Knife River Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 8, 2017
I'm not sure what to tell you are any one else it's something new but wish I never took the time out my day to bother with but in the end I learned some things
Pros
Nope
Cons
They call them quick stops
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
consumes your life
Fleet manager (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYMay 8, 2017
good place to work but you must be willing to work 7 days a week and always on the phone .
I was a truck boss and I was out of my field but it was a decent place to work
Pros
good pay benefits
Cons
never any free time
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employees to work with
Shop Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Casper, WYApril 21, 2017
Worked here for over year was laid off in December. No work in winter until we started winter maintenance on equipment . Good benefits and good employees.
Pros
Company pays all benefits
Cons
Possible layoff in winter
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very great company to work for.
Pipe Layer (Former Employee) –  North DakotaApril 6, 2017
Great company to work for. I've worked here for 6 yrs. Had a great work experience. Very safe place to work.this company is safety first. Reasonable hours to work. Great benefits.
Pros
Lunch break. Good pay. Good hours. Safe and structured.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Concrete company
Cement Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 9, 2017
I like that they pay into 401 K. Safe and reliable transportation. I enjoy hauling concrete. Collect monetary payment if they are paying in cash. The job was a good enviroment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun company to work for
Mixer Driver (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAFebruary 28, 2017
this company has lots of customers they deliver to poeple there are friendly has good benefits and 401k the company also has decent pay and good vacation time with pto time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment with rewards
Maintenance Manager (Current Employee) –  Williston, NDFebruary 4, 2017
Most days are a fast pace day with high demands.
Some of the things I learned from this company is to be respectful and communication is key. Sense of ergancy for daily and weekly repairs keep a operation moving forward. Culture is huge when it comes to SAFETY. The hardest part of the job is the ability to be in two places at the same time. The most enjoyable thing is to see others smile when the job is done.
Pros
Company vehicle
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Male dominated
Water Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 25, 2017
My manager did not want a female truck driver, I don' t think this was held by all the Managers just this one. Although I seemed to be tested more than the men. Kind of like they could not believe that a woman had the right stuff.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading Information
Former Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 23, 2017
I was told I would get lighter chutes since I notified the boss the chutes on the truck I was driving was to heavy for me. I also applied for a different position which would allow me to drive something else instead of a mixer truck. Well I was let go for no reason!!
Pros
Good starting pay
Cons
No opportunity to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work environment without job security
Concrete Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Belgrade, MTJanuary 13, 2017
More often than not, the work hours were under 40 and for a family that is not near enough. They offer very limited benefits and the hourly rate is low.
Pros
The employees
Cons
Pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Housing/ Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Williston, NDJanuary 13, 2017
It was a good job and a learned skills I didn't have before. I was promised a full time position and was laid off due to market changes. Did not leave the best taste in my mouth. Some office staff was incredibly difficult to work with.
Pros
Was an ok place to be at
Cons
Poor working community. No teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work
LOADER OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  North DakotaDecember 5, 2016
Fast-paced environment with always something to do! I feed asphalt plant at 470tph to 600tph. I also manage stockpiles and line out trucks.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management appreciates employees
Quality Control Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, ORNovember 28, 2016
Being a must-state company with millions of dollars of work for each division, management keeps employees in the forefront of thought processes. Plenty of perks.
Pros
Free Turkeys at Thanksgiving and Christmas--also gift cards
Cons
May be massive overtime at certain times of the year
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loarder operator/ grounds men
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  OregonNovember 16, 2016
While working for knife river I was treated great and the management is amazing, I worked there for 2 years everything I had a problem with while working there got fixed
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDOctober 3, 2016
Very poor management, lot of favoritism played, no confidentiality to talk to HR or a manager if you have a problem with anything. Hired upper level staff with no experience and expected lower level to do both jobs for unequal pay
Pros
steady paycheck
Cons
no breaks, poor management, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not Givin the chance to advance in my job the time I was employed.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYOctober 3, 2016
Great Company to work for people who work there are amazing to work with....company stays busy and does a great job in every aspect of the job when expected
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Boise, ID 83709September 15, 2016
Managers need to join the 21st century. If you don't hook up with the "good old boy "group you become a outcast. Managers and operators verbally abusive. Threats of physical confrontations over company and CB radio a daily ocurance. Oh and what ever you do don't get injured.
Pros
Free t shirt
Cons
Lack of professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee) –  Jasper, TXJune 20, 2016
did not care about employees
racist comments
bad management
driving and working with the customers was very enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, ORJanuary 28, 2016
This was a great place to work at. it kept you motivated and the pay was great. i leanred great trade skills here that will follow me for the rest of my life. management was always on top of things but in a good way. my co-workers were great people to be around and would help me all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Cement Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORDecember 26, 2015
Love this company. They treat their people well. I never had any issues working for them. The company is well managed and well run.
Pros
good overtime in peak season
Was this review helpful?Yes17No7Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Knife River. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

72%
18 ratings
Add your rating