Find companies:
Kindred Healthcare
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
928 reviews

Kindred Healthcare Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxx
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Austin, TXMarch 22, 2015
Management is great, facility has much to work with, great multidisciplinary team, wonderful patients, staff is hard working
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the people of Kindred
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Sycamore, ILMarch 20, 2015
Pros: i worked at night, it was peaceful .
Cons: having to leave
A typical day, was not so simple! That is why I loved what I do, It was fast paced. I loved the people I worked with, the hardest part of my job is leaving for the day, the best part is that I could start it all over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable company to work for
Nursing Supervisor, SDC, Admissions (Former Employee), Columbus, OHMarch 19, 2015
This company really does care about taking care of the residents as well as the employees. They also offer opportunities to develop on's career to various areas of the healthcare industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
? (Former Employee), maryvilleMarch 18, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: management does not care about employees, only money
No job security. the staff there use the worst language I have ever heard. If the DNS doesn't like you, watch out you will be gone.... you never know from day to day if you will have a job. The administrator does not stand up for nurses at all. The cnas and Lpns are over worked.... this place has went thru loads of staff in the past 5 years...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical nice to place to work
CNA/ NSG Office Clerk/ Unit clerk and Monitor Tech (Current Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 18, 2015
Pros: management support very good . free weekend breakfast.
Cons: n/a
12 hours shift. Normal workload. Learned how to multitask, think on my feet, be creative, and meet and exceed the challenges and the demands that were presented and the task at hand.
Although the turnover was somewhat fluid, there was a level of professional working environment. Having to cover for other people's job as well as my own responsibilities.
Helping patients and their family members get the required results or outcome they deserve.Oversee staff caring for residents, ensuring staff are caring out physician orders.I have worked for this company for 12 years and have learned many things in that time. My co-workers are good, caring individuals.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Greenfield, INMarch 17, 2015
Pros: meet great people
Cons: hard work for little pay
a typical day is working independantly cleaning rooms for nursing home patients. You meet great people who are either the patients or your coworkers. Everyone sticks together to get the job done. hardest part was making sure the patients had a safe and clean environment at all times. but i would do it again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe care, poor communication
Director of Nursing (Former Employee), Burlington, VTMarch 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Poor communications
It is surprising the state has not banned admissions to this facility. The residents residing at this facility are at the mercy of being cared for by unskilled and poorly trained nurses on all levels. The facility's norm is scrambling to find nurses on all shifts. The nursing staff come and go...perpetuating the pattern of dysfunction and unfortunately, the delivery of substandard care to their residents. There are few nurses that truly care and are striving to provide quality care but they are few and far between. It is a pity the few good nurses will eventually, sooner, rather than later, resign. Kindred corporate needs to open their eyes to the reality that this facility is broken and needs substantial day-to-day, corporate, support and reinforcements to restore the health of this facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love this place, but their is still some hatred out in the world
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 13, 2015
this was my dream job! i did everything that i could possible do in return the mgmt. failed me i got fired for getting hurt on the job!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Monroe, NCMarch 12, 2015
this facility is owned by a new company now. Assignments were very heavy and consisted of 13 or 14 residents daily. The staff never wanted to work as a team either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Louisville, KYMarch 11, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: salary
12 hours shift. Normal workload. Learned how to multitask, think on my feet, be creative, and meet and exceed the challenges and the demands that were presented and the task at hand.
Although the turnover was somewhat fluid, there was a level of professional working environment. Having to cover for other people's job as well as my own responsibilities. Helping patients and their family members get the required results or outcome they deserve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total disregard for staff safety and patient care
Respiratory Therapist (Current Employee), GardenaMarch 10, 2015
Pros: it's a job
Cons: poor staffing, heavy workloads, disregard for patient care
I'm sure that all Kindred locations are not the same but this facility is suffering from lack of concern for the well being of staff and patients alike. The facility is poorly staffed and by doing so compromises safety and proper patient care. The workloads are heavy and management has little concern of the staffs well being and has total disregard when concerns are brought to their attention. Employees work with poorly maintained equipment and often are short of supplies. Sometimes staff does not get their full 30 minute uninterrupted lunch break. Much of the staff either is poorly trained or is just burned out. Raises were on hold for many years and now they are given at a rate of 1%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Unit Manager (Current Employee), Columbus, INMarch 8, 2015
Oversee staff caring for residents, ensuring staff are caring out physician orders.
I have worked for this company for 12 years and have learned many things in that time.
My co-workers are good, caring individuals.
The most enjoyable part of my job is the residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management team
BUSINESS OFFICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 6, 2015
As previous management team were all let go on a Friday, I was recruited to start the initial Monday. As there were no previous managers available for transition questions, it was somewhat difficult to adapt, learn and change processes to be fully successful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindred At Home- Hospice
Medical Social Worker- Hospice (Current Employee), TXMarch 5, 2015
This is an ever growing company. In the hospice field, there are no "typical" days.

