Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
816 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLNovember 26, 2014
Pros: learned a lot about therapy and how to help the elderly
Cons: no place for advancement
I love what i did and who i worked with. They are definitely a family not just co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok employer
Rehabilitation Technician (Current Employee), Lancaster, PANovember 18, 2014
could use some better communication within the company, some appreciation would be a plus once in a while
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work environment
Relief Charge Nurse (Current Employee), californiaNovember 15, 2014
Pros: great employees
Cons: little to no compensation/benefits/raises.
Good work environment. Heavy patient load at times. Great teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible compensation
RN (Former Employee), Lafayette, LA.November 15, 2014
Pros: loved my patients!
Cons: everything else!
You first start out in orientation, which is about 4 weeks, then you are out on your own. Hourly rate was good to have at that time, at least you are making money at that point. Then you are switched to the per visit rate, which varies, depending on the type of visit it is: admission, discharge, recertification, resumption of care. Also, I was hired – more... as a full-time Psych Nurse, but mostly received Med-Surg patients; you get paid more for psych visits than medical ones. Was not told by management that this would be the case, and when it was brought to their attention, they corrected me that I HAD to do both. If you have a gas guzzling vehicle, forget about applying, as they only compensate $0.40 per mile, based on the companies assessment of your mileage and not actual mileage. Also, the amount of work involved is WORSE that hospital documentation standards and you work WAY past your shift trying to complete the massive amounts of data required to collected on ALL visits. Poorly organized from the top to the bottom, but staff is friendly, at times. If you can work for this company, consider case management, as it is part of the job, whether you have experience in it or not. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Fitchburg, MANovember 14, 2014
amazing place to get to know people , great staff , resdients and lots of help
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place for employment.
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Newark, OHNovember 12, 2014
Management is terrible, there is no administrating skills from anyone, and the only way the company will work with you or your personal schedule is to say it's their way or the highway.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Case Management/MDS (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INNovember 11, 2014
usually a good place to work, management has been good, hardest part is needing 2 persons to do this job instead of one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR is a joke. Management is horrible.
Nobody (Current Employee), Rancho CucamongaNovember 10, 2014
Pros: some co-workers are awesome
Cons: everything else
HR is nothing but a gossip machine, telling employees oother employees personal information. She might be decent if she wasn't terrified of losing her job. Former CFO got hostile with another employee and HR informed employee "Don't worry, you won't get fired." Employee was then accused of warranting the attack. Management is a joke and do nothing but – more... attend countless meetings and gossip about employees. And make sure you fake smile and say hi to everyone or thhe staff will tattle on you to your boss. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), Dover, NJNovember 10, 2014
Cons: salary
Learned many things in the field that will come handy in the future. Great group of people who know the meaning of teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Havertown, PANovember 9, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work is challenging. Our patient population is generally really sick with 3 or more comorbitities. We can have up to 6 patients; time management skills are essential. Overall the teamwork is good and management are helpful. The most enjoyable part of my job is the patients. These patients have been in the hospital for months and they – more... are extremely worn out and depressed. I enjoy giving them amazing care and making them smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We get nominated employee of the month.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Detroit, MINovember 5, 2014
Pros: having the birthday club
Cons: healthcare and benefits
I love my job. I been working here since June 2004. My co- workers are like family. I get along with everyone i sometimes get attached to my patients. When a patient dies or leaves to go home i often get sad. The highlight of my day is putting a smile on my patients face and listening to them tell me life stories.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred HealthCare
SQL Server SSIS/SSRS Developer (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 5, 2014
Kindred Healthcare, Inc. is a healthcare services company that through its subsidiaries operates hospitals, nursing centers and a contract rehabilitation services business across the United States Project was to design a system that provides easy access to critical information for management to take better decisions. The System is designed to take care – more... of all the activities and functions pertaining to Inpatient Management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 3, 2014
work environment is good, management is fine. Kindred provides the outmost quality care in patients and residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's corporate healthcare (profit before people)
speech language pathologist (Former Employee), Saco, MENovember 3, 2014
nice people, but a cold hearted corporation, many problems related to productivity requirements and conflicts regarding serving the patients most efficiently (many would do better at home than a longer yet more profitable stay at a nursing home) Also, many times I was expected to evaluate and treat people that I did not agree needed my services. It – more... was frustrating and I eventually lost my cool and probably won't work for corporate healthcare anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Kindred Way, the kindred life
Infection Preventionist, Employee Health Nurse (Former Employee), West Covina, CANovember 1, 2014
Will not Post any notes at this time.
Kindred is a large company to work for. They have their corporate ways of management. The Facility is clean, needs more space to work in. Too many meetings, not enough time and space to complete work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ugh
RN (Former Employee), AURORANovember 1, 2014
Pros: good pay offer
Cons: treat you badly
Unprofessional rude New CNO is a very arrogant person. DO NOT HIRE WITH THIS COMPANY THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management
Unit Manager (Former Employee), River Terrace , Lancaster , MaOctober 30, 2014
Cons: management
The worst experience in my 24 years of nursing.Management team unprofessional , conniving and unethical . Disrespectful to all staff members, schedule manipulation by the DON with no regard to people's lives and the ED useless as a resource. I would warn anybody from working for this building.Gossiping , swearing and complete un professionalism from – more... the DNS ... Like working in a high school .. Attitude reflects leadership and it's as bad as it gets !!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Former Employee), Glendora, CAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: educational programs were hard to come by
Working for Kindred provided me with many opportunities for growth and knowledge within the nursing field. I was responsible for the of thirty patients, and provided care to patients with different diagnosis's. Working for this type of environment opened me to many opportunities for growth and knowledge, and it is an experience I still look back on – more... and am grateful for.
The demands for care of thirty patients in an eight hour shift, at times, seemed impossible, but somehow, with the support of the staff, and supervisors, we all managed to provide good care to the patients.
I enjoyed working with the patients, and providing education to family members. It was a great experience to work alongside ancillary staff to see the progress and successful discharge of patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TV in the break room help.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Tampa floridaOctober 28, 2014
Pros: giving bonus if a nurse stays extra time to work, like short staff.
Cons: getting emotionally attached to patient.
Very, very busy, time management is a must learn at Kindred Hospital. my co-workers are excellent, help you when you are in need of help, they are like family. When i lose a patient is the hardest part of the job. Seeing the patients get better with a big smile on there faces.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
kindred
CNA (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 28, 2014
the place as though you owe them your life and
they work you like slaves
very dramatized placed

1 2 3 4 5

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Photos