Knife River Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 43 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, ORJanuary 28, 2016
This was a great place to work at. it kept you motivated and the pay was great. i leanred great trade skills here that will follow me for the rest of my life. management was always on top of things but in a good way. my co-workers were great people to be around and would help me all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee) –  Jasper, TXJune 20, 2016
did not care about employees
racist comments
bad management
driving and working with the customers was very enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Worked in Nebraska and IowaAugust 18, 2015
This is a good place to work,Great boss, good hours and loved getting the Overtime.I put in some long hours and enjoyed it.
Pros
40 hours a week plus lots of overtime good pay
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Casper, WYOctober 21, 2014
My greatest accomplishment at Knife River was learning to use J D Edwards. Downloading spreadsheets to Crystals and BI. Given all the experience I have, do not see any opportunities for advancement.
Pros
distance from home.
Cons
no paid vacation or holidays and know i am worth more than the salary i am getting.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Cement Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 26, 2015
Love this company. They treat their people well. I never had any issues working for them. The company is well managed and well run.
Pros
good overtime in peak season
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company, many divisions
Back up batch plant operator (Current Employee) –  Williston, NDSeptember 22, 2015
Good place to work..Good group of people to work with daily. Good rate of pay and good benefit package. Good amount of hours available weekly.
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Intern / Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Corvallis, ORJanuary 25, 2013
I got hired as a summer intern. I worked a few hours every night. Everyone was very helpful and welcoming. Within a few months I was offered a full time job in the QC lab. The managers at this job were by far better than any I have encountered since. Very helpful and understanding.
Pros
great health care, good benefits, overtime
Cons
work a lot in the summertime.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and staff.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXAugust 31, 2012
This company was Young Construction when I worked for them. They were bought out by Knife River and changed names after I stopped working there.
Pros
yearly christmas party. lots of hours available to work.
Cons
at the time there wasn't any health benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of their work was in the area.
Concrete finisher, CDL driver (Former Employee) –  Belgrade MontanaDecember 8, 2012
CDL driver and concrete finisher. They had plenty of workers to complete jobs. The crew members worked good together.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
work slowed way down in the winter.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers
Truck Driver / Safety Trainer (Current Employee) –  Bryan TX.October 20, 2013
truck driver now, but in school for occupational safety. Given a chance to work part time in safety doing training and risk assessment.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
construction can be slow at times
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lead from the front and not behind a desk
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXNovember 19, 2013
Identify the strenths and weakness of employees. Making sure the employee has the tools and knowledge to his or her job.
Pros
good benifits
Cons
not wanting to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
ASPHALT PLANT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Sioux City, IAJune 29, 2015
Learned to operate an Asphalt Plant and to operate large equipment. Management was great to work for and were caring of your personal needs.
Pros
Day time hours
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a ready mix driver
Ready Mix Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDAugust 14, 2015
I drove a ready mix truck for them and if there was anything else they needed to be done and deliveries to be made I was willing to help out
Pros
i love driving
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
did not have to worry about not getting 40 hours
Scale Clerk/ Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 13, 2015
One of the best places to work, jeans and t-shirt...where can you go wrong with that. The manager I had is no longer there, but he was one of the best and honest down to earth that you could ever wish for.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe working conditions and good to the eployees.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJune 22, 2015
Operated a variety of heavy equipment and they also provide schooling for all machines. Learned how to maintain material spec buy changing screen sizes, and places throughout the screen decks. Our supervisor was very easy to work for and made it a relaxed work place.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good expeirence
Head pipe Layer, Pipe layer (Former Employee) –  Bend, oreJuly 15, 2015
I got to play with giant Tonka toys and play in the dirt. Just keep your hands and feet inside the confines of safety. This was a good place to work and was disappointed on having to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get the Job Done
Laborer/Flagger (Current Employee) –  Sauk Rapids, MNSeptember 14, 2012
From the bottom looking up it seems like this company really only has one outlook, get the job done. That may be a function of the business/field. I haven't seen other companies and have only worked for this one a short time. As with any company most of the people are friendly. Everybody gets a little on edge when working long hours though.
Pros
long hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes7No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for this company
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Post Falls, IDApril 4, 2015
Knife River was an excellent company to work for. I learned many aspects of excavation and was able to operate several pieces of heavy equipment. There were many opportunities for premium wage work which was a great benefit to the finances. I would enjoy working with any company that treats its employees like Knife River does.
Pros
lots of wage work.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Back stabbing
Operator (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDAHOMarch 2, 2014
Move up if you are in right group. Work hard and not get advancement.
Cons
work long hours, if you get hurt cover it up to hold safety record
Was this review helpful?Yes23No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A grat place to work alway learn safty priority #1
mechanics helper (Former Employee) –  ORSeptember 13, 2012
Alot of changes every day alot of trust between co workers on tools,very experienced lead mchanics ,avery proud place to work.Iwas able to lean new things everyday.but they had to lay abunch of us off do to the economy in 2008. You could see the managements facial expresion when they let us go they were heartbroken because they had no choice.
Pros
barbecue lunches for our safty meetings
Cons
sometimes working in pouring rain or freezing cold
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 43 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
3.7