Kroger Stores Employee Reviews

Found 20,318 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Night Shift Supervisor & floral lead (Current Employee) –  Lewisburg, WVAugust 21, 2017
Nice place to work. Need to hire more qualified associates. Need more competitive pay. I have worked all over the store more recent night shift lead & it has proven to be a bit difficult. I have also worked floral & produce. Worked directly with vendors. I have to manage a group & been held responsible for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  United StatesAugust 21, 2017
Answered customers' questions and addressed problems and complaints in person and via phone.Helped customers select products that best fit their personal needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Fuel Clerk (Former Employee) –  Goodyear, AZAugust 21, 2017
Long retail hours but good benefits and overall good company. I was in 3 different positions over a 6 year time span. Lot of opportunities for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Customer Care (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 21, 2017
I enjoy working with my associates. Management is good. They work with you as in your schedule . I enjoy that customers know me by name and when they compliment me that I'm friendly.
Pros
paid break, great associates, work with you if you can't come in
Cons
not so much great pay if you've been there for years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a okay place to work
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 21, 2017
I just don't like it for me.
they work you too hard and not enough pay.
I wish that management didn't have nasty attitudes.
they are not willing to work with you on anything.
when its hot they don't care you must be out in the heat to push carts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some people here are cold and unhelpful.
Fuel Center Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakland TennesseeAugust 21, 2017
You don't always get your breaks, you can get fired for anything without the chance to correct a mistake you made, you don't get warned of anything wrong, They have a discriminatory attitudes against new employees.
Pros
A Few Good People, Good Benefits
Cons
On a 4 hour shift, by law you are allowed 1 15 minute break, but, you don't always get it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZAugust 21, 2017
Great employees. enjoyed learning about kroger. enjoyed helping costumers find certain items. Learned about different types of meat. Also enjoyed learning about the gas and how they got used.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for what I need
Clicklist Attendant (Current Employee) –  Arvada, COAugust 21, 2017
Its not a job you want to do your whole life. I'm just working here while I go to school and my manager is really good at working with my schedule. Seems boring most of the time. Can get busy though.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
long periods of boredom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 21, 2017
As a deli clerk the task is simple, keep fresh food coming while keeping a clean work space and please the customers. They are usually pretty flexible on hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Demanding, not rewarding, expect more and more
Asst Customer Svc Mgr, Cashier and Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MI 48170August 21, 2017
Not a fun place to work, had to do more and more of the store managements duties, had to be on your feet the entire shift (no seating available for my position whatsoever, not even a stool), only sitting was on a break or lunch, more and more paperwork expected, raises only once a year, mandatory union company
Pros
Became management because no one else wanted it
Cons
Initial rate of pay, no vacation until after first year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Company offer opportunity for advancement, and good health care and retirement benefits.
PHARMACY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNAugust 21, 2017
I learned administrative and technical tasks that help to increase pharmacy sales and customer satisfaction. The professional work
place was excellent.
Pros
I learned administrative and technical skills and practiced pharmacy in a organized, fast pace professional environment .
Cons
I had to adjust to long hours and no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHAugust 21, 2017
Too much politics and back stabbing from fellow associates and no true help from the Union in saving people's careers. Management is lackluster and beaten into the same mold by corporate so there's no sign of humanity or individuality.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Customers, working for the union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay but no work/life balance
Apparel (Former Employee) –  Beaverton, ORAugust 21, 2017
Great pay and benefits. Long hours and mandatory overtime. No work/life balance, worked every weekend and several "clopens"(close then open next day). Since I was salary I did not get regular breaks/lunches.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Cons
Long hours and mandatory OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Mary Esther, FLAugust 21, 2017
Any position below executive is very stressful. Overworked is an understatement. It is unfortunate to leave work everyday disliking what you do. Coworkers seem to try to win approval of management instead of performing the duties of the job.
Pros
Health Insurance
Cons
No breaks, long hours, no recognition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No chance for full time
Fuel Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MSAugust 21, 2017
The managers have absolutely zero interest in your personal life. You could work harder then all the full time employees but yet, will never become one.
Pros
employee discounts
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cheeseshop Assistance Manager (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody GaAugust 21, 2017
I worked in the Dunwoody Ga Kroger on Roswell Rd .
The years that I worked werevery interesting. I got to make friends
with costomers that were almost a three time a week shopper.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geat associates
Manager (Former Employee) –  Durham County, NCAugust 21, 2017
Most stores hire a lot of students, hence the huge turnover rate.
Lots of competition in grocery and improved job numbers make it difficult to entice or keep new hires with low pay rate.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Turnover rate/low pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job.
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Covington, TNAugust 21, 2017
When everyone comes in to work it is a great environment. Sometimes managers try to cut the bottom line and save money by using you in multiple departments.
Pros
Good hours if you're willing.
Cons
They are very demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chamblee, GAAugust 21, 2017
I didnt like the manger because she always had a attitude all the time. The hours wasnt enough and I only work three days out of a week. I need more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, unskilled labor
Salad Bar Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHAugust 21, 2017
It is just a job. I thought the atmosphere was fun. It may be the perfect place for teenagers or college students working their way through school. I would not recommend this long-term. Advancement is slow here. It is also non-existent for those without a college degree.
Pros
Discounted Groceries, Easy job to get
Cons
No adavncement, brainless physical labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kroger Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 20,384 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4