Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
891 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous place to work for everyone involved
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Former Employee), Southern CaliforniaMarch 25, 2015
Pros: It a job, sort of
Cons: Understaffed, Computer system, license risk
A typical day~At the beginning of a shift we are assigned on average 16 hours of patient care to do in a 10.5 hour shift. (12 hrs-breaks and report=10.5) During the day on average we pick up 2-4 hours MORE work with codes, blood tests, ekgs, new patients etc.

There is no way any human being can do this 20 hours of work in 10.5 hours. So we don't. Some people probably lie on the charting saying they did do the assigned work, others tell the truth hoping the patient will not suffer and they will not get in trouble or lose their license.

No one that works at Kindred is lazy and each person begins each day like a marathon race just hoping they can finish in one piece and actually see their assigned patients if only for a minute. Money is all Kindred cares about and the patient is simply a means to that end.

Every day each dept is severally understaffed . Life saving equipment just abruptly stops working or is just too old and inefficient. Spirits are low, but the job market so bad we all stay and play the game. If you try to be a patient advocate and inform your supervisor about the gigantic workloads you are deemed the problem.

The computer system is time consuming and poorly designed, redundant, and a tremendous amount of time is spent charting whereas that time could be spent on patient care. The doctors over order costly, painful and time consuming tests and overworked nurses call us constantly for no reason except to ease their own conscious.

Most of the patients at Kindred suffer from resistant infections and many are in rooms where gloves, gowns and masks – more... are required for entry. Do you honestly think with our workloads that these precautions are being followed? They aren't. If they were we would be doing even less work as putting on all that gear takes a great deal of time.

Kindred is a dangerous place to be. For the worker and the patient. We need more staff! We need the doctors to do their own jobs! We need secretaries to enter orders and we need to account for workload fluctuations and management must call workers in or pull up their sleeves and help.

Kindred is supposed to be a hospital . Kindred needs to properly care for those in their care and their hardworking staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable close nit work family.
Patient / Insurance Representative (Former Employee), Arlington, TXMarch 24, 2015
Enjoyed what I was doing, loved the people I worked with. Hardest part was (being very honest here) trying to learn new procedures and new Supervisor, and going through menepause and having severe migraines. A very emotional time for me and ended up loosing my job. Ended up having hysterectomy and am now a happy, non-stressed,dependable, out going person with no more migraines! Thank God!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company ONLY thinks about where to cut financially and how to get you to do the most work possible.....
nurse (Former Employee), DentonMarch 23, 2015
Pros: nice office
Cons: very unprofessional towards staff and facilities
I worked for this company for several years and it went down hill quickly. They want you to put in as much work as possible but you cant get overtime then they yell and gripe at you when you are trying to be a dedicated worker and get your job done. I took work home and worked for without pay for 3-4 hours each night. They piled on more and more duties if you show them any signs that you are willing to be at their bekconing call. Management was ok until they pushed her out because she wasnt trained to be in sales/marketing. They want you to be a marketer aswell as a nurse or sw or cna it doesntnmatter to them. I never got a raise the whole time i was there. Freeze on pay increases because the census was low or we didnt meet quota. I hated the way that they treated the staff and the facilities that they talk about behind their backs. TRAINING WHAT TRAINING. You were thrown out to the dogs at first day. I loved the principles of my job and was very good at it but you better not have an opinion or talk out of turn. So this hospice is not up to snuff. I am not sure about the other Kindred entities. But as for Hospice. THEY SUCK!!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 22, 2015
Management is great, facility has much to work with, great multidisciplinary team, wonderful patients, staff is hard working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the people of Kindred
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Sycamore, ILMarch 20, 2015
Pros: i worked at night, it was peaceful .
Cons: having to leave
A typical day, was not so simple! That is why I loved what I do, It was fast paced. I loved the people I worked with, the hardest part of my job is leaving for the day, the best part is that I could start it all over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company to work for
Nursing Supervisor, SDC, Admissions (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 19, 2015
This company really does care about taking care of the residents as well as the employees. They also offer opportunities to develop on's career to various areas of the healthcare industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
? (Former Employee), maryvilleMarch 18, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: management does not care about employees, only money
No job security. the staff there use the worst language I have ever heard. If the DNS doesn't like you, watch out you will be gone.... you never know from day to day if you will have a job. The administrator does not stand up for nurses at all. The cnas and Lpns are over worked.... this place has went thru loads of staff in the past 5 years...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical nice to place to work
CNA/ NSG Office Clerk/ Unit clerk and Monitor Tech (Current Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 18, 2015
Pros: management support very good . free weekend breakfast.
Cons: n/a
12 hours shift. Normal workload. Learned how to multitask, think on my feet, be creative, and meet and exceed the challenges and the demands that were presented and the task at hand.
Although the turnover was somewhat fluid, there was a level of professional working environment. Having to cover for other people's job as well as my own responsibilities.
Helping patients and their family members get the required results or outcome they deserve.Oversee staff caring for residents, ensuring staff are caring out physician orders.I have worked for this company for 12 years and have learned many things in that time. My co-workers are good, caring individuals.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this place, but their is still some hatred out in the world
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 13, 2015
this was my dream job! i did everything that i could possible do in return the mgmt. failed me i got fired for getting hurt on the job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Monroe, NCMarch 12, 2015
this facility is owned by a new company now. Assignments were very heavy and consisted of 13 or 14 residents daily. The staff never wanted to work as a team either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 11, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: salary
12 hours shift. Normal workload. Learned how to multitask, think on my feet, be creative, and meet and exceed the challenges and the demands that were presented and the task at hand.
Although the turnover was somewhat fluid, there was a level of professional working environment. Having to cover for other people's job as well as my own responsibilities. Helping patients and their family members get the required results or outcome they deserve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total disregard for staff safety and patient care
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), GardenaMarch 10, 2015
Pros: it's a job
Cons: poor staffing, heavy workloads, disregard for patient care
I'm sure that all Kindred locations are not the same but this facility is suffering from lack of concern for the well being of staff and patients alike. The facility is poorly staffed and by doing so compromises safety and proper patient care. The workloads are heavy and management has little concern of the staffs well being and has total disregard when concerns are brought to their attention. Employees work with poorly maintained equipment and often are short of supplies. Sometimes staff does not get their full 30 minute uninterrupted lunch break. Much of the staff either is poorly trained or is just burned out. Raises were on hold for many years and now they are given at a rate of 1%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management dont care about you
LVN (Current Employee), South bayMarch 9, 2015
Pros: good supplies
Cons: salary not fair
typical nice to work, I learned a lot and continously, but the management dont care for you, co workers will guide you,some are not, hardest part of the job is you were degraded no appreciation,enjoyable is patient care!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Unit Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, INMarch 8, 2015
Oversee staff caring for residents, ensuring staff are caring out physician orders.
I have worked for this company for 12 years and have learned many things in that time.
My co-workers are good, caring individuals.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management team
BUSINESS OFFICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 6, 2015
As previous management team were all let go on a Friday, I was recruited to start the initial Monday. As there were no previous managers available for transition questions, it was somewhat difficult to adapt, learn and change processes to be fully successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred At Home- Hospice
Medical Social Worker- Hospice (Current Employee), TXMarch 5, 2015
This is an ever growing company. In the hospice field, there are no "typical" days.

