Find companies:
King's Daughters Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

King's Daughters Medical Center Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay bad atmosphere
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Brookhaven, MSMarch 12, 2015
Your schedule is 7 days on and 7 days off. 7 12 hour shifts aren't easy. You are hired as fulltime but are not told that you are more than likely to be called off 1 or 2 days during your shift. So you – more... end up not getting fulltime hours. Management does a good job at upselling their facility but it's not all true. I primarily have worked in an icu environment and was told that that their icu was busy, far from the truth.The cardiopulmonary might as well be self run. The direct supervisor had no respiratory experience and was only the administrative assistant for the nursing officer. The majority of the coworkers make you feel like an outsider and an uncomfortable working atmosphere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for the short term
Echo Tech (Former Employee), Ashland, KYDecember 29, 2014
Pros: friendly people, low stress, nice facility
Cons: unstable, poor management, low pay/benefits
KDMC used to be a wonderful place to work but it has gone downhill over the years. The people are friendly but management is poor. Has been investigated for fraud. No job security as layoffs occur frequently. – more... Benefits have been cut, no raises and moral is low. I would recommend it as a place to be for a few years but don't plan on retirement here. Long-term employees often get laid off before being able to retire. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont car about there employees
Security Officer (Former Employee), Ashland KyDecember 23, 2014
Pros: cant think of any the insurance suck a very stressfull invriment
I worked there for seven years as a security officer. I am know unemployed do to my own decision for unsafe working condition and not a enough staff to be able to do this job in a safe manor upper management – more... only care for there self if you have family and wont to spend time with them this company dosn"t care was told I was there to work NOT to have a family life I could go on about how bad this place is but I wont all I can say glad I don t work there any more – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place in my heart
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Ashland, KYOctober 11, 2014
Pros: a beautiful facility to work in
Cons: high turnover
King's Daughters Medical Center is overcoming many obstacles the facility has faced the past several years. I will always speak well of this hospital and I believe in their mission. However I am looking for a new experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a descent place to work overall
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Brookhaven, MSJuly 28, 2014
Pros: really laxed and friendly environment
Cons: lacked supplies at times and that could be stressful
a typical work night for me was pretty laid back. I had a team of nurses who didn't mind helping when I needed help or advice. It was a quiet environment with minimal distractions. I learned how to give – more... outstanding care to surgical patients and occasionally medical patients. my co-workers on nights were awesome. They were fun to work with and I could also depend on them when the going got tough. I really can not say that there was a hard part to my job. Other than having a lack of supplies at times and not being able to contact physicians in a timely manner, everything was pretty much taken care of. I will say that time management was stressful at times when the patient load and need of patient was high in demand. The thing I loved most about my job was the team I worked with. They were dependable. The night shift on the surgical floor where I worked was really enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lost job due to reduction in work force after 18 years of employment
Clinical Supervisor (Former Employee), Ashland, KyJuly 10, 2014
Pros: good team
Cons: poor culture
Used to be a great place to work. Planned to retire from there. Very poor culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but stressful
Registration Clerk (Former Employee), Brookhaven, MSJune 2, 2014
Pros: employees get discount on medical in their facilities
Cons: insurance does not pay well outside of their facilities
This was a good employer, but difficult to work for. Job is fast paced. Multi-tasking ability a must.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Environmental Services (Current Employee), Ashland, KYMay 5, 2014
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: department management
Kings Daughters management seems to not want to work with their employees and keep them happy.

New management has recently entered my department that has had some positive influence on the department – more... and I hope for more to come.

A typical day at work consists of many different activities and tasks and overloading of work on the employees.

Work most of the time is stressful and fast paced

Job Work/Life Balance is horrible if you work evening shift.

