Kroger Stores Employee Reviews

Found 18,017 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not about the customer
CO-manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 27, 2017
Kroger says one thing but wants you to do something else. Not a fun or exciting work environment. No one in the company(Dallas division seems to know what is going on from day to day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family setting work place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYMay 27, 2017
Absolutely love this job. Treats every employee with respect and like family. Awesome job. Would choose to work here any day. Wonderful work atmosphere. Save and comfortable. All the administrative staff are friendly and reasonable
Pros
Everything wonderful with this job.
Cons
Nothing at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place was well kept and managed.
Customer First Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 27, 2017
The work place was well kept and managed. My co workers worked well. Management gave clear and concise directions as to what they wanted. The hours I was given were troublesome at times, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Snellville, GAMay 26, 2017
Kroger is a great place to work the pay is not decent though it's at minimum wage which is currently 7.25 but thy give you raises with experience. Kroger is a union and owns a lot of different franchises over the country
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Company but Lacks People Orientation
Store/Merchandising Management (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAMay 26, 2017
Solid, profitable company. Everyone living will forever have to eat. Company need to focus on being more people oriented. No work life balance. Low pay
Pros
Benefits, 401k
Cons
Poor treatment of people. Nepitism, politics, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bakery
bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Eagle River, AKMay 26, 2017
they pay well but the benefits are not that great . i worked there a while an the management is always changing and nothing stays consistent.management have a hard time communicating with each other . the employees are nice but thats about it . be prepared to work holidays and late hours if you have open availbility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My review
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wheeling, WVMay 26, 2017
Where I worked I thought that it was a great place to get work experience. It was also a good place to work on your people skills and to work on acting professionally in a work place environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for. Kroger shows why they are the #1 Grocery store in the United States
Store Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 26, 2017
The Kroger influence is critical to keep all banners consistent. Food 4 Less improved as Kroger policies became more prevalent. My most satisfying part of my day was interacting with my customers. Learning their needs and wants and trying to fulfill each one of them. I developed most of my skills as a Store Director with Food 4 Less. The hardest part of my day to day operations was truly getting the team to understand the value of many of the new programs. Many of them were very short lived.
Pros
Training and development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking care of each customer everyday.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Grosse Pointe, MIMay 26, 2017
operation,sales ,hiring,daily wage budgets,store conditions,profit & loss,scheduling of 150 associates weekly,training new & old associates and customer service........a typical day.
Pros
customer service
Cons
store mgt was a 6-7 days per week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Only bad things were the customers
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, COMay 26, 2017
The main reasoning that I left was because of school, but I also had to leave because I wasn't being respected as a human being. If you've ever wondered what a dead-end job looked like, look no farther than your local grocery store during the rush hours of dinner time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hours and pay suck
Clicklist Associate (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXMay 26, 2017
employees are nice management suck the hours suck and the pay suck was on 4 hour shifts making 8.65 wasn't even worth my time then there were young kids playing around and I had to take up the work slack but nothing was ever done when they started getting more hours than me I left not family time either taking days off was hard
Pros
inside no matter the weather
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Willis, TXMay 26, 2017
this was my last job before i went to school at universal technical institute. i worked the morning shift an never had any problems with the staff or management. a typical work day would be cleaning the produce area restocking vegetables an prepping. the most enjoyable part was the customers.
Pros
flexible schedules
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Busy, and mostly serving customers.
Courtesy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMay 26, 2017
I bag groceries, restock inventories, do carry out with customers, and help maintain cart availability. I am able to learn our daily schedule and is easy to understand what our task is for everyday.
Pros
Flexible part-time scheduling, leave of absence, and sick days.
Cons
30 minute lunch break, standing for 8 hours, and having to stay later when they need you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a normal day
Employee (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 26, 2017
my example of a work day should be like a normal day pushing baskets and stocking up the shelves and making money making sure that our job is done right and completing the day
Pros
free luches
Cons
short breakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay can be good, but the environment is draining
Dairy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Federal Way, WAMay 26, 2017
Although pay is enough to make you stay, the management needs work. Often you will work 6 to 8 days straight, and usually 9 to 10 hour days. It is strenuous work in some departments and hard on your body.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management, work load, strain on body
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience but corporate wasn't cooperative
Pharmacy Intern (Former Employee) –  Hermitage, TNMay 26, 2017
I enjoyed doing a rotation at this site! My preceptor wasn't a recent graduate from my school and he helped me a lot, but HR couldn't get me my own credentials during my 5 week rotation so I never got to learn anything on my own. I will still give them a good rating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for PT
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Derby, KSMay 26, 2017
I worked there for a year. It great for PT work. however no benefits and varying schedule, Management did try to work with schedule but not always. overall great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment.
Tableau Developer/Server administrator (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMay 26, 2017
Flexible work day as long as you put in the time to complete your daily tasks. Opportunities to learn new skills if you put effort into learning them and show enthusiasm.
Pros
Non stressful work environment.
Cons
Hard to move up unless you are in the know or just that good!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work but moving on with new job opportunities
Bagger (Current Employee) –  Kettering, OHMay 26, 2017
i love working at kroger but i feel like i could make more money some place different other wise Kroger is grat place to work every one is friendly and out going and helpfull
Pros
people help eachother out and get the job done
Cons
not making enough money as a bagger
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Pharmacy Tech (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORMay 25, 2017
Typical retail work place, likes to promote within. Learned a lot during my employment there. Has a diverse work force. Has challenges that help be a better employee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kroger Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 18,078 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

CEO Approval

72%
5,171 ratings
Add your rating