Find companies:
LA Fitness
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,089 reviews

LA Fitness Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Review
receptionist (Current Employee), Las Colinas, TXJuly 31, 2015
Good place to Work
Staff Are fun
People are Nice and Sweet
Great Place to Work Out
Good Place to get a Membership
The Staff is Respectful
The Child Care Is Great
I have So Much fun working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy enviorment
Sales (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJuly 31, 2015
Pros: free workout
Cons: the money you received did not fit the job
a typical day at work was to sale the gyms products to new prospective clients. I learned