomplish their personal goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot
PCA (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: good experience
This job was difficult but I learned a good amount of people skills. The day consisted of making breakfast for the residence and then doing laundry and other household chores. Then depending on the day I would take them to doctors appointments and eventually we would go out for leisure. After that I would make dinner, bathe, administer medication, and – more... set them up for bed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Community Support Associate (Former Employee), Newark, DEMay 20, 2013
I learned and gained more skills in this company, I am more confident in myself and in the support I offer, I learned from skilled co-workers and met and assisted many individuals with different personalities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A change for working with a younger age group.
Primary Care Assistant (Current Employee), Pittsburgh PaFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: flexable
Cons: distance and other companies pay more for same type of work.
Arrive at work. Pass meds to clients. Cook meals. house cleaning. which includes laundry, and daily upkeeping of the house. Usually on my shift I work alone with 8 clients. paperwork needs to be done at the end of shift. records of general problems during shift, summary of how each clients was during that shift, signing off that clients got meds during – more... times needed. counting of meds. Some co-workers can be helpful. They will prep meals, and do chores for other staff. Hardest parot of job is lack of support sometimes... not enough teamwork...nor understanding that staff members have lives other then the job. Most enjoyable part of the job... when everyone is getting along. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
indivisuals always come first
conmunity support specialist (Former Employee), Chambersburg, PADecember 4, 2012
Pros: home enviroment for ladies and staff
Cons: end of life support
Kkeystone human services has been a rewarding place to work always advancement oppertunities available and your imput is always welcome. a day for me at work includes preparing the ladies for thier day and to make sure thier needs are going to meant for the day rather it is appointments ,work or socail events.I have learned that the ladies needs and – more... desires come before anything else. The hardest part of my job is to complete the end of life process when it is required. the smiles and excitement from the ladies whe they make advancement in any giving sitution.i – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work in the comfort of a home, minus the comfort.
Community Service Associate (Current Employee), Allentown, PANovember 13, 2012
Pros: flexible scheduling
Shifts typically last 8-16 hours, usually depending on personal preference, in a company owned or rented home. Based on the needs of a client, employees can work alone or with up to 3 co-workers. Supervisors are present during day shift hours, and available on-call 24/7. Unfortunately, this does not mean that employees will get support, and often employees – more... are on their own during nights & weekends. Each house is unique and the personal needs of each individual vary greatly. It can be very rewarding, especially when helping clients achieve personal goals, or very stressful, especially with clients who can become upset easily. This job teaches employees to be very open-minded, organized, & aware. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn so much about the clients and co-workers
CSA (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAAugust 15, 2012
Pros: independant to work
Cons: bosses somewhat too carefree.
there are days that are very challenging, but learn and became more patient.