L.L. Bean, Inc. Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HR-Senior Employee Services Representative (Current Employee), Freeport, MEAugust 25, 2015
LLBean is a great place to work. They treat their employees with fairness and respect. I have worked here a long time and have seen many changes but through all the changes, the company tries to keep their employees informed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Class customer service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Freeport, MEJuly 29, 2015
Pros: Tuition reembursement
Cons: some co-worker just their to get a pay check
I did review not sure what happened?


Excellent team days and off site team building activities. Had Beans Best once a year and generally received a yearly bonus.

Serviced 75-100 customers per day on a phone shift or 50 in email and chat.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, consistent place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Portland, MEJuly 24, 2015
Pros: Great environment
Cons: repetitive at times
A great job, always knew what your day was going to be like. The management was very friendly and cared about all of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call center life...
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Lewiston, MEJuly 9, 2015
Pros: employee discounts and employee store
Cons: Hours dwindle to 0
Really need to be a lover of call center life. Not as fun or fullfilling as they make it out to be to say the least. Great for Christmas time but not a good option if you need full time work year round to support a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flex time to enjoy the outdoors
Fit consultant, master Pattern Maker (Current Employee), Portland, MEJune 29, 2015
My experience working with as a consultant for LLBean has been great. I feel respected and appreciated for my skills. The work environment involves team work, hard work to achieve goals and meet deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very good place to work
customer service rep (Former Employee), Bangor, MaineJune 24, 2015
Pros: treated us very well on holidays, gym
Cons: breaks a little short
I took inbound calls during a very busy season.
resolved customers concerns , tracked package;s . Helped customers with there shopping, located items online, sometimes located in different stores. dealt – more... with so very nice people as well as some not nice people. Over all great place to work.The hardest part of the job was sometimes disappointing people , like running out of bean boots. The only thing I didn't like is knowing it was closing down this year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employee Benefits
Software Quality Assurance Analyst (Former Employee), Freeport, MEJune 15, 2015
Loved the culture at L.L.Bean. My co-workers were great and will be life long friends. Great location and easily commutable. Enjoyed my job there. Work/home life balance is difficult when you work in corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well known multi-national company with goods/products for home and outdoor enthusiasts
CSR, Production Picker, and Security Officer (Former Employee), Freeport, MEJune 9, 2015
While working for LL Bean, I was employed in three separate departments (order fulfillment, customer service call center, and corporate security). It was from these many angles that I gained the full LL Bean experience. In all, I enjoyed moving between departments as it provided a greater appreciation of the employment tiers that make this company a staple of Maine culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Company
customer service representative (Former Employee), Freeport, MEJune 2, 2015
If you live in Maine and you don't know L.L. Bean or its awesomeness in Freeport, go there and experience the people who love their job, order over the phone and have the best shopping experience of your – more... life and order from a company who values their employees with an excellent work structure. I miss working here but know when I shop here, the quality of the product and the service remains the same- excellent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, enjoyable place to work.
Cashier (Current Employee), McLean, VAMay 18, 2015
They have taught me much and everyone is always so kind and welcoming. We all help each other out whether on the clock or not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LL bean
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lewiston, MEMay 13, 2015
I loved working for LL Bean, Great moral & support for employees. I answered calls from customers to place orders, or to answer questions they may have. LL Bean has a wonderful reputation and they expect the highest customer service of their employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L.L. Bean
Seasonal Human Resources Staffing Interviewer (Former Employee), Freeport, MEApril 21, 2015
Pros: weekly food provided and the people get along very well.
Cons: timely manner to get all work expectations accomplished
The culture at L.L. Bean is that all are expected to meet standards with high demands that are set in each department. As a programmer I carried a pager and was on call about every 3-4 weeks(24x7). One – more... is evaluated on how well the projects and programs function accurately when put into production.

As an interviewer there are high expectations for each candidate. It reflects back on each of us for those who do well in the seasonal position and for those who do not meet the expectations of the job.

We are evaluated on our work constantly. Our supervisor sits in on some interviews. A list of goals is given to each of us. There is also feedback from the people who are interviewed and statistics are keep on how well we are each doing in the department. Our supervisor does meet with us frequently and is open to listening to our concerns. We also are recognized for positive work done.

There is pressure on keeping accurate documentation and interviews being done in a timely manner. Management like to have some fun activities at meetings and food always seem to brighten up our days

As a department the 13-16 people involved get along very and all are willing assist each other when issues arise on the computer work involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Material Handler (Former Employee), Freeport, MEApril 16, 2015
This company is one of the best companies in the country. Employment satisfaction is high at L.L. Bean. They care about the employees and customers very much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Material Handler/Machine Operator (Former Employee), Freeport, MEApril 16, 2015
Great leadership culture. Company takes care of its people. Managers/supervisors walk the walk as well as talk the talk. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Stores, Stock Lead
Stock Lead (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NYApril 12, 2015
Pros: employee discount, free discovery school courses and product training
Cons: Stressful, no support from corporate
Company as a whole is great to work for, however, working in one of the retail stores I found it to be quite stressful at times, b/c we're not given the support we need. No payroll or hours during the – more... spring/summer months, and Leads are expected to become floor associates/cashiers, leaving their own work on the back burner. I'm understanding of this, but if they want us to be every position in the store, I truly believe we must get comped for such rolls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Returns Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Freeport, MEMarch 18, 2015
Pros: good hours
A great company to work for that is constantly trying to make sure the employees feel appreciated and work together to have a successful season.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative I - Seasonal (Former Employee), Freeport, MEMarch 10, 2015
Pros: recognition for work well done, nice managers
Cons: seasonal
L.L. Bean offered excellent training and a fun work environment. Hours are flexible and you can work extra if you want. Reviews are frequent and educational and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great seasonal job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Portland, MEMarch 9, 2015
Pros: discount, employee store access
Cons: retail hours
LL Bean has an infamously stellar reputation as a retailer; the same can experience can definitely be expected from them as an employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day is an adventure
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Bloomington, MNMarch 5, 2015
Pros: brand new store with all new amenities
Cons: short breaks random scheduling
Working retail provides new challenges each day. These may come as locating available products or even finding a simple solution to a customers request. I am always willing to give the best service possible. – more... Each day works well because I know that I can have confidence in my coworkers to support me no questions asked. No matter the task or customer issue, it's always a reward to pass along my knowledge and gain some from the customers as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Bag
Seasonal Sales Representative (Current Employee), Mall of America, Bloomington, MNFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: corporate appreciates and recognizes above-average performance and commitment.
Cons: store management and their style
Management is clueless about what L.L. Bean is and what it represents. They think it's another Target, Kohl's or North Face. Thank goodness for a core group of older employees who care about their work – more... and the Bean brand. Management hired a bunch of younger workers who think it's just another retailer giving them a paycheck. Hope it survives because many of us invested time and energy to get it up and running. I have my doubts. Need management to communicate and not play favorites. PC in hiring can be dangerous in the long-run. – less
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
15 Casco St.
Freeport ME, United States 04033
Revenue
$1B to $5B (USD)
Employees
1,001 to 5,000
Industry
Links
L.L. Bean, Inc. website