Kindred at Home Employee Reviews

Showing all 109 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Security
Sales (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAJune 22, 2017
Awful experience. They lie during the interview process, once hired they change expectations to unrealistic goals. Management is awful! High turn over with marketing.
Cons
No integrity in interview process or with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 24, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients and residents. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication. As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Amanda H, Director, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You WILL NOT be happy here!! Trust me!
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAJune 17, 2017
Management does value or appreciate their employees. Supervisors and management are very messy...a lot of gossiping and phoniness within the department. No one to talk to about your issues within the job, or company because they've formed a "click" so your concerns/issues get ignored. The bonus you get for the millions of dollars your bring in weekly, monthly & quarterly is a joke. They reward you with the "privilege" of wearing jeans to work for a week. You're overworked and very under paid. The computer system is sooo outdated, it makes for a lot of paperwork versus things being done electronically (VERY TEDIOUS AND TIME CONSUMING). And there is no consistency in the work flow. A lot of trial and error. They want quantity over quality. If you're desperate for a job, okay apply but if you're not, don't waste your time. No growth potential!!
Pros
None
Cons
Overworked, Underpaid, Management is HORRIBLE
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 18, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication, I can be reached at experience@kindred.com As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred Case Manager
RN Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Bedford Heights, OHJune 16, 2017
Working with Kindred at Home for 2.5 years several manager changes occurred within the middle management as well as the corporate level. There has been lack of direction and poor management.
Pros
flexability
Cons
poor managment
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 17, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com to further discuss your concerns. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication and help direct operational change. As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Amanda H, Director, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Stroudsburg, PAJune 16, 2017
The office is poorly managed and they never positively speak to their employees. Only give them negative reviews. High stress levels with practically zero support from management.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor office management. Poor management communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 17, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication and help direct operational change. As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New and improved!
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 11, 2017
Our Ft Worth office has been through many necessary changes over the past year. The new team that is now in place are becoming a very cohesive team that knows what being a team player truly means. The change in leadership has made a huge and positive impact on what the focus should be and the momentum is finally starting to build in a positive direction. So glad to be a part of this team that makes going to work fun again!
Pros
Fun, laid back work environment yet accountability is enforced, many much needed positive changes in processes, staff and policies, morale is quickly going up.
Cons
A few long term staff members having difficulty adjusting to the new and improved changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 13, 2017

We’re glad you have a great experience with us. Our employees truly are at the center of our mission.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved meeting new people and helping with there needs.
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vacaville CA.June 9, 2017
It was a great job experience. I enjoyed gaining job experience and the training I received. I leaned how to transport people safely and make a hospital bed. My training on sanitation and cleaning was well received by my clients too. I learned new receipts from cooking for my clients and meeting their nutritional needs. I didn't mind running errands and making appointments for them as well. I received great satisfaction from emotionally supporting each of my clients. This is the most important part of the job for me. I would like further training in any area you can provide. I enjoyed working on my own and developing relationships with all my clients. There story of there life was interesting. As I grew from their story's I enjoyed seeing the smiles on there faces. This is what makes my job so rewarding and why I like this type of work. Kindred at Home is a rewarding place to work.
Pros
Sharing love to others, I enjoyed the new experience with each client.
Cons
No perminate time scedual.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 10, 2017

We’re glad you had a great experience working with us. We appreciate you sharing your positive feedback with us.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
CNA/HHA (Current Employee) –  DeLand, FLJune 8, 2017
Kindred as workplace is relaxed management easy access policy driven. very and fair with employees great communication education and updates can be obtained CEU available on line local office is very accessible friendly atmoshere to work
Pros
great people helpful to each other team builders
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 10, 2017

Thank you for sharing and for choosing Kindred. We are honored by your service.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very patient and employee centered company
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Cookeville, TNJune 5, 2017
The company is focused on delivering the best possible patient care. They work toward employee work/home life balance. Good company to work for, I feel valued in the position I am in.
Pros
Competative pay, patient/nurse ratios
Cons
Working on call
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 7, 2017

We appreciate your thoughtful words. We know this special calling requires special people, and we’re glad you’re here.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor upper management
Physical Therapist/ Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Pleasant Hill, CAJune 3, 2017
poor upper management
change in pay type frequently
poor benefits packages
difficult to contact HR for needs

flexible schedule
good coworkers locally
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 4, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com to further discuss your concerns. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication and help direct operational change. As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Amanda H, Director, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed every aspect of my job just wished for were more hours in the day to complete everything.
Scheduling Coordinator, Payroll and HR (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJune 1, 2017
The work day started with filling new client visits along with covering any visits due to call offs.I would also run daily reports to ensure that each employee is meeting their minimum patient requirement.
Complete paperwork with new hires, set up I-pads and schedule their training with each discipline.
I reviewed all pay codes entered for new employee’s, complete weekly payroll and identify as well as correct any payroll issues.
I learned a new payroll system as well as medicare billing.
The most difficult of my job was to do each of these jobs daily and feel as though they were fully completed.
I enjoyed working with the every part of my job, the people I worked with and all the patients.
Pros
The employee's were wonderful to work with and I really enjoyed my job.
Cons
I never had time for a break due to trying to complete everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
June 3, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing Kindred.

