Find companies:
KNIGHT TRANSPORTATION
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

KNIGHT TRANSPORTATION Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knight review
Centralized Account Manager (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZJune 13, 2014
• Managing four National Accounts, Growing Revenue, and providing outstanding customer service.
• Developing strong relationships with existing customers.
• Growing accounts and developing customer relationships with inside transportation sales & marketing development strategies.
• Selling, booking and tracking freight to the final destination.
• Pulling – more... loads from EDI and pulling loads that are available on broadcast to fill capacity needs.
• Scheduling: (Pickups and Deliveries) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 9, 2014
Driving over the road transporting goods in a tractor trailer. Working 14 hour days, driving 11. Office people were nice not so much the drivers, they were very rude and short, everything is always late and due yesterday. The training here was not good at all. I did love the traveling and driving part. You are gone 3 to 4 weeks at a time which can be – more... hard. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could possibly be the worst company I've worked for...
MIS Help Desk Technician (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 29, 2014
Pros: never had an issue with my pay checks.
Cons: 50+ hour work week and no raises.
Promises were made during my interview process by upper management that were never fulfilled. No one in the company worked less than a 50 hour work week. Company policy is not to give employee reviews or raises (EVER). Knight a mormon company, which is great if you're mormon, horrible if you're not. Expect exactly no training from the company. The employee – more... turnover at this company is the worst I've seen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To become a valuable member of your company and team.
Service Writer (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 10, 2014
Great mechanics always willing to do the right thing. Safe work environment and policies are in place and working effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Produtive
Driver (Former Employee), Carlisle, PAApril 24, 2014
Pros: new truck
Cons: short weekend breaks
Picked up loads throughout the northeast and delivered them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting and challenging work environment.
Lease Owner/Operator (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 21, 2014
The daily grind is everything but ordinary. Although the basics of driving a truck don't change, road conditions, traffic patterns and the people one comes in contact do. Shipping and receiving clerks are unique and must be treated as individuals each with their own idiosyncrasies. Customer service is not merely a requirement, but an imperative.

Attempting – more... to grow a business is always a challenging task and requires the assistance of the support staff in operations. From the Driver Manager to the Division Manager, it takes team work to be successful in any endeavor, and communication is key above all else . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all, a good company
OTR Company Driver (Former Employee), Portland, ORApril 18, 2014
Pros: home on the week-ends.
Cons: management changed in the terminal. wouldn't transfer me to another terminal.
Average work day.
Developed more confidence as a driver.
Management was good until the last year of my employment.
Sometimes had to wait quite a bit for a load.
Met a lot of good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a dull moment
Class A heavy commercial vehicle operator (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 16, 2014
Pros: emphasis on freight moving
Cons: hometime an impossibility
I wasn't too enthusiastic working here. at time it became difficult relaying simple tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TERRIBLE MANAGEMENT AND PAYROLL PROCESS
COMPANY DRIVER (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 27, 2014
MANAGEMENT PUTS YOU OFF, THEY HAVE NO MOTIVATION OR PROBLEM SOLVING SKILLS. IT TAKES WEEKS TO GET PAID
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers flexible work/family balance options. Good overall experience.
West Regional 53 foot Dry Van Truck Driver (Former Employee), North Las Vegas, NVMarch 20, 2014
Pros: flexible work/family balance options, bad weather awareness
Cons: truck equipment and tools accountability and scheduled maintenance could use some improvements.
-Driving west region, long distances.
-Company policies. Vehicle scheduled maintenance. New routes, new costumers. Changing DOT rules. Basic HAZMAT.
-Truck rotation management.
-Hardest part of job can be driving in bad weather particularly in mountainous areas.
-Driving to different parts of the country. Performing service to a wide variety of costumers. – more... Diversity, different costumers have different on-site rules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Knight
Manager (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 18, 2014
Pros: life balance, job security (for some), advancement (for some), good owners
Cons: just like in any other job, there can also be a little bit of a power play.
The owners, Knight brothers are good people. An ok company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding work schedule, but entreprenurial spirit is encouraged.
Service Center Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKMarch 17, 2014
Pros: room for advancement
Cons: high stress/heavy workload.
Great people overall made the work load more tolerable. A lot is demanded of employs, and it is a very big time commitment, but they do give you skills/tools to succeed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stay away from this garbage
driver (Former Employee), lakeland flMarch 13, 2014
these are only good to rip off drivers no miles no hometime just a waste of time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard life on the road
Truck Driver/ Trainer (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 13, 2014
Pros: see the country.
Cons: 2 to 3 days layovers, missing the family and holidays
Pick up and deliver freight across country.Can be very stressfull job dealing with traffic situations.Tough part was being out on the road 4 to 6 weeks at a time.Starting my second year I became a trainer for new drivers out of the school.My job was to train them on DOT laws, Logs,trip planning and how to live on the road.Evaluate their skills & performance – more... while living in the truck with them for 4 to 5 weeks to make sure they were going to be safe on the highway as well as the public. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
National carrier with a hometown feel
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 8, 2014
Pros: on-site shop
Cons: hometime
Real family atmosphere where you can be a name and not just a number even at a company with 2,000 trucks. Great management team and co-workers. Hardest part about this job was leaving when my route was eliminated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
Company Driver (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 6, 2014
I had a bad experience with this company. I got a bad intestional infection and was admitted to the hospital for 9 days while working for this company. When I was released from the hopsital I was supposed to go home and start a strong antibiotic. This company refused to send me home until I deliverd loads they needed delivered. I quit this company and – more... several months later was fired from another company because Knight put on my DAQ report that they had fired me because they found alcohol in my truck. This was completely false and was added to my DAQ report months after I had quit and found new employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for growth
Driver Manager (Current Employee), Green Bay, WIMarch 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch friday
Cons: work weekends
we have offices all ove rthe country. If you want to move, you could keep your job and work wherever you move to! Knight works well with employees who are dedicated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company.
Regional Class A Driver (Former Employee), Kent, WAMarch 1, 2014
Top down dictatorial management with no room for driver to think or make even slightest suggestions. Couldn't even get warranty truck repairs done, had to go thru Portland shop. No miles, 4 days orientation for only $50 and a clause you have to sign stating if you quit less than 90 days after hire they keep $200 of your last check!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company Scott an company are very helpfull at all times
comodities relocater (otr driver) (Former Employee), COFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: pay always there maintanence always on it
Cons: your away from home at least two weeks
LIked workig at night they would always get you home when you put in time for it or they would keep you out nothing ever the pay was always there lots of times truck was always serviced and repairs where always made would go back to work for em if they will let me in the next month or so can't complain about night some drivers need to get a grip but – more... other then that they took car of me and i took care of the truck and returned it when i left they do drug test but then thats a given (must) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
suckks no good company
dedicated (Former Employee), long beachFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: sucks
Cons: all
sucksssss all no good company to work wasted time cheap pay wasted time 4 months suckss

1 2 3 4 5

About KNIGHT TRANSPORTATION

About Knight Transportation: Knight is one of the largest and most diverse truckload carriers in the United States. Founded – Read more

KNIGHT TRANSPORTATION Photos