Find companies:
Kmart
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,992 reviews

Kmart Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where I learned customer relations
Cashier (Former Employee), California, MDAugust 31, 2014
A typical day at work would be stocking shelves, assisting customers, and running the register. I learned how to appropriately handle a disgruntled customer, and organization skills. My management was very friendly yet expected a lot in order to maintain a high standard that all Sears Holding Companies hold. My co-workers were my mentors as well as – more... the managers and helped me with day to day assignments. The hardest part of the job was the customers who would come in already angry at the store and want to exact their frustrations on the employees. The most enjoyable part was getting to be part of a team and see a finished assignment such as an assembled display, or newly stocked shelves at the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
yeah
CafĂ© Associate (Former Employee), Saint Clairsville, OHAugust 31, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human Resource Manager/Support Manager
Human Resource Manager (Current Employee), Madisonville, KentuckyAugust 31, 2014
Human Resource Manager every day functions:
Hiring
Training
Payroll
Support Manager/Opening and Closing the Store
Unemployment Claims
Customer Service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job to have while in high school
casher, jewerly department (Former Employee), aiken , scAugust 31, 2014
Pros: great hours
Cons: sometimes worked every weekend
I enjoyed my friends and coworkers.I learned new things everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Cashier/Stock (Current Employee), Bronx, NYAugust 30, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: n/a
I truly enoy working at kmart. At kmart it allow me to enhance my skills that I've already acquired. Most of all i enjoyed working with customers because I like to help ppl also a person who cares about their customers such as asking them what can I help them with, or you can find this item in such and such aisle, or in case you can't find what your – more... looking for I'll be more than happy to find another store that have your item and be able to provide you the address etc. The hardest part of the job is making sure your reward score is 75.0% But I made it my goal to make it over 75.0% – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work
Team Member (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLAugust 30, 2014
Pros: co workers
Cons: shopyourwayrewards
Come to work, run the registers, help on the floor or backroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big box store operation
Salesman (Former Employee), Saint George, UTAugust 29, 2014
Be ready to be on your feet for the day. The managers are great. It can be different working here due to changing departments on a regular basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taking care of pationts
Cashier, layaway associate (Former Employee), Greenbelt, MDAugust 29, 2014
well I like what I do because im always healping someone and making them feel better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ideal for college or high school students
Customer Service Manager (Current Employee), Florence, SCAugust 29, 2014
Pros: good environment, flexibel hours
Cons: need pay increase
need more room for advancement
flexible hours
need pay increase
chance to utilize customer service skills
friendly people
good environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, awful pay
Stocker (Former Employee), Jackson, MIAugust 29, 2014
From working here, I understand that the job itself is simple. Most of the time, I could be found walking around the main isles with nothing to do, trying to find customers who needed help. Despite the jobs simplicity, getting paid minimum wage, not being allowed to work more than 25 hours a week, and having no chance of advancement or pay increase – more... unless you were bumped to manager, made this the worst job I'd ever worked at. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day
Cashier (Current Employee), Donelson, TNAugust 28, 2014
Cons: short breaks not enough pay no benefits
a typical work day is providing fast friendly service for customers making sure they leave with a smile which is the highlight of my day. I have learned to resolve problems with no complications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just Your Average Ordinary Everyday Retail Job
ELECTRONICS ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Warren, OHAugust 28, 2014
Kmart is a retail store, through and through. The hours are extremely flexible and the workload is not particularly stressful, but these minor benefits are offset by low pay and job insecurity.

Your job is less important than customer satisfaction, and everyone from the manager to the customer knows it. It is not uncommon for an employee to get reprimanded – more... just to calm an angry customer. It doesn't mean much, but it gets annoying. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs help
Softlines associate (Former Employee), Garden City, MIAugust 28, 2014
Pros: co-workers were friendly
Cons: co-workers were not working to their fullest ability
A typical day at work would consist of sorting and organizing clothing. Co-workers would often not finish their jobs before leaving work therefor leaving their work for other employees to finish. While working at Kmart i learned how to work on a cash register and also how to properly stock and organize clothing. In my short time working at Kmart i had – more... two different managers. While my first manager did not seem to have a grip on the store , the second manager stepped in and handled the store a lot better. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressive
Cashier (Current Employee), Monroe, MIAugust 28, 2014
Pros: i'm getting paid, and have some awesome coworkers.
Cons: too hot, not very good management, poor scheduling.
A typical day is long, hot, and boring. i learned a lot about the old systems we operate on. There is a lack of communication among management. My co-workers are very personable and fun to work with. Hardest part of the job is dealing with irate customers, when something is marked wrong, and I can't do anything about it. The most enjoyable part of my – more... job, is the end of the day. Very boring job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Electronics Sales Associate (Former Employee), Farmington, NMAugust 28, 2014
Great place to work. Great coworkers and you always have something to do than stand around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always kept me busy
Customer Service (Current Employee), North Versailles, PAAugust 27, 2014
I worked extremely hard for this company; I was a very important part of this company and gave my all until the very last day of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable team
Cashier/Layaway (Former Employee), Middleburg, OHAugust 27, 2014
Pros: friendley work enviornment
I worked in layaway as well as a cashier. I learned to work at a fast pace. Management was always helpful and nice as well as co-workers. Hardest part of the job, running up and down the stairs in layaway, easiest was cashiering. Most enjoyable, customer service, hardest was lifting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big comphe are looking for people to work for them
Cashier, Service Desk (Former Employee), Livonia, MIAugust 27, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks should be on your time
Cons: everybody should have a short break
Going to work and getting the your job done, and being there for the company, I'm a kind of person that like to learn different things and sometimes dealing with management can be a job. Sometimes your co-workers can be a friend or someone who just don't care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Cashier/Pharmaceutical Assistant (Former Employee), Henderson, KYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: great first job
Cons: only part time
cashier
pharmacy/tech
part time
had fun
enjoyed working as a cashier
but hard on the feet standing all day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Rockford, ILAugust 27, 2014
Pros: half off lunch
Cons: short breaks
it was a great place to work. good customer service clean and lay back.

1 2 3 4 5

About Kmart

Kmart, a wholly owned subsidiary of Sears Holdings Corporation (NASDAQ:SHLD), is a mass merchandising company that offers customers – Read more