Kloeckner Metals Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you are starting out. do not make a career out of this company.
Overhead Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 25, 2017
it is a good place to work if you are just starting out, not much room for advancement, management doesn't care about you "you are just a number". decent pay for what it is. no pension and insurances ae okay at best.
Pros
decent pay, decent hours.
Cons
management, short breaks, no advancement, non supporting union.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Accounting (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJuly 30, 2016
Worked for this company for 25 years and planning on working there until retirement. One day they came in and said they were getting rid of my job. So after 25 years they no longer needed me They ended up hiring a much younger person. Their management was horrible. The corporate people never helped with anything IF you ever saw them You had to watch your back. A lot of back stabbing going on

Bad company to work for!!
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Horrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor direction Poor Management
Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 11, 2016
Unless you want to be a yes-person as you watch a total poor direction operation my suggestion is to stay away from this location/organization. Not friendly, poor business practices and a scattered approach. The only positive is benefits
Pros
benefits
Cons
bad work environment, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Security, Good Work Environment
Welder / Fitter (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 5, 2017
Company went out of there way to not fire people. Kept a minimum of 40 hours. Always had work to do. Worked on lots of different jobs. A constantly changing environment.
Pros
Always had work, Job security
Cons
Didn't always work in the position which you were hired for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job, not challenging
Inside Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 16, 2016
First five years was fast paces, fun & a challenge every day (learned something new daily) - last five years things changed, no growth or advancement, bored - would make suggestions, not open for change. I enjoy working as a team with a great attitudes and positive company moral.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Company moral
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kloeckner Metals
Production Specialist/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 31, 2016
Excellent Management, wonderful advancement opportunities. Competitive pay, and great coworkers.Great strong company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge Corporation
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 16, 2016
confusing steel pricing up and down due to the economy
steel, construction, building prints, nesting, saw cutting and plate processing
ok
great personalities, easy to work with. Love each other, there for each other
having to work too many hrs o/t (worked at least 50 hrs a week)
working with customers & being there for whatever they needed, if material, info, anything
Pros
learn something new everyday great benefits
Cons
economy affected steel pricing
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Centered
customer support (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 15, 2015
Fun place to work for. Delightful group, high energy and fast paced environment. Management is highly helpful with growth and development. Co-workers are friendly and extremely helpful.

The hardest part of the job is ensuring you take your breaks. You can get caught up with work.
Pros
Flexible with time
Cons
raises and healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best work experience i've ever had
Slitter Operator (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJanuary 24, 2017
I absolutely loved my position at Kloeckner Metals. If work and contracts pick up i'd be more than willing to work for this company in the future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security, even for temps
Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Huger, SCSeptember 7, 2016
Only worked position for about 40 days and was unfairly let go, due to the company making a change in its operations. Was gone at my weekend drill for the Marine Corps when I found out that I had no job anymore. No notice, no heads up from my supervisor, nothing. Bad company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport

Want to know more about Kloeckner Metals?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Factory Worker (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNAugust 16, 2016
The management is immensely understanding and reasonable. The company has a great work environment although it has no air conditioning in the factory.
Pros
Great time
Cons
Tiring work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictive but very much knowledge and discipline to gain within.
Machine Operator/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 13, 2015
Every day was an opportunity to learn something new if willing. Many areas of work that have the same contribution to the job. Expectations were high. Safety was lectured daily for the job could be dangerous without the right approach. Benefits and pay were pleasing. Knowing co workers on an outside personal level created conflict of interest. But loved the knowledge and experience I gained.
Pros
Benefits, pay
Cons
Nothing just working with immediate family can be the wrong fit.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a nice place to work not a lot of people on the shift I worked which made it nice
overhead crane operator / order puller (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LASeptember 9, 2015
It is a great company to work for great benefits and pay but I had to relocate to Texas my family wanted to move on so we pack and I were hoping to transfer but there is no open right
Pros
good pay
Cons
to many hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes13No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and great place to work.
Territory Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2016
Called on current and existing clients to increase sales for steel pipe in the Southwestern United States. Allowed me to interact with various people within the steel industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere
Quality/Safety Manager (Current Employee) –  Oakland, CASeptember 12, 2012
Very computer and paper work oriented.
Go to warehouse for safety checks and to look at incoming and out going material for quality standards.
Pros
great atmosphere to work in
Cons
sometimes have to work long hours for no compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes13No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized work place
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Amarillo, TXMay 26, 2016
I would not ever work with company. no management, no control over workers or safety,dirty work environment . the general manager is only cares for sales people
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers made the job.
Sales Assistant/ Receptionist/ Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INAugust 2, 2013
The branch I worked in was run poorly. I enjoyed some of my co-workers, and most of the customers that I interacted with.
Pros
Good Health benefits
Cons
Lack of order within the managment causing confusion.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable company...
Traffic Manager (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCMarch 6, 2013
Kloeckner Metals, formerly Macsteel USA, was purchased by the German company Klockner and has seen a serious down-turn after the EU economy crashed.
Pros
bonu pay-outs
Cons
long work hours for salaried employess without any compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
HR Administrative Assistant/Coordinator/Reception (Current Employee) –  Los AngelesAugust 4, 2014
Great company to work for. Many great benefits for employees. Lots of great, interesting projects to be part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworks
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  New Castle, DEMarch 9, 2016
Great company to work for. The pay is great and management will help any way they can. The only con for this is it's a steel company and as most know in the field its a dead industry.
Pros
Good pay, Good people, and great times
Cons
Shutting down
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kloeckner Metals. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
3.0