King County Metro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative work place
Transportation Policy Planning Intern (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 7, 2017
This work place valued free thinkers. We worked together to create analytical tools to measure carpooling. In addition, we looked for ways to motivate people to use transit.
Pros
Smart co-workers
Cons
Program had low funding
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fast paced place to work.
Full-Time Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 2, 2017
A typical day at work is driving a route for over ten hours and then an extra tripper route at the beginning or end of my day. Management was helpful to a point. My fellow bus drivers were very helpful in keeping up my morale and keeping me in check. The hardest part of the job was dealing with unruly passengers, but I became an expert at it.
Pros
You are your own boss. Great pay and benefits.
Cons
Tough schedules, little help from management, and lots of unruly passengers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Operator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 19, 2017
King County is a wonderful place to work. They care about the staff. They invest and promote within. You are paid fairly. I would refer friends and family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning how to drive Metro
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 15, 2017
What I learned driving for King County, no matter how professional you operated a Metro coach one little mistake will cost you a good paying job.Not keeping you eye on the road, will do every- time.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
some time long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
transit operator (Current Employee) –  King County, WAApril 25, 2017
Amazing opportunity with great training. Very strict first year (probation period). Very hard to manager work life balance first year. Many of the trainers have been at metro for many years and pass the knowledge on. Metro pays for CDL.
Pros
pay, training
Cons
time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to wotk
Electronics Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 17, 2017
Worked there for 4 years. Good management, great pay and benefits. Great coworkers. Very hard to find anything wrong about working for King County Metro.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent deal
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 3, 2017
Full time is More than 40hrs til you get seniority part time is cool good money if you don't mind driving the bus you're good to go if you can dig it .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 27, 2017
I loved this job because I loved meeting new people, but if you have any personal issues going on, the management team don't care about it. You have to work up to 16hrs per day.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Having to work up to 16hrs a day
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt Management
Full Time Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Atlantic BaseMarch 21, 2017
Wages are comparatively good, but this is not a good place to work. Management doesn't have your best interest or welfare in mind. There is a lot of racial animosity, bias, and reverse discrimination, so keep records of everything, document and report incidents however minor in order to protect yourself when the time comes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun/interesting
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WADecember 11, 2016
Driving a city bus waas great fun. In the three years that I drove for King County Metro, I met hundreds of very nice men and women who rode my bus on a daily basis.
Pros
good equipment
Cons
More time for part time employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place.
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 22, 2016
Outstanding work environment
Great balance of work,home,life
Benefits package is very generous
Ability to stay in current position or advance career is available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 25, 2015
It was my job to drive a 60ft bus in rush hour traffic, follow DOT and RCW laws while providing excellent customer service. I followed my run-card along with dealing with accident reports and bus safety.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of independence, personal responsibility, ability to work in varied environments with a variety of people.
Transit Coach Operator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 5, 2015
Probably the best place to work I've ever experienced, although the trade-offs for work/life balance make me more equivocal when judging this place. The pay, benefits, and enjoyment of doing my job have been wonderful, but I've worked every weekend and holiday for the last eight years, and I worked nights for seven years. That was fine when my wife and I had no kids, but since we adopted kids it became onerous.
Pros
Independence, varied and challenging work environment, great pay.
Cons
Nonexistent breaks, tight schedules, inability to get time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Compant
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 1, 2015
They care about their employees and their customers! They like to hire within the company for management. The benefits are worth every minute of rude customers.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
No room for unforeseen circumstances involving punctuality
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Really good job with good pay and good benifits
driver (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 3, 2015
Drive the bus
learned how to be patient with people
Management was excellent
Co-workers were really nice
Downtown driving during construction
Meeting people, driving and helping people that visit Seattle.
Pros
Safty awards helping on the activities committes
Cons
short breaks not enough comfort stations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is one of the better places I have worked.
City Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 30, 2014
If you are just looking for a secure job with decent pay and benefits this is a good place. There are a lot of politic and it is hard to advance, because of the union, but none the less it is a "good" job with pay, benefits and you get compensated for overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Facility Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 5, 2013
I thought it was totaly awesome. It was a great place to work. Cant get any better really.
Pros
awesome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 3, 2013
Great company to work for. Benifits are wonderful. Each base has employee work out gym. option to work long hours up to you after you go full time.
Pros
great pay and benifits
Cons
takes long time to go full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best transit system in the nation
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 30, 2012
Working long hours , driving, day and night, with the management and co-worker.
hardest part of job is driving advers weather, and enjouable part of jobe is driving here and there every day
Pros
all pros
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was one of the best jobs I ever had. I loved the public and the wonderful customers.
Transit Operator (Former Employee) –  Seattle WashingtonDecember 29, 2011
I loved driving, I was young and was having fun. I enjoyed the trolley buses and how they operated. I also had great pay and wonderful benefits.
Pros
extra hours to get and a lot of money to make.
Cons
early hours 4am.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at King County Metro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

King County Metro Reviews by Location