I have a realistic, compassionate, and caring supervisor that makes the team WANT to work and do well. She enforces work'/life balance and self care. The hardest part of the job is the nature of the job, dealing with the death of the patient. Best part of the job- I work with an incredible team of compassionate nurses and chaplains that enjoy their job and bring positive energy to the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work being passed down, looked over, and no follow up. somewhere where you could potentially loose your license. be very caregul
LVN (Former Employee), San Marcos, CaMarch 4, 2015
Pros: patients and floor staff are great to work with
Cons: to much work being passed down, looked over, and no follow up. somewhere where you could potentially loose your license. be very caregul
Kindred transition and rehab of San Marcos is a Ghetto place to work for. No organization at nursing station. Papers are everywhere. They don't offer proper training. They aren't welcome to new staff. It smells bad, and their priorities are all wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive had exercising daily
Certified Nurses Assistant (Former Employee), Green Lake, WIMarch 3, 2015
Pros: free meals
Every morning when I started work I always had a warm welcome from residents and co workers everyone always helped everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
cna (Former Employee), Oakdale, PAFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: management and work load
The upper management is terrible, unprofessional, uncaring and just all around awful. For the most part, my former co-workers we're nice to work with (nurses and aides) and took good care of the patients. My biggest complaint is that of the management. The job posting on Indeed states that if you want to work for a company that respects you and challenge you and so on...This is not the place!!! Wouldn't recommend to anybody!
I can honestly say I enjoyed so many of my patients...I met and cared for a lot of very sick but really great people. God bless them, present and passed on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiter Review
Talent Acquisition Manager (Current Employee), TelecommuteFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: work from home
Cons: too many requisitions
*Manage 6 territories for recruitment
*Full-cycle recruitment
*Hire candidates for various healthcare roles
*Interview, screen, select candidates to move forward in process
*Create reqs
*Come up with creative recruitment strategies
*Work hand in hand with management to ensure reqs are filled in timely manner

1 2 3 4 5

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Photos

Kindred Healthcare Salaries

Certified Nursing Assistant
$11.25 per hour
$25,000 per year
CNA
$12.00 per hour
Registered Nurse
$60,000 per year
$28.50 per hour