Knight Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 293 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company does not respect their drivers 34hour rest period or hometime request.
Commercial Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, KSFebruary 17, 2017
Hometime
34 hour restarts

Knights Driver Managers are not knowledgeable in the trucking industry. They do not make sure to get the best for their drivers.
Pros
Paid daily or weekly
Cons
Drivers need to be home on time. Family life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and recruiting
Applicant (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXFebruary 13, 2017
Had very bad experience with knight going through hiring process. Recruiters did not do their job to standard and made applicant do all the work, after applicant sent all information in , recruiter invited you to orientation where you sit for six or more days waiting on a driver code, then at last minute safety who has nothing with human resources blocks applicants from processing, stating that the applicant is an liable asset to company because of comments made by someone they don't know and don't ask about. You receive all information, gas employment card and paperwork, then they run you around recruiter and not escalate problem immediately, so your stuck without work and when you went through all that process make excuses, and then terminate you from terminal without recourse or reason. Do not apply to this company ever, they are not a family like they state.
Pros
None
Cons
Just like others like swift, csrt, cr england
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLFebruary 13, 2017
They put employees first. You gotta be kidding me I don't have a hundred and fifty thing characters to say about somebody just finish this process this is ridiculous
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, work is like family
Over the road Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Portland, ORFebruary 12, 2017
Decent trucking company to work for. Balancing work/life is difficult if you have family, but Knight is good at getting you home when you need.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 12, 2017
Enjoyed working here just got tired of otr so i kept asking for a dedicated route with this company and kept getting a run around
Pros
Good company
Cons
Did not give me a job i asked for
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great communication
Semi truck Driver (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXFebruary 11, 2017
It's rare to find a trucking company with dispatchers that put the driver first, but the El Paso branch of Knight did just this. Loads were fair, pay was fantastic, and downtime felt like downtime, not just a pause in driving.
Pros
Great miles and fantastic dispatchers
Cons
Getting home on time for home time was tricky
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't care about family work life. But preach it.
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 9, 2017
This company sucks don't work for this companyjust don't apply and go there direction. They don't care about the person, just the bottom line their profits
Pros
None
Cons
Don't work for them
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's just trucking
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Former OTR DriverJanuary 30, 2017
There are pros and cons to every job. This ain't no different. Dot your i's and cross your T's there. Take that with a grain of salt. The experience is what you make of it.
Pros
Flexible home time. Good dispatchers
Cons
Late planning by planners.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 30, 2017
you get to see the country up close ...truck where in good working cond.pay was good just got tired being on the road all the time not seeing my grand daughter grow up....
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you will be mad on pay day
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNJanuary 27, 2017
driver mangers don't know whats going on. you will get shored on pay every week. multiple 34 hr breaks waiting on loads. a fat rude safety lady calling you every day talking about stupid stuff. I call all the time asking for good loads all I wont is to go 2000 miles a week but its never happened here. had a doctors appotment never made it 2 times now. I will be moving on in the spring.
Pros
lots of 34hr breaks away from home in truck
Cons
cheating your pay, low miles, retarted driver mangers
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start your OTR exsperience
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 25, 2017
Great company to work for. always willing to help out. as an individual you have to understand that this is a business and if business aint there then funds aren't there. have to have an open mind about the trucking world. nothing worng with the company.
Pros
paid travel. see the country
Cons
no steady pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away!
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 24, 2017
If you have no clue on where or what carrier to go then join knight. They will rush you across the country and you don't feel welcomed when you are from another terminal across the country. An de trainers could be better than a bunch of old grumpy 60 plus yr old trainers.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ol Boy Network
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 19, 2017
No day was the same, I learned that if you catch on the how the money works, its not long after that, they just picking on you wanting you to quit by giving you bad runs.
Pros
Miles were good
Cons
Dealing with the people in the Lebanon TN office
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for.
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJanuary 14, 2017
This company treats you with respect and knows who you are. They have great communication skills but poor miles. They do try to help in every way they can but sometimes it gets to be to much and they pull in other helpers who have no idea what is happening.
Pros
good communication. good pay if you get miles
Cons
poor miles. terminals are always dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Olive Branch, MSJanuary 12, 2017
The team of people at the Olive Branch, MS terminal are just wonderful. The overall company is great for OTR truck drivers. Good pay & benefits. Highly recommend to all interested in trucking, mechanics, or dispatching.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Not much home time for drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 8, 2017
I started out with Knight I learned plenty things with this company. My dispatch we understood each other and he kept me rolling. I was always pre plan for another load. I only left because I found a good paying local job.
Pros
Good trainers ......pay alright
Cons
More home time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start in Trucking Management
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 3, 2017
Long hours, lots of reports, and no freedom on weekends. But you will learn "how to truck" down to the exact penny as they are a cost control carrier.
Pros
Decent starting salary
Cons
Promotions usually limited to the ones who talk about their accomplishments the most.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can do better
Driver (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNDecember 30, 2016
I've been working for the company for 6 months, and so far the communication sucks big time!!! I went to pick up a load only to find out that it wasn't a load to pick up.. supervisor knows nothing so he's useless... I have all my endorsement and 5 years experience but that means nothing... Communication is KEY but it is something that the company suffers from greatly
Pros
None
Cons
Communication and everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not come here
CDL Class A Driver (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLDecember 30, 2016
This is a terrible company. Run as fast as you can.
This company can not get you home on time.
Miles are terrible. 500 mile trip only paid for 400 because of there "practical" miles. Dm's will lie about anything and everything. Shops are terrible here takes a day or two to get one tire. Never get your detention pay. Hardly get lay over pay. Terminals are disgusting I am at the atlant terminal now and there is literally a pile of human feces in the middle of the bathroom for two days now yeah I've been this literal hole this long waiting to get to Florida. Also you can never find an empty with this company. Just a huge joke of a company go to company with dedicated for your first year and then get a local job.
Pros
None
Cons
Dms, management, pay, shops, equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was good its the people there that aint about sh@**
Driver (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXDecember 27, 2016
bad people good job great pay just the people there was no good no understanding and they pass the buck down alot alot and blame the make man in charge and they give you the run around when it comes to business
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad people with nom understandind
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Knight Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 295 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.6
Culture
2.9