Find companies:
King Soopers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
248 reviews

King Soopers Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun face paced place that is very cultural.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Arvada, CODecember 9, 2014
King Soopers was a very fun and fast paced job.
The management are promoted within the store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Baker (Former Employee), Federal Heights, CODecember 8, 2014
If you are applying as a baker i would not recommend it... It is hard strenuous tedious work for a little pay check at the end of the week. Main store managers like to team up on employees and are rude. Bakery was in a disarray when i was hired and they tried to make so many changes while i was there,it just made it worse. Union reps do not help if – more... you are having issues like i was with the store manager. so you pay union dues with nothing in return... i would work here ever again.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run of the mill retail job with little to offer associates
Front End Associate (Current Employee), Littleton, CODecember 3, 2014
Pros: health care, location, associates
Cons: short breaks, managers are like stalin, very little regard for workers needs
A typical day at work is boring and frustrating. The King Soopers location I currently work in is slow most days. There isn't a lot for a front end associate to do if there are no customers. I like to keep busy when I am at a job though this job isn't challenging in the least. I learned that retail is not where I see myself in the future. I'd like to – more... move on from retail and grow not only as a person in society but also a professional. The management at King Soopers is sometimes light and fun, with managers being friendly to customers as well as employees. More often than not though, managers tend to take their frustrations out on the staff. What is most upsetting is the lack of trust between the managers and staff. Barking orders, expecting them to be followed to the letter even when circumstances prevent employees from following through with the task is what can be expected at King Soopers. There is little understanding or compassion among the managers of King Soopers. My co-workers are fine people.
The hardest part of the job has nothing to do with the tasks that are being asked of me or the customers that I serve but it comes from the managers. In my experience the managers shouldn't be managing anyone because they don't care about the human aspect of what it is that they do. They take care of the customers but they have little to no regard for the associates that they are working "above."
The most enjoyable part of the job is talking with the customers and getting to help them find what they need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Overnight stock clerk (Former Employee), Broomfield, CODecember 2, 2014
The job had a lot of bennefits, the bending and moving was a little too much for me and I didn't want to work overtime at that period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Parker, CODecember 2, 2014
Working at King Soopers was a good experience and being there for 7 years taught me a lot. I worked my way up and eventually left the company as a front end supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place in a friendly enviornment
Clerk (Current Employee), Arvada, CONovember 25, 2014
The typical day at works starts off by logging onto a check register and waiting for customers. Of course, I ask if they found everything O.K. and begin a light conversation about their plans for the evening or the holidays. I've learned customer service is key for a successful business. By acknowledging the customer and bring them forth first, customers – more... will be more likely to return for another visit. Management is strict. Cells phones are not to be visible during a work shift. Strict rules encourage positive behavior. The toughest part of the job is being stationed in a single position for a very long time. The most enjoyable part is meeting new people and getting a good laugh. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so good
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Westminster, CONovember 20, 2014
The staff was lacking responsibility, the management picked favorites and the store was always getting complaints. Would not work here again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere, ability to move up and transfer any where
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Aurora, CONovember 10, 2014
Pros: discount of food perchase.
Cons: salary cap
A typical day started with food preparation. Open cash drawer. I learned food preparation and furthered my customer service skills. The management was always ready to help with advancement in the company and far with reviews. I working with my co-workers in a teamwork atmosphere. Hardest part was night shift and cleanup. Most enjoyable was working with – more... the customers and preparing excellent food. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Loved the people and enviorment.
All-Purpose Clerk (Former Employee), Lafayette, CONovember 5, 2014
Just needed better management that appreciated there employees'
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Head Clerk (Former Employee), Longmont, CONovember 1, 2014
Pros: productive work place, great employees
Cons: no set work schedule, working holidays, no overtime
A typical day could include balancing cash registers, self checkouts, Lots of customer service and helping the customers in the store. Managing co-workers.
Learned how to stock shelves, operate cash registers, manage co-workers, balancing and deposits at the end of the day and customer service.
Hardest part of the job would be dealing with very upset – more... customers witch is not on a daily basis but from time to time this would happen.
Most enjoyable part of the job was helping people, productive and keeps busy for the most part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and enjoyable to see the regular customers.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 19, 2014
Pros: free food for our hard work
Cons: switched managers on the workers
Pushing carts into the store, bagging groceries and helping customers with unloading bags from cart and putting the bags in the customers car. I learned to try to not hit the customers car with the carts and always keeping the cold stuff together. There was always a head clerk helping out. I got along with most of my Co-Workers. The hardest part of – more... the job was pushing the cart up a hill. The enjoyable part was seeing the regular customers on the days that they were shopping. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life long job
Bakery Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Denver, COOctober 15, 2014
This is the type of company you can get comfortable with and plan on retiring from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there long ago
All cashier operations (Former Employee), Aurora and Parker ColoradoOctober 14, 2014
I was able to work the hours I needed in order to help care for our daughter, but the holidays and weekends were very difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough experience with managment
Courtesy Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee), Firestone, COOctober 10, 2014
Pros: cfc
I was treated with disrespect from many of the management members and not trained properly. I trained myself on everything i knew and ended up being someone they needed to train others. Everyday i would check out customers and help them find things in the store. the most enjoyable part of the job was when i had meaningful conversations with people, – more... and the worst part was being unappreciated for my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job for a while
Overnight Stock Person (Former Employee), Aurora, COOctober 8, 2014
Pros: it was close to home
Cons: i was put in a different position that i didn't want
i was hired for overnight stocking, then, without my knowledge or consent i was moved to daytime dairy clerk. that was when i quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Commerce City, COOctober 7, 2014
Pros: good work environment
Cons: work weekends
good place to work the people are great and good customer service,
the hardest part about the job was breaking down the load myself,
i really liked the management and my co worker s
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall poor store performance.
Cashier (Former Employee), Wheat Ridge, COOctober 6, 2014
Pros: 3 breaks per 8 hour shift, moderate pay, chances to move up.
Cons: union, poor managerial skills, disruptive behavior from co-workers sometimes, lackluster effort from management, lack of care from the store's district manager in general, dirty store, lazy whiny people
This store that I have been at for almost a year now has done nothing but screw everybody over. They're understaffed, unorganized and they create a strict, hostile working environment for everybody on the front end. Overall chaotic and would never go back. Typical days include standing for 8 hours behind a register and taking orders from managers. I – more... learned how to have patience and understanding for people's situations. I absolutely loved my co-workers though. They basically became a second family for me; I met some good people there. The hardest part of the job was trying not to lose my cool when the managers boss me around like I'm an animal. Lastly, the most enjoyable part of the job was going home at the end of the day... It was not enjoyable for the most part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Deli Clerk/Part Time Chef (Current Employee), Parker, COOctober 2, 2014
It is hard to get ahead when you are not part of the crowd or have management skills that do not degrade your employees. They use threats and intimidation to make their employees work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please don't join!!
Courtesy Clerk/Checker (Current Employee), Fort Collins, COOctober 1, 2014
Pros: nothing!
King Soopers is super expensive, the management SUCKS you go no where if you do not live up to "Expectations" that are very unreasonable, you get nearly run over by cars EVERY DAY, you can't pay any of your bills because all of it is going back into the store. The Job is EXTREAMLY draining and they HARDLY work around your school schedule!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated to work there
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Broomfield, COSeptember 29, 2014
the company managers always kept changing thing and making harder to get stuff done when they wanted it done.

1 2 3 4 5

About King Soopers

Headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio, Kroger (NYSE:KR) is one of the nation's largest grocery retailers, with fiscal 2010 sales of – Read more