Klein Steel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
WELDER (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 15, 2017
I enjoyed working with different types of steel. I learned to work with different types of people. Management was good. The hardest part of the job was working in the heat. The most enjoyable part of the job was not getting hurt.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Grinder Operator (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYAugust 7, 2017
Great way to get into the industry, fast paced with competitive pay and amazing benifits, they care about employees. But I wish they would give more opportunity for employees to grow and learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away unless you are ex military
CDL Class A Driver flatbed (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJune 10, 2017
Management at supervisor level was terrible. They tend to promote retired military persons which would be fine if they are qualified for jobs but often times they are not. Upper management chasing a pipe dream caused financial crisis in company and ordinary workers paid the price by being laid off.
Pros
none
Cons
bad supervision poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with great benifits
Finisher/packager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMay 5, 2017
I enjoyed working there. Great coworkers and great floor managers. There was a lot of overtime available along with great benifits. Supervisors are great wen it comes down to scheduleing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for entry level workers
Universal operator/ lead (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 15, 2016
Good job for entry level factory workers for gaining factory experience. Not much room for andvancement though. Working here will be more of a stepping stone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing and expanding company.
3rd Shift/ Kasto Tech-5 automatic Saw operator (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 27, 2016
The company is growing at a very fast rate, but its facility is unable to up with the growing work load. Equipment is old and uncalibrated. Inventory is a mess with a lot of material with the wrong color code or tag on it. It is/was such a constant fight to search and find specific for orders. One crane for 4 different departments caused numerous head-aches in regards to being able to get said material to work station for processing.The material storage area and the equipment is not kept up with like it should be for the amount of work that its ask to do, therefore forcing the operator to have to baby sit said equipment instead of being able to tend to other important duties or have to stand bye until the crane is available to be able to get material for processing orders.The guys that work there are second to none. Great culture,
Pros
Great culture, Expanding company, Increasing Work-Load.
Cons
Old/Sub-Par Equipment, Over worked Maintanance department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grinder
Grinder (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 16, 2013
I came in did my work and could get overtime if available. I gained more experience while with the company as well. My co-workers were mostly like me. Sometimes a few kids would come in but did not want to work that hard. I liked my job but a conflict in schedules brought us to an end.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Official response from Klein Steel
May 16, 2014

Thanks for the four stars! Hard working team mates are always welcome back!

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Klein Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 8 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.0

Klein Steel Reviews by Location