Kirkland & Ellis LLP Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 27 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Firm
Legal Secretary (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2015
Kirkland is an amazing place to work. The benefits are fantastic and the opportunities dynamic. In addition, the people are outstanding with the teamwork being one of a kind
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive Management
Lead Data warehouse Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2015
Working for the Kirkland and Ellis was a remarkable experience. I appreciated the intelligent, competent, and committed staff.
Pros
much opportunity for job training; paid time off is appropriate to manage correctional stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Law Firm with high standards
Conference Center Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  ChicagoJune 17, 2015
A typical day at the office consists of meetings and/or conference calls to plan events. High volume of e-mail and phone calls are answered.
Kirkland has very high standards and I've learned so much about how to meet expectations for clients and attorneys. I have a great team and we all work well together at providing outstanding client service.
Pros
great benefits, great co-workers, overall generous Firm, overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 3, 2015
Dependable, professional environment, offering very good compensation and benefits. However, the firm is flat, so there is very little room for advancement, unless someone in a higher position leaves. There also doesn't seem to be much emphasis on employee development (except for the multitude of application trainings, which improve one's skills, but do not develop an employee himself). Work hours are very inflexible (9AM-5PM, and cannot be changed to, for example, 8AM-4PM). No telecommuting.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always an opportunity to learn more.
Food and Conference Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 14, 2015
I loved working at Kirkland & Ellis. I had exceptional co workers and I worked with a lot of exceptional lawyers. It was more of a family at Kirkland than a place of employment.
Pros
management could have been a little better. i know worse has been experienced.
Cons
i am grateful to have been a part of the kirkland & ellis family.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, long hours
Word Processor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 8, 2015
Support staff is compensated well
Great compensation; Great training
Very generous bonuses
Excellent group of colleagues and attorneys
Compensation for overtime and flextime.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, intense yet rewarding environment
Conference Center Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 9, 2014
If you are not afraid to work hard, multi-task, and provide above and beyond customer service, then this is the place for you to start your career. The skills you will learn are essential for any work environment. If you can make it in this workplace, you can make it in any administrative position.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive.
Project Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2014
great place to work. great management and flexible work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I ever had
Executive Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 13, 2014
No longer in business so there is nothing to say here.
Had it not gone under, I'd still be there and plan to retire from there.
Pros
best!
Cons
no longer in business
Was this review helpful?Yes1No42Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sophisticated practice
Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 27, 2014
This is a great place to learn and get the benefit of top pay in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kirkaland and ellis LLP
Office/ Purchasing Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAMarch 20, 2014
My daily routine varies greatly day by day. I am responsible for answering phones, delegating tasks, purchasing all items for the office and high levels of customer service. I create spreadsheets set up banquet rooms and mange the companies invoices. I am the first point of contact for all requests and I take great pride in the knowledge I have gained throughout my years at Kirkland. The most enjoyable part of the job is the opportunity for learning. Every minute of everyday I could be faced with a new task. Something I've never faced before.
Pros
my attorney's are awesome!
Cons
poor interdepartmental communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great high energy firm.
IP Trial Legal Secretary/Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 28, 2014
Provided strong excellent secretarial support to three share partners and one associate; recommended or made decisions and took independent action following broad objectives on strategic and operational matters affecting major function within the practice group; resolved major issues involving external client service coordination, billing adjustments or special information needs via in person or over the phone; served as Lead Trial Secretary for numerous high profiled trials; assisted practice group leader and attorneys in development of various data; provided professional, courteous and flexibility when dealing with clients on behalf of attorney; planned, scheduled and delegated for upcoming trials sites in/out of state for attorneys, clients, and expert witnesses; organized set up/break down of trial offices; negotiated contracts and pricing for hotel/conference room arrangements and vendors for litigation services; prepared trial exhibits and deposition designations; prepared witness files for deposition preparation and testimony in court; prepared and arranged for service of subpoenas; and managed and prepared depositions and testimony for hearings.
Pros
interaction with high profiled clients.
Cons
heavy travel schedule and being away from my family months at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Litigation Overview
Intellectual Property Litigation Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 22, 2014
Normal day of work would consist of multiple projects at a time, such as coordinating deposition preparation materials for associates and partners. Continuing to maintain several logs and calendars, daily and to update per the request of senior legal assistants and circulate to entire team.
Worked as part of a large team on one of the largest cases in firm history, which was very trying and difficult at times. It was important to keep up team morale and focus, in order to deal with the long, late hours.
A great deal of travel was required, which was interesting and exciting but also very difficult to maintain relationships, outside of work. The relationships that I made through the company were great ones, both professionally and personally.
Pros
free breakfast daily, at the office and at travel sites.
Cons
on-call required but compensation wasn't as much as it should have been.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow production with nice people. Great bonuses
Billing Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 6, 2013
Not enough work but the people were very nice and caring. Great quarterly bonuses
Pros
great bonuses
Cons
lack production
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
records management assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 30, 2013
customer service with other employees and clients. The most enjoyable part of the job was problem solving. A typical work day would be close monitoring of electronic and physical records.
Pros
free breakfast
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace, friendly, team oriented workplace
Practice Assistant Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2013
Highly busy, friendly law office. Opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good expierance
IT (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 31, 2013
I learned a lot, I wish there had been more room to move up. Overall, no complaints.
Pros
free coffee, free lunch, good benefits, great people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical bureaucratic law firm
Practice Assistant/Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 4, 2013
Not much else to say...cover your butt at K&E. Always ask for coverage even if you don't need it..
Pros
pay
Cons
stuffy
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Law
Litigation Department Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 25, 2013
The support staff (senior legal assistants) were timid around the attorneys; however, some Senior PAs were quick to take credit for a project not completed by them or to throw you under the bus if something is amiss. The culture seemed very cut-throat; there was no professional mingling between attorneys and support staff (support staff were afraid of the attorneys!). Otherwise, the company (no matter the circumstance) teaches you more than you think about yourself (career goals, tolerance, etc.).
Pros
excellent benefits package, overtime
Cons
overtime (schedule varied by day), training sessions
Was this review helpful?Yes20No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past enviroment
Helpdesk Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2013
Extremely fast past enviroment most of the time , with employees looking to get to the next level.
Pros
compensation perks
Cons
daily snacks provided by the firm
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 27 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

Kirkland & Ellis LLP Reviews by Location