Hardest part of the job is doing catch up work plus your own work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open to change and suggestions
Patient Information & Receptionist (Current Employee), Ashland, KYMay 4, 2014
Even though it is a large company, KDMC cares about their team members' input and opinions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking
Health Administration Patient Office Coordination (Former Employee), Ashland, KYFebruary 7, 2014
King's Daughters used to be a fun place for employment; however, during the years employee moral faltered because of the lack of leadership skills provided by management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too bad it isn't the same
Billing (Former Employee), Ashland kyDecember 5, 2013
KDMC used to be a great place to work. Unfortunately now it is so stressful as there have been so many lay offs over the past few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place were the people are nice and good to work with.
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Ashland, KYNovember 25, 2013
Pros: nice facility, good co-workers, surrounding area is nice
A typical day started out with finding where you were assigned to and what needed to be done. Co-workers were friendly and would try to do what they could to help each other out. Management would try to – more... accommodate everyone as best as possible without interfering with work flow. Helping people that needed help was by and far the most enjoyable part of the job to me and is why I entered this field in the first place. Ironically, it's also the hardest part of the job at times since you really don't know what you're up against until it happening. What you learn from working here though is how to quickly adapt to any situation and how to think on your feet when needed to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great nurses and physicians. Support staff of EMTs, Environmental services, and volunteers continuously makes work day run smoothly
Adult Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee), Ashland, KYNovember 18, 2013
Pros: tuition reimbursement, paid time off, health care insurance
Cons: asked to use vacation time in order to make a full 40 hour week at least once per month
King's Daughters Medical Center was the right choice for me as a new nurse as this organization has a wonderful learning and organizational department that fosters new nurses. I began my career as a new – more... graduate nurse working in their intensive care unit. Flexible 12 hour shift scheduling made it easy to continue my education. KDMC further fostered my nursing career by selecting me as a nurse associate to the Nurse Practitioners and physicians within the Heart and Vascular Center and the Centers for Advanced Care. I enjoyed most working with the physicians and rounding on the patients with them. I enjoyed building relationships with the patients and their families. The thing I will miss most about this job is the people I met there: patients, families, and staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facility to advance and grow in my nursing career.
RN, MSN, Quality Reviewer (Former Employee), Ashland, KYOctober 2, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: insecure work environment
The year 2013 found that a typical day included review of current patient's EMR (approximately 40 per day Monday-Friday) for documentation compliance to/with core measures.
A list was created of noncompliant – more... or failing measures (as well as 'at a boys' for compliance) which was in turn emailed or called to the nurse manager & charge nurse. Physical rounds were made as needed for monitoring compliance to facitly guidelines. An EXCEL program was used for most of the documentation which allowed for an ongoing tracking of compliance or lack of compliance. I became fairly profient at the EXCEL program.
I worked with a great group of women who were thoughtful, caring & helpful. We had to cover each other's unit(s) for Core Measure compliance when we had days off.
I was also responsible for JACHO required physician & AHP OPPE, so the afternoon found me working to collect data for these reports or doing data abstraction & enty for the AICDs to the NCDR database.
The most enjoyable part of my job was the feeling of accomplishment that came over me when I completed a report for the month or a data submission for the quarter. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Middle of road Employer
Radiological and CT Technologist (Former Employee), Ashland, KYAugust 20, 2013
Not the best, not the worst. scanned patients as requested. collected data, updated medical records
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with.
Systems Administrator III (Former Employee), Ashland, KYAugust 16, 2013
Great management and team to work with. Learned several new technologies including Cisco UCS Blade systems and F5 LTM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
LPN (Former Employee), Ashland, KYJuly 15, 2013
KDMC is a great place to get experience but not to build your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard! Hard! Hard
CSR/Patient Financial Services (Former Employee), Brookhaven, MSJune 27, 2013
There are no typical days while working at the hospital, except to always expect the unexpected! I learned that no matter what you think about a person, their health is more important and people will lie about anything if they think it'll get them pain medicine. The hardest part about this job was getting cussed out at least twice every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Housekeeper (Former Employee), Ashland, KYJune 16, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: management is not the best i have ever seen. i would say sub-par overall.
Not a bad place for the area to work. The benefits and compensation are well worth the cons of any of the jobs. Plus the difficulty of most of the jobs are very low.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my position but not the place
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Ashland, KYApril 25, 2013
I loved the position I held. I didn't like the management. It was very difficult and you had a large workload. I loved working in certain parts of the hospital. We always worked short staffed.

King's Daughters Medical Center Salaries

Family Medicine Physician
$200,000 per year