Find companies:
Kiewit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Kiewit Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drug addicts
Pipefitter (Former Employee), Gillette wyoApril 13, 2014
Pros: no rights
Cons: drugs, unsafe tic has killed several of its employees
Supervision use and sells meth.
Aliens welcome
Very evil corporation
Pays substandard wages and performs illegal hiring practices
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical political corporate BS
HR (Former Employee), Omaha, NEApril 7, 2014
If you're not a golden child you won't get very far...they definitely play the political favorites. If you're not that AGGRESSIVE person...but a person who comes to work everyday and does their job..you won't get very far. That doesn't go very far with this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Brownsville, TXApril 5, 2014
I worked with Kiewit on a summer internship. I spent one to two weeks in each aspect of the company to get a well rounded education of the construction process during my time with the company. The co-workers were helpful and the management gave great guidance during the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experiance
Staff Tax Accountant (Former Employee), Omaha, NEMarch 26, 2014
• Prepared Federal partnership returns.
• Computed estimated tax payments.
• Reconciled clients A/R and A/P in QuickBooks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
scaffold helper (Former Employee), ingleside, txMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches sometimes
Cons: short breaks
learn different things ex. carpenter, scaffold herlper, painter helper, and many more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company, but don't expect too much.
Quality Dept Drone (Current Employee), KansasFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: good benefits. steady work.
Cons: poor work life balance. expect divorce...
Loves to hire young grads with the lure of a decent salary right out of school. It does not take a degree in math to see the end result is about $25/hr. They will work you for all they can get (60-70 hours a week). Excellent place to learn the biz though... Pretty typical top heavy management. Expect office politics and drama. Top notch benefits. If – more... you are one of the chosen few you can retire a millionaire. Lots of contracts all over. Staying gainfully employed has never been a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect for engineering degree and PE
Engineer (Current Employee), OmahaFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: looks good on your resume, they hire a ton knowning they have a large drop out rate
Cons: low pay for engineering degree, expect 7day/+70 hour weeks, no family life, no direction in your own career, expect you to be a follower, boys club, drastically behind in technology and the reason they don't support the pe
If you want your PE license I would look at a different company. Information from interview is completely different then the office you will work in. You have no direction for the job you work in or the direction your career will take. They have you fill out paperwork about your interests but every "opportunity" present was the complete opposite. If – more... you have a working spouse, they expect you to leave them or have them quit becuase you will move on average once a year, and be expected to move in one day. Health care cost affordable but in the end doesn't cover anything. You get a lot of PTO days but you are expected to not use them. I went to the ER one morning and was asked to be in the office in an hour. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work an average of 70 hours/week with average pay (Salary)
Engineer II (Former Employee), Santa Fe SpringsJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: pto, except that any sick time must be made up over the weekend.
Cons: no time for family. all company travel(flights/ driving) is expected to be done on your own time, weekends or late night.
Not much opportunity for training. If you want to be a manager and work 5 to 6 days per week and travel for business on the weekends, this might be the place for you. I was very dissatisfied with this company, you can do much better so don't settle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work environment
Field Engineer (Current Employee), College Station, TXNovember 19, 2013
A typical day consists of being in the office 50% of the time working on design work or estimating and you typically spend the other 50% of the time in the field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace that presents many opportunities.
Construction Engineer intern (Former Employee), ArizonaOctober 8, 2013
Positive learning environment that gives lots of responsibility to those willing to accept it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Lead Heavy Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee), Grapevine, TXSeptember 23, 2013
very good company just not much job security learned alot with kiewit sent me to several schools/ training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job 2 pick up field experience
1st class pipe welder (Current Employee), Ingleside TxSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: really good benefits
Cons: low pay for 1st class welder
Good Job for someone getting out of shop work or right out of school 2 experience how it is 2 work in the field low pay at $20.45 it's low for the work you Put in the pipe welder have a really good leadmans best out of all the other crafts with a good management for the welders if the top pay for the welders went up this would be a good job over all
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a mans job no doubt
Mechanic/Lube Tech (Former Employee), Grapevine TexasAugust 31, 2013
Pros: outside most of the time. great pay !!
Cons: hot as he!!
they trained me to be a mechanic , a lube tech, a welder, xactrack installer, sent me to cat holt technical school and John Deere technical school, met some of the best guys in the world there, from all over the country, I work on the DFW connector project and there were times were I had my azz handed to me. But I learned a lot about myself and my fellow – more... heavy construction workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism
Every department (Current Employee), Ingleside, TXAugust 19, 2013
Pros: 3 percent bonus every three month
Cons: no time to spend with family
You better learn Spanish, because no one in the area while work for them because if you don't have a family member that's a leadman or better you will never move up.. There is a lot of nepotism here. I wish they would do that undercover boss there. work 6-7 days a week they can't plan work .the top pay is $20.45 the lowest in the area and if you ask – more... for a day off a month ahead of time they say we'll see .. They need someone to come in and clean house from the leadman to upper management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learning experiences.
Structual fitter (Former Employee), Ingleside, TXJuly 8, 2013
Pros: peminent job
Cons: some management are no good, get power hunger once moved up in position. they suck up to the higher ups, but talk down on the rest. thinking they are better.
It is a great place to make a career. It's a family oriented company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total burn out 70 hrs/week
Estimator (Former Employee), North jerseyJune 20, 2013
Bad management and very bad treatment
If you don't know anyone there, don't work there

You need to work Saturday and sometimes Sunday

0 life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction business
Office Manager for Clinton CSO (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYJune 18, 2013
Pros: great 401k program
Cons: work their young kids 60-80 hours/wk on salary, total burn out
Good place to work, flexible time. Earn vacation quickly. Great 401k program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Addresses all workplace issues.
Crane Operator (Former Employee), Mesa, AZMay 7, 2013
Pros: ok pay
Cons: no benefits or paid time off.
*Typically, I'm either operating, cleaning, and/or maintaining a crane throughout any given day.
*In respect to crane work I've learned a lot about building bridges, refineries, and coal plants.
*I rely on my co-workers for accurate crane signals and proper rigging.
*The hardest part of the job is working with inexperienced signalmen and riggers.
*The – more... most enjoyable part of the job is ending each day without any injuries and accidents. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, good experience, very bad life style
Electrical Estimator (Former Employee), Santa Fe Springs, CAMay 1, 2013
Pros: pay and benefits
Cons: long hours, constant feer of loosing your job.
I've learned a lot, but I had no life in this company. I worked almost 7 days a week. One day I worked 16 hours, showed up late on the next day about 15 minutes, and my supervisor wrote me up. great experience but you will not have a life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production production production
Structural Fitter (Former Employee), Ingleside txMay 1, 2013
Pros: bonus every 3 months
Cons: 30 minute lunch breaks not payed
Very poor management. No leadership or sense of direction. Employees sacrifice a lot with little or no appreciation. My co workers were great. The hardest part of the job was trying to communicate with different crafts to get a task or job done. Most enjoyable part of my job was getting set up with a full days worth of work.

1 2 3 4 5

About Kiewit

Peter Kiewit Sons' is a heavyweight in the heavy construction industry. The general contractor and its subsidiaries have a breadth – Read more