I have a realistic, compassionate, and caring supervisor that makes the team WANT to work and do well. She enforces work'/life balance and self care. The hardest part of the job is the nature of the job, dealing with the death of the patient. Best part of the job- I work with an incredible team of compassionate nurses and chaplains that enjoy their job and bring positive energy to the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work being passed down, looked over, and no follow up. somewhere where you could potentially loose your license. be very caregul
LVN (Former Employee), San Marcos, CaMarch 4, 2015
Pros: patients and floor staff are great to work with
Cons: to much work being passed down, looked over, and no follow up. somewhere where you could potentially loose your license. be very caregul
Kindred transition and rehab of San Marcos is a Ghetto place to work for. No organization at nursing station. Papers are everywhere. They don't offer proper training. They aren't welcome to new staff. It smells bad, and their priorities are all wrong.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive had exercising daily
Certified Nurses Assistant (Former Employee), Green Lake, WIMarch 3, 2015
Pros: free meals
Every morning when I started work I always had a warm welcome from residents and co workers everyone always helped everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful place to work
cna (Former Employee), Oakdale, PAFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: management and work load
The upper management is terrible, unprofessional, uncaring and just all around awful. For the most part, my former co-workers we're nice to work with (nurses and aides) and took good care of the patients. My biggest complaint is that of the management. The job posting on Indeed states that if you want to work for a company that respects you and challenge you and so on...This is not the place!!! Wouldn't recommend to anybody!
I can honestly say I enjoyed so many of my patients...I met and cared for a lot of very sick but really great people. God bless them, present and passed on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiter Review
Talent Acquisition Manager (Current Employee), TelecommuteFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: work from home
Cons: too many requisitions
*Manage 6 territories for recruitment
*Full-cycle recruitment
*Hire candidates for various healthcare roles
*Interview, screen, select candidates to move forward in process
*Create reqs
*Come up with creative recruitment strategies
*Work hand in hand with management to ensure reqs are filled in timely manner
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Nutrition Aide (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: free food
Cons: low pay
A stress free job we flexible schedule, management was understanding with life situations. This was a part time job I had after school during my high school days and it was perfect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging place to work
Per Diem Registered Nurse, Med Surge/ telemetry (Current Employee), Westminster, CAFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: something new is learned everyday
Cons: patients 8:1 rn
A typical day includes caring for 8 patients (with LVN assisting)
Supervising both LVNs and CNAs to ensure proper care for all patients. I have learned how to delegate and manage my time to ensure that all patients are cared for and all charting is completed prior to the end of shift. The co workers are self sufficient and work hard to be efficient. The hardest part of this job is when a new patient is admitted and all patients must be reassessed and prioritized in order to ensure that everyone is safe, comfortable and cared for while the new patient is being admitted.
The most enjoyable part of this job is discharging a patient who has struggled for a long time and is finally healthy enough to leave.

About Kindred Healthcare

The word "kindred" has many meanings, including allied, similar and family. We believe the name reflects our business – Read more

Kindred Healthcare Salaries

Certified Nursing Assistant
$11.27 per hour
$25,000 per year
Registered Nurse
$63,000 per year
CNA
$12.00 per hour
Registered Nurse
$28.50 per hour

Kindred Healthcare Photos

William K. Schifferli
Our mission to helping others without discrimination. And much Love TLC :-)
Our "A" team.  I am in the bright blue scrubs.