Kingsborough Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 97 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping stone towards other security/Law enforcement positions
Campus Police Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 22, 2017
At work we respond to emergencies such as fights,medical emergencies,theft,disputes.ETC. I have learned a great deal about the penal law,HIPAA, FERPA and customer service.The hardest part of the job is the politics that you have to deal with and the lack of following policy by upper management. The enjoyable part of the day are the officers which I work with who are friendly and professional.
Pros
Free college course
Cons
behind on current collective bargaining contract by seven years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
view of the school is everything
IT Technical Support (Current Employee) –  2001 Oriental Blvd Brooklyn NY 11235August 15, 2017
Communicate with a lot of students
Learn everyday new stuff from students
Solving issues with different ways
We get every kind of students with various age (16 to 90)
Can wear anything you want (jeans, T shirt etc)
Pros
Learn new stuff every other day
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Secretary in Art department (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 8, 2017
This was a work-study job I took while in college. I got to work closely with my professors and see everything in a whole new prospective. If I could do it all again, I would. It was one of the best experiences of my life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with students only
Computer Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 5, 2017
I was working as a Computer Lab technician while I was a student there. My job was to help students if they don't know how to work with Microsoft or other functions on the computers.
Pros
I was able to use the computer lab anytime
Cons
It was only for one hour a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution to prepare students for higher learning
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 1, 2017
I worked as a college assistant at Kingsborough Community College doing administrative work for a year.This was my first ever job and it gave me the opportunity to enhance my team work skills.
Pros
the pay
Cons
none that I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
student for 4 years
Student (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 26, 2017
The best place to study in Brooklyn. This is the college to be for people who want to get education and to go after their dream. Kings borough community college offer you the chance to get education with normal and affordable price.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive Helpful people
Network Security Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 21, 2017
A typical day work is not very hard, normal day to day duties. A lot of learning and helping people to guide you through every problem. Very good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good workplace with great people
Student aide-Sports Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 17, 2017
There's good interaction with people. It's a great opportunity to help students and being able to teach them sports and help with activities. There's free access to the gym but there's short breaks when working.
Pros
Acess to gym
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neutral
Student Aid / Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 9, 2017
I spent a lot of the days there cleaning dishes that we or other classes that went on in the kitchens left or needed help with. I learned how to properly store mass amounts of food, How to clean an entire kitchen and its equipment. Different cooking techniques like sous vide and chryo-vacing meat. Laundry for all Chef coats, Aprons and table clothes. I watched over all ingredients during inspections and helped supervisors of the kitchen deliver ingredients to all kitchens in the school.
Pros
Great Environment to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Atmosphere
Remedial Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 2, 2017
I worked with remedial students on their reading and writing. They were most appreciative of the help. It was a very supportive atmosphere. Everyone helped each other.
Pros
Supportive Atmosphere
Cons
No chance for advancement or increase in salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starter
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 30, 2017
I had the benefit of working with the parents and helping the staff. Learned office skills that I have applied throughout my career. The faculty was very supporting and welcoming.
Pros
Helping others
Cons
Voluntter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place
College Assistant, Registrar (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 29, 2017
I meet everyday new students, sometimes i learn new things from my co-workers and clients. The most difficult part is to understand the student's and their requests. But most of the times its fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus,fun place to work
Workshop Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 12, 2017
This campus is worth the trek everyday to come to work. During the summer you have the option to work a 4 day work week. the opportunities here are great many different opportunities depending on the degree you have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 5, 2017
I liked working at Kingsborough community college because their was room for growth. Kings borough college is a laid back environment and the culture in the work place was just right.
Pros
Benefits and job culture
Cons
Hours and Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to move up in the company.
Supervisor, Department of Instructional Computing (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 4, 2017
Work with teachers in the classroom with any program computer associated with class. Also supervisor the classroom made sure they have cover to help the teacher.
Pros
Holidays off
Cons
short lunchs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work make give me strength and energy
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 31, 2017
I'm a fun person to work with I work hard I love to make people happy and I love to make people smile and make their day better give them hope. I just love to work it give me the motivation to do what I love to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful
Leadership Program - Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 6, 2017
Everyone was caring and loving. There wasn't anything thing they could help with.everyone was very professional and understanding of everyone, many of us were able to earn college credit.
Pros
they made everyone feel welcome.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 31, 2017
bad management no growth opportunities, Transportation is sometimes a challenge. They hire friends and family only. Some departments are chronically understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going environment
Student Aid (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 19, 2017
A typical day would include general office errands and sometimes delivering packages to different locations. Work is great. Fellow employees were friendly.
Pros
Easy relaxed paced environment
Cons
Did not have any complains during my time at this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
English as a Second Language Teacher
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 17, 2017
I have taught ESL to adults at Kingsborough Community College for over 27 years.
Working with adults is very gratifying as a teacher.
The most enjoyable part of the job over the years has been learning about different cultures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kingsborough Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 97 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

Kingsborough Community College Reviews by Location