Find companies:
Knowledge Universe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Knowledge Universe Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for KU.
Director (Current Employee), Centerville, OhioOctober 5, 2014
I love being a part of the KU team. I have grown into a very skilled and productive manager and leader. I know how to run my business in a way that allows me to make my plan and keep my parents and staff happy. The hardest part of my job is balancing my home life and my work life. My children are growing up and I am missing it. I find myself so invested – more... in my job that I do not spend enough time with my family. I do not mind working long hours; my only problem is that I cannot do my job at home after my kids are in bed. If I could I would not leave because I believe in the values of the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent Management
Regional Procurement Senior Client Liaison (Current Employee), Portland, OrSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: flexibility
Cons: benefits
This corporation has a revolving door of management
Does not promote within
Pays below average for salaries
Does not promote work life balance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth the stress
Lead teacher (Former Employee), WisconsinSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: 1/2 price childcare
Cons: everything else
I worked here for four months and in that time frame 10 people left with three additional people leaving after my exit. It was a horrible place to work because there was a lot of favoritism, inconsistency, and cliques that formed. In addition, the district manager was rude and did not exhibit the things she would ask employees to do to perform customer – more... service.

The center was so unorganized that children were always moved around and parents didn't always know where they could find them. While I was there I witnessed several children getting abused by other kids but parents would never find out unless they left a mark. One child was left alone inside and forgotten by a teacher and the teacher was only talked to. Often times teachers never really told the truth about children's bad behavior because the directors told them not to, knowing that then they would have to talk to those parents when they would go to the directors to complain.

The hours were ridiculous. I was working 55 hour weeks as a full time employee and then when the part time teachers came back from school they got 30-40 hours a week while I got 20 plus got sent home after being there 2 hours because they were over staffed.

Don't bother working here. There is a common thread of poor treatment of employees, inconsistency, unpredictable hours, and low pay that connects all kindercare facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with children. horrible management
teacher (Former Employee), oklaAugust 20, 2014
Pros: a great group of teachers
Cons: poorly managed
This place is an awful place to work for. The company is all about money & numbers. The children are moved from room to room, and they still want the teachers to complete curriculum. The constant moving of children is the cause of much stress for the teachers and children. The director was horrible on up to the district manager. In a year I was employeed – more... for KU we had a total of 4 directors, and more DHS calls then you would probably even care to count. I would not recommend anyone to work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is in constant change for the development of young children. However, too much change could result in children feeling insecure.
Teacher (Former Employee), Township of Symmes, OHAugust 19, 2014
Pros: the children were excited about learning different experiences.
Cons: not enough inclusion of ethnics from various backgrounds.
Typically, I would start my day by greeting children and family as they arrived on the playground. Children would engage with peers and teachers during play discovering and exploring life experiences in the early childhood environment. Breakfast would be served then group/instructional time and free play will transpire shortly after, followed by lunch – more... and naps. During nap time, teachers would prepare or change the curriculum to meet the individual needs of their students. Once nap was over, children would eat a snack, have free play and group time and finally return to the playground, weather permitting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice comfortable working environment
Night Auditor (Current Employee), Franklin, TNAugust 16, 2014
Great company. One of the leaders in the Childcare Industry. In enjoyed engaging families and staff however advancement opportunites for management were almost non existent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor treatment of children
Teacher (Former Employee), Westminster COAugust 13, 2014
Pros: nice play yard
Cons: treat children and staff poorly, very low pay
I worked for this organization and found that their mission was to have the least number of staff available at a time regardless of the impact on children, in order to make a profit. Their ads for managers state willing to implement rigorous cost cutting at all times. They have what they call "floater" children who are bounced back and forth from room – more... to room throughout the day based on number in attendance. These children are upset and distraught and feel at loose ends. Knowledge Universe does not care at all for the impact on children, only the bottom line of having to pay the least number of staff possible at a time. So working for them means you will often be told you are no longer needed for the rest of the day, right in the middle of your work day. Management is under great pressure to do these cost cutting procedures. Staff are on edge, children are on edge and so is management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kindercare in Boynton Beach Fl
Teacher (Current Employee), Boynton Beach, FLAugust 13, 2014
Pros: discounted child care for workers. healthcare is good. retirement is good.
Cons: to many changes every month.
Teachers are geat. The kids are amazing and the parents understanding.

