KINGWOOD PINES HOSPITAL Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place truly made me realize the corruption in hospitals, anything to save a buck or two at the expense of the staff and patients
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJuly 14, 2016
KPH was probably the worst place I've ever worked, and somehow I managed to last 5 years there. I guess the patients kept me from leaving, my love for them was grand. My coworkers (the few I enjoyed) were cool. But administration was a mess, they were never around and only appeared when corporate or joint commission came around, it was filthy at the end because they decided to outsource their housekeeping to some immigrants women didn't really care and spent the entire time gossiping (the cleaning staff they had before was immaculate)
The supervisor staff was just as bad(before they disbanded it cause now they have a CNO and her "assistant" who sucks just as bad), they were always understaffed and they always try and con people into working when they're off, I saw a guy work 24+ hours once, and they didn't bat an eye, their are a select group of people who would work doubles every day (mom-fri, except payday Friday) and be too burnt out to work weekends so they had to somehow function without anyone (they once had he entire kitchen staff go work the units cause that's how desperate they were)
They constantly have a bed bug issue
None of the vital machines work
they're constantly under supplied
And the entire place runs on broken promises and "upcoming advancements" that never occur

I can go for days on how bad this place is
Do yourself a favor and go apply somewhere where they'll value like a human being.
Pros
Overtime if you have no life I guess
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my co-worker
Psychiatric Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXOctober 25, 2015
my co-worker are ever good at helping you out when you need a day off or have to leave early. That me and colleagues work alongside and learn from each other.
Pros
love going out to eat lunch with my co-worker when we are not at work.
Cons
Not enough time to do everything you want to do for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship opportunity and training
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXSeptember 24, 2015
I had the opportunity to conduct therapy with children in the school setting and to assist and sit in special education ARDs to help develop and coordinate services surrounding their Behavioral Intervention Plans.

I had the opportunity to work with families connected to the school district where I conducted family, couples and individual therapy. I also had the opportunity to practice co-therapy.

The most enjoyable part of my job were my clients and working next to my classmates. My supervisor was amazing.

I learned so much about the school system and special education. I learned so much about working with families and teens. I learned about conduct disorder.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a stressful work environment.
recreational therapist/mental health tech (Current Employee) –  kingwood txJuly 13, 2015
Needs more structure and more care and empathy for patients. I learned to continuously move forward and not get too comfortable in a certain position. Some coworkers tend to be messy and focus more on outside influences with other coworkers rather than have a cohesive work environment. I also feel promotion is based on popularity not on who deserves it. There should be more employees there who actually care about what they do, rather than how much they get paid, starting from upper administration to lower. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping someone regain their hope and changing lives!
Was this review helpful?Yes23No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and meaningful work experience.
Psichiatric Admissions RN (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJuly 9, 2015
Really like my work. It involves interaction with a variety of patients and family members, physicians, coworkers, insurance companies and other hospitals.
Pros
Challenging and rewarding work environment
Cons
Can be hectic and stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, to many changes in managment
Hospital Biller (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXDecember 9, 2014
billing insurance, cofrected account & refiled corectly, f/u on Medicaid & Medicare
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kingwood Hospital I enjoyed as well. We all came together and had different assignments. I loved it.
Insurane Medica lBiling and Coding (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJuly 5, 2014
A typical day at Airport express was good. It wasn't to demanding at all. Paperwork, Customer Service and selling tickets. I enjoyed what I did for the company.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
dealing with customers that were extemely rude
Was this review helpful?Yes4No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job I have ever had
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJune 26, 2014
The pay is the lowest I have every had, chronically understaffed and over worked. Someone files "safe harbor" at least once a week. They will make you do M.A.R. reconciliation on up to 38 patients in the evening, as well as give the patient's their medications, do q15 minute rounds and chart. Yes you can get overtime, but at what a price. If you value your hard earned license, it's not worth it.
The management is incompetent, all they care about is the bottom line - money, and they do anything to cut corners.
The place is filthy; they run around like crazy trying to clean up the mess prior to a JACHO inspection.
They have an orientation class monthly of about 30 new hires, but most candidates don't stay past their first or second shift.
I could write a novel, but it has all been put in other posts, which are true.
Bottom line - working here is a decision, you will regret.
Pros
overtime
Cons
to many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes33No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful to clients
Admissions Nurse (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXAugust 9, 2013
nice working atmosphere sometimes overwhelming with patient to staff ratio.
Can be dangerous environment with reduction in number of psych techs on duty.
Typical work day would be to walk in and start doing assessments on waiting patients &,telephone assessments .Once criteria was established, the admission process was started.
The hardest part of the job was maintaining a professional working relationship with the doctors who often were disrespectful to the nurses: especially if the nurses were following policies & procedures of the facility . The most enjoyable part was seeing the progress patients made at the end of a stay.
Pros
parking close to facility
Cons
often no time for complete lunch breaks & not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes24No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runs a very high patient census, which allows employees to work as many hours as they would like.
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJune 22, 2013
Work was very rewarding. I enjoyed working with the employees and assisting them in their every day challenges. I enjoyed rewarding excellence. The culture was changing with a new CEO. This was his first CEO position and there was a huge learning curve. The hardest part of the job was identifying problems and employee issues that were not addressed.
Pros
large corporation so there is room for advancement
Cons
staffing levels are unsafe
Was this review helpful?Yes20No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingwood, TXFebruary 6, 2013
My experience working at Kingwood Pines Hospital was wonderful. I enjoyed the entire staff. Especially the Pharmacy staff that I worked under. They taught me a lot and for that I am thankful.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No18
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environent with diversity of patient needs and treatment
Lead Child Therapist (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXJanuary 11, 2013
I manage the children's unit. I perform all the intake assessments for incoming children, schedule and run all family therapies, group therapies, individual therapies and case management for the children.

I have learned a great deal about working alongside insurance companies and CPS in finding children foster homes/residential treatment centers and overall outpatient follow up care.

My coworkers include other therapists managing other units in the hospital, utilization review staff, RN/LVN, mental health technicians, and clinical/medical directors.
Pros
never a dull day
Cons
way too busy, not enough time to gt things done
Was this review helpful?Yes18No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Mental Health Tech (Current Employee) –  Kingwood, TXFebruary 29, 2012
Excellent place to work. Must stay current with best practices for mental health and substance abuse disorders.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No30

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KINGWOOD PINES HOSPITAL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.3
Culture
2.9