Kirby Vacuums Employee Reviews

Found 31 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun times
Door-to-door sales (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 22, 2016
Co-workers were fun, job was fun, walking door to door was not the best, and salary was not dependable. Cold weather and rude people answering the door made it very challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no good
Direct Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 1, 2016
This was by far the WORST job I ever had the misfortune to work for. very long hours, for literally NO pay. then when you do make a sale, they still try to jip you out of what they owe you.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard job for newbies in commisions
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAFebruary 16, 2016
Trying to get into job was easy making a buck not so much. No sale no pay and I got left in a neighboring town so I will not be going back.
Pros
Lots of job security...
Cons
No sale, no pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never agian
Salesmen (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJanuary 8, 2016
get to office, get in van, go to unknown destination , work until who knows when then go home. i learned how to sell $3000 vacuums, co workers were great and pay sucked
Pros
none
Cons
no breaks bad, and never know when you are going to be done
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nope
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NENovember 9, 2015
Hated this, to sale something to gain money is one thing. But to sucker people out of their money is another. I hated this job
Pros
Pay.
Cons
EVERYTHING ELSE
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pass sales
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  indiananpolis indianaAugust 24, 2015
Great company earned alot of good cash quickly for short period of times ran by J@J Asociates showed me the beginning of my sales job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kirby was a great experience.
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MOAugust 6, 2015
WIth this company I was able to travel and meet new people everyday. The only down side was that it was straight commision, which made it very difficult in day to day life. However I learned may skill such as communication, time management, and the art of sales.
Pros
Paid vacations if qualified
Cons
Commision
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutthroat, energy draining, and strictly commission based
Canvasser (Former Employee) –  Murrieta, CAAugust 1, 2015
You walk all day knocking on doors trying to get people to let you in their house to clean for free and if they've heard of Kirby (which chances are they have) they know that the person who comes in to clean is going to try and make them buy it and doesn't take a simple no to get that they just wanted the free cleaning.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
You could work all week and not make any money. Inconsistant Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALMay 14, 2015
I think they are very professional and have a great work staff and also a very professional place to learn good communication skills and also grow professionally with the company.
Pros
long breaks
Cons
good benefit package
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy and expanding work enviroment
Trainer/Receptionist/Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Gresham, ORDecember 10, 2014
Good job if you have proficient people skills and aren't afraid to put your self out on the front lines to get what you want. Each day you start out with a warm up we get each other pumped to go out in the field and bring home the bacon. There is high volume for advancements and promotions. I worked for 3 weeks and got promoted to receptionist where i would hire and help train the new recruits.
Pros
good chance for advancments
Cons
hard work, alot of foot work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting but not my favorite
Sales Caller (Former Employee) –  Painesville, OHAugust 9, 2014
My mother was working here before I did, and she informed me of it because she knew that I am good at sales. It required no moving around and I had my own desk to make calls to potential Kirby customers. It was a fun job but ended after a major car accident in December 2006 and by the time that I healed, I was no longer needed by the company.
Pros
i had my own desk
Cons
not geeting to go out on my calls and meet customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment with a busy work week and great pay
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Liverpool, NYJuly 30, 2014
great working in a group or independent working hard everyday with great pay
Pros
pay
Cons
breathing asbestos
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Salesman (Former Employee) –  henrietta, nyJuly 5, 2014
long and boring , learned different ways on how the Kirby works, co-workers were OK , hardest part was finding a house to show , not that organized and professional , enjoyable part was meeting different people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXMay 28, 2014
All the new people and personalities i would come across made the 1h45min drive worth it. i made to much money for me to know to do with and the managers/supervisors were awesome
Pros
none: just great pay!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to meet new people
Dealer Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSMay 15, 2014
Good way to meet new people, but very un stable as far as work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace enviroment just not enough pay compensation.
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 22, 2014
Working at Kirby was a fun experience. I learned to be a salesmen and learned that the only way to make money in this company was to learn all about the product.
Pros
good lunches
Cons
not enough hours or pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Door to door sales (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJanuary 2, 2014
hard work with allot of learning about the sales feild. long days lots of face to face interaction. great co-workers
Pros
good staff
Cons
long work days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selling vacuums door-to-door
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXDecember 31, 2013
Exceeding sale goals each month. Crew lead supervising 6 to 12 people. Demonstrated product to prospective clients. Handled resolving problems if vacuums did not perform. Quoted prices, warranties and delivery dates
Pros
win trips, work when you want to
Cons
knocking on doors after dark, staying out late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT product, bad employment
Salesman (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSDecember 11, 2013
Kirby is by far the best vacuum cleaner in the world, but good luck trying to sell them door to door. Purely compensation pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for those who like the field of sales
Dealer Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 8, 2013
Going door to door to present a product that could benefit the cleanliness of homes. I learned customer service, the value of sales, and I can create opportunities through effort and dedication. The management was pretty dead on either you come in daily to become successful or don"t come in at all. Co-workers were pretty friendly I felt no criticism or critiquing from anyone. The hardest part of the job was being able to sell the product and convincing customers why this product could help you and your family.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
commission
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
2.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.4