Want to know more about Kindred at Home?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
Administrator (Current Employee) –  League City, TXMay 17, 2017
Kindred is growing and there are many opportunities. Several different entities. Kindred offers Home Health, Hospice, LTAC and Rehab. Several different locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No9Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 18, 2017

Thank you for sharing and for choosing Kindred. We are honored by your service.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Since Gentiva was bought out by Kindred, it has gotten progressively worse as a work environment.
Physical Therapist (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEMay 12, 2017
Over the past 2+ years there has been a steady decline in overall company, environment & job. I schedule my own patients daily & do a few hours of charting at home daily.
Pros
Make my own schedule
Cons
Lots of extra Work for no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 15, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We value all feedback and understand our employees are the heart of our company. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication, I can be reached at experience@kindred.com As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
RN Staff (Current Employee) –  Oswego, NYMay 10, 2017
It is a ok place to work. People are not so friendly and feels at times like a hostile environment Unable to ask many questions about the job because someone will bite your head off for asking.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 12, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication and help direct operational change. As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred at Home
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLMay 10, 2017
My typical day started at 6am and to 5:30 at the office and then on call at night. I learned a great deal from this company regarding all aspects of Home Health.
Pros
pay
Cons
no work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 11, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with Kindred. We value all feedback and utilize it to support our mission. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication, I can be reached at experience@kindred.com As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor upper management
PT (Former Employee) –  ChicagoMay 10, 2017
Lots of turnover, poor leadership and upper management. Do not care about the employees. Do not listen to employees regarding issues or concerns. Poor decision making by upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes19No1Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 11, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We understand that both past and present employees contribute to our culture of caring for our patients. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication, I can be reached at experience@kindred.com As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible and fun place to work, but it does consume your life.
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Overland Park, KSMay 8, 2017
I have never done home health, so this is my first time diving into this head first. It is a HUGE change going from hospital nursing into this. I love the flexibility and I love my co-workers even if I don't see them all too often. The paperwork and charting can get pretty overwhelming at times especially if you have plans when you get done seeing patients for the day and can't chart. Then the paperwork/charting just starts stacking up. That is probably my biggest complaint. It does take a lot of your time away from your family because you are always charting after you're done for the day.
Pros
Flexibility of schedule, one-on-one time with patients
Cons
Not great insurance, LOTS of paperwork, charting, work/life balance is difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 9, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are honored by your service.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Speech Pathologist
Speech Language Pathologist (Current Employee) –  United StatesMay 6, 2017
Pros: make your own schedule, patients

Cons: growing too fast for staffing to cover all patients. Expectations have changed since Kindred took over Gentiva. Unrealistic expectations when having to treat so many patients in a large area. Don't take into account having to drive as far as we do. TOOOOO much paperwork that you end up working minimum of 10 hours per day to fit everything in. Rules change daily with more demands and requirements for tx. Management doesn't seem to understand this I guess because the new company kindred is placing demands similiar to their LTC centers that are not even comparable to home health. Look for another job if you don't want to work all the time and have no social or family life. Hopefully they will change when they see the turnover that goes on daily.
Pros
Patients
Cons
Demands placed and paperwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 8, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We value all feedback and understand our employees are the heart of our company. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication, I can be reached at experience@kindred.com As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I've ever had in 20 years in healthcare
Field Staff (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 6, 2017
Unrealistic work load. No management support. When problems brought to management not dealt with. They care more about referral sources and documented non compliant patients then they do their staff. Management ignores emails but demands you answer promptly even when your in the field caring for patients. Over half of the work force has quit yet management continues to stress and overload the current staff. Tons of extra on call without extra compensation. All negative no positives. It's never ending at this job work all day chart all night with no compensation for your work at home and no consideration from management for your time when they continual want you to run into the office and drop everything for this or that. They constantly change policies without notifying staff and refuse to give you any policies in writing. Different rules for different employees the work culture here is terrible and it seems corporate doesn't seem to care. They stress you to the point past frustration then expect you not to be frustrated. When checking your charting every manager has a different expectation so you never know what your doing and your never right. We have lost a lot of good employees and a lot more of us are looking to leave asap!!!
Pros
Great coworkers in the field. Love my patients.
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes18NoReport
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 8, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience while working with us. We embrace a diverse workforce and understand that our employees are critical to our success in upholding our mission. I can be reached at experience@kindred.com. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication and help direct operational change. As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no growth opportunity
Human Resources Director (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 1, 2017
high turnover. call center like environment. no growth opportunity is available. limited benefits and false pretense of employee benefits, longevity, nor appreciation
Was this review helpful?Yes26No4Report
Official response from Kindred at Home
May 2, 2017

Thank you for reaching out to let us know your experience working with us. We value all feedback and understand our employees are the heart of our company. Providing your contact information will help expedite our communication, I can be reached at experience@kindred.com As an alternative, you may call our compliance hotline at 1-800-359-7412, if you choose to remain anonymous and report your concerns. Thank you, Joy S, Manager, Kindred Healthcare

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and overworked
Therapist (Current Employee) –  GeorgiaApril 28, 2017
This is a good job but there have been so many changes since I've been an employee that it's been hard to keep up with. Since Kindred merged with Gentiva (I originally started with Gentiva), pay has gone from salary plus to a fee based system which can, and has, dramatically impacted pay. There also seems to be a lot of turnover with office staff which is always hard to adjust to. Finally, it seems that office staff is requesting more and more of clinical staff that used to be done by administration (such as copying medicare number, making welcome calls, etc). We have also had MANY more meetings and we are not paid any more for all this extra work. I'm hoping that my office in particular will be able to hire more clinical and administrative staff soon as we are severely understaffed and everyone in the branch suffers because of it.
Pros
able to make own schedule
Cons
workload, not great benefits, understaffed branch
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kindred at Home. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 109 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
2.8
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.4
Culture
2.6

CEO Approval

57%
73 ratings
Add your rating