La-Z-Boy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different
Sr Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJanuary 20, 2018
Very difficult to balance work/life. Work every Saturday all day. Hard to work with commission employees aren't always honest. Can be fun sometimes,depending on your tolerance can be stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced work style.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Dayton, TNJanuary 17, 2018
This is a great place to work, it’s fast paced, the pay is more than satisfactory. The management is very worker oriented and the safety measures taken are outstanding.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not a lot of downtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very family friendly culture, with strict goals set in order to be successful
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 17, 2018
La z boy has given me great experience in life, however unfortunately the pay does not put weigh the responsibility and hours worked. Your job security is only as good as your performance the last month it is very fast paced and very competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, poor management on a local level
SALES MANAGER (Current Employee) –  MarylandJanuary 12, 2018
I enjoy working with the clients, but my last two store managers haven't been worth the $ they are paid.

The compensation plan for a lower tier store like the one I work in, does not pay a living wage at times, and has prompted me to look elsewhere. Higher tier stores seem to get more consistent sales volume, therefore, more consistent pay.
Pros
no individual commissions
Cons
poor management locally
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste of time
Sales Associate (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLJanuary 12, 2018
they literally would schedule me like 8 hours a week. and that wasn't just me but every other coworker too. the managers get on your behind for not selling but we don't have enough hours to sell anything and it became annoying. a waste of time especially in pembroke pines. get work somewhere else and thank me later.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store closed down
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 10, 2018
Great products and people to work with. The store closed down due to changes in the local market. The store was struggling and the owners did there best.
Pros
Great furniture
Cons
Store closed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Lead (Current Employee) –  Robbinsville, NJJanuary 10, 2018
Responsible for truck related administration.
• Work with the Safety Advisor to analyze conditions and determine that site orientations, area specific orientations and general tickets are applicable, valid and current.
• Determine the scheduling of servicing and repairs for the trucks with input from fleet advisor.
• Obtain all job specific information from the customer regarding the job scope, analyze and ensure job specific directions are documented.
• Coordinate and dispatch the fleet to job sites.
• Schedule staff ensuring hours of service do not exceed allowable...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy No stress Job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2018
Typical retail employment Work every holiday. Great co-workers. Fair management. Learning system is a challenge. Would consider re-employment if retail hours changed.
Pros
Commission pay
Cons
Work Holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
I currently work as assistant manager (Current Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 4, 2018
I worked here for a job while going to school, the management is very good and as long as you are honest with them they will treat you very well. As long as you are a hard work worker you will advance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
NA (Current Employee) –  Monroe, MIJanuary 4, 2018
La-Z-Boy definitely has pros and cons. The new building is fantastic and most of the people there are like family. It's also great that innovation is on the forefront so LZB can be cutting edge in the furniture world. However, management never seems to be satisfied. It's stressful to feel that constant pressure. In addition, the morale is not great because management acts as though lower employees are not capable and even stupid at times.
Pros
New building is fantastic
Cons
Constant Pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Stuffer (Current Employee) –  Siloam Springs, ARJanuary 4, 2018
its a great place to work. great environment, its tuff work but becomes easy as you learn your job I would recconmend people to apply. its not as bad as what people make it to seem to be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun days
Cell Team Member (Current Employee) –  Redlands, CAJanuary 3, 2018
this is a company with everyday is a challenge. the employee has to hit a number of pieces of furniture. the hardest part of the job is when the production goes slow.
Pros
birthday celebrations
Cons
only 24 hours for sick pay days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Sales (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXDecember 26, 2017
You do alot of work for a little bit of money. The pay structure is messed up as well. I wouldnt advise that anyone gain employment here unless they have money saved up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my job
Delivery Driver, warehouse worker, repairman (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCDecember 20, 2017
i worked there for 11 years. 8 full time hen 3 contracted. i never would have left but due to poor judgement on the management side i was laid off to make way for out sourced workers.
Pros
good people, benefits
Cons
lack of for-site when management involved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well paid job
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Newton, MSDecember 16, 2017
this is a well paying job love the way they take care of their employees long hrs but it has a safe work place and they listen to you and will try to work with you
Pros
safe
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely low pay & no commission
Designer (Former Employee) –  South Florida, FLDecember 13, 2017
Extremely Low pay and no commission sales job. Designers are expected to be designer, salesperson and manager but are not compensated accordingly. This is never mentioned in the ad for the job. No one tells you that you have to assume managerial duties or that you are required to work 10 hours a day the days you’re closing the store. No one tells you that you have to rely on the sales persons to book appointments for you-which is how you get paid. The pay is so low that the only people they can get to work are college students who many have never been in sales. The turnover is incredible-so the new salespeople don’t know how to book appointments for you.
Pros
Easy going co workers
Cons
Long hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn furniture sales
Sales (Current Employee) –  Centennial, CODecember 12, 2017
Good place to learn furniture sales and follow up. Three month training program allows you to learn about furniture, store point of sales system. Lazboy being a well known name makes it easier to sell.
Pros
excellent employee discounts
Cons
no 401k
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Lexington, SCDecember 10, 2017
Work environment was good and you felt welcomed by staff and managers.
Very competitive

Sales Goals made up monthly

Stressful end of the month crunch to make monthly goal

Great manager
Pros
Good working relationship among staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company
Cell Operator (Former Employee) –  Dayton, TNDecember 6, 2017
lots of lay offs. low pay normal manufacturing job. This was my job in high school. I learned a lot and discovered that manufacturing was not for me. They lay people off all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized lack of communication
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 1, 2017
Hired in at a pretty good starting salary . What I was not informed with this job was the amount of driving required per day with in a two hundred mile radius of the city , traffic jams and construction slow downs , expected to be at every scheduled stop at and on a set time . One average three hundred plus miles per day . as many as sixteen hours a day or more on average . Turn out that I was being paid for forty hours of work but worked as many as eighty plus hours a week.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at La-Z-Boy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 504 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3