Management Is horrible. No origination of any kind. Wants the teachers to work off the clock to get their class room in order. The center Director is never there and when she is it is so MUCH worst. This center is in MUCH over due need of a new Director. One that true cares for – more... the children and the teachers. If you treat your staff bad and lie to the parents you need to go. Tells teachers NOT to take their jobs so Serious.

Love working with other teachers. We all help each other out the best we can. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great program
Toddler Teacher (Current Employee), Burbank, CAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: fun staff
Cons: long hours
well ran program fun staff children seem to learn a lot environment is well rounded for children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with wonderful children
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee), Southfield, MIAugust 5, 2014
Pros: learning as you teach
Cons: not dealing with bad sitautions properly
Teaching the innocent about things that will help them in life is always a wonderful experience
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Assistant director (Former Employee), NJJuly 29, 2014
Pros: fairly flexible schedule
Cons: job culture is focused on money, not teachers or children
Working in childcare is the basically the same wherever you go. If you have a competent manager then you will probably have a fairly positive job experience. However, if you don't have a competent manager then you are out of luck. The company does not care about it's teachers at all. If you have a complaint they will sweep it under the rug. All they – more... care about is their bottom line. There are great, great teachers who have worked for KU for over 20 years and they make 11 dollars an hour. They do NOT care about teachers. If you don't mind constantly being out of ratio, having rude management, not knowing your schedule and being bounced from classroom to classroom, then by all means apply to a KU job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Takes a Special Person
Teacher (Current Employee), OhioJuly 24, 2014
Pros: working with children
Cons: company culture
It takes a special individual to work with children. But in most case the problem is not found in the children or parents you work for but in the environment in which you provide service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the children hate the system
Prekindergarten Teacher (Former Employee), Yorba Linda, CAJuly 23, 2014
Pros: trainings
Cons: all about numbers not the employees or families
program is very inconsistent. teachers never knew if we would be teaching floating or going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Burr Ridge, ILJuly 6, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Heavy calendaring, scheduling travel, heavy email, meeting notes, reconciling of managers company credit cards, approving of employees timecards, corporate meetings, multi-tasking in a fast paced environment
Managing office needs/go to person
Team players
Enjoyed all aspects of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Teacher (Former Employee), TNJune 11, 2014
Pros: off on weekeneds
Cons: no paid summer breaks
I enjoyed working with the VPK program that is offered through the Unified school system. Knowledge Universe However does not pay its employees what they are worth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care too much about the $$$
teacher (Current Employee), massMay 16, 2014
Pros: flexible to a point for staff, coworkers
Cons: not enough time to complete work, poor management, and lacknof communication with admin staff.
Do not work here!!! Employees get mistreated, no compensation, and disrespected every day. Children moved from room to room for the benefit of the company not the benefit of the children which causes more stress on the teachers. Too much workn load to be done daily and no pay for staying later or coming in earlier. Employee gets carved. Too much time – more... away from my outside responsibilities and company refuses to pay over time regardless. Staff turn over is very high. Worked to the bone for very little money – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, yet challenging...
Center Director (Current Employee), PortlandApril 30, 2014
Pros: ability to interact with children and parents daily
Cons: work load
I love parts of my position specifically; the families, their children and my staff are amazing. At times I feel stretched thin and not able to perform to my fullest potential because of the work load.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge chain childcare
Teacher (Former Employee), CaliforniaApril 30, 2014
Pros: benefits and paid (some) holidays
Cons: few hours, seemingly no real care for employees or families: only money.
Huge chain childcare offers stable position with some type of healthcare and educational reimbursement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant changes, no support
Center Director (Former Employee), New York StateApril 21, 2014
Pros: i got paid well but wasn't worth it
Cons: stress!!!!!
I was a director for 8 years for KU and it was constant changes of policy, procedures, upper management, systems, operations... So frustrating. I loved my families, the children and teachers but the upper management all came from retail and had no idea or experience in educating children or what it took to run a center! No support and 100% stress! When – more... I left, every director in my district was stressed to the max and miserable. I miss them all and we truly tried our best everyday to make the children, teachers and families happy but would get scolded for using too much labor! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Teacher (Current Employee), Newark, NJApril 12, 2014
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job

1 2 3 4