Kroger Stores Employee Reviews

Found 19,153 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wasnt for me
Deli Worker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winchester, KYJune 25, 2017
my experience at kroger wasnt the best but that has a lot to do with where i started in the company joined as a deli associate and my department manager wasn't good at her job long story short i left the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to advance in career
Corporate Instructor (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 25, 2017
I worked many areas in Fred Meyer before they were named Kroger. Advancement was easy for hard workers. Education was not necessary. Retail is not the best place for life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Bourbonnais, ILJune 25, 2017
It's busy most days, I learned that every customer is different, management is like family, nothing hard about it and great pleasure to work with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
PT Barista (Current Employee) –  Forney, TXJune 25, 2017
Great job for a high school or college student, as well as the semi retired. If you don't mind working weekends, it's a nice PT gig. Wages low, but benefits are great, even for PT. Inexpensive health insurance and all of the other benefits of a FT job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work at
All Purpose Clerk (Current Employee) –  Yuma, AZJune 25, 2017
Great place to work in depending on management. Most likely be prepared to bounce around departments if you want hours unless you get lucky and actually are full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good job
Deli associate (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJune 25, 2017
It is a great work environment, hard to move up with the whole seniority thing. Starting at the bottom did not get good hours, what ever was left. Great benefits though.
Pros
Great benefits, discounts to store and other places
Cons
seniority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 25, 2017
It was a great company to work for, but lately I believe they have lost their way and are having a difficult time find their way. They have made selling groceries difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Litchfield Park, AZ 85340June 25, 2017
Never a dull moment
Better customer service
Love my Manager he's great
Always great vibes from everyone
Its fairly an easy job to do
Honestly everything is enjoyable about my job customers are great and so are my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job provided me skills to be in a leadership role
Assistant Meat Manager (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, ILJune 25, 2017
This job i had the opportunity to learn leadership and Management skills. I also had the opportunity to work in different areas performing a variety of roles.
Pros
Oppurtinity to improve my skills
Cons
Pay rate, fringe benefits, and irregular schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i think it was a good store
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 25, 2017
i love to work kroger is a good store they have good customer service
they have good workers they have a lot of groceries there i like how they handle
Pros
i'm a good worker i'm very talkative im good person
Cons
im adhd i sometimes get upset with i don't understand thing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i guess
FROZEN SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Midlothian, VAJune 25, 2017
alot of kroger stores are the same, so most likely its the company. managers get stressed because of their bosses and takes it out on employees. also the stores never have enough workers in certain departments and employees are worked harder than what they are getting paid. alot of employees go without taking lunches to cover up the missing hours,
Pros
union, nice customers, easy if you know what you are doing
Cons
the pay, managers act like robots and not humans, not enough workers and to much work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Clinton, MSJune 25, 2017
Here i received a great chance to learn both great people skills and customers service skills. The management was great to work with and the people were great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun workplace
Clicklist Department Lead (online shopping) (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NEJune 25, 2017
overall i do enjoy working for this company. They are very flexible with their scheduling and truly care about the employee. They try hard to make sure the employees are not over worked to insure that they can give their best effort while here. the only reason i will be leaving is so i can go back to school to pursue my zoology degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and low paying job
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Horn Lake, MSJune 25, 2017
The pros at working at kroger is some of the employees,the simple discounts ,and the experience.There are too many cons to list but the start of it is uncaring managers ,low pay , and stressful environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wack
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, GAJune 25, 2017
didnt like it, highschool job ONLY. Really didnt appreciate employees, berating managers/ supervisors, favoritism for young women mostly. would not recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJune 24, 2017
They only have 1 register open when there are a thousand customers my breaks were never on time , they always want you to cover the same person that took forever on their break so they can take they lunch or go home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unwilling to Increase Pay
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Noblesville, INJune 24, 2017
I have been working at Kroger for the past 3 months as the head of the department and have been refused the pay increase. I had to fight to get the correct pay when I covered for my old boss on her leave of absence and continue to fight to get my rightful pay as Department Head which I have been refused.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management!!
Courtesy Clerk/Cashier/Night-Stocker (Former Employee) –  Fruita, COJune 24, 2017
The management are totally childish who act completely different behind closed doors. There was a manager from the one in Fruita, CO that spit in my face.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice store and stay clean
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 24, 2017
The store is clean and sometimes the management team suck they barely help you and they're lazy then some of the always have attitudes it's just they Don't like to work
Pros
You get paid vacation and sick time
Cons
Short breaks and lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAJune 24, 2017
A typical day was ok I would usually be bored by the second hour of the day. I learned how to use a cash register. Management was ok. The hardest part was dealing with some of the younger cashiers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kroger Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 19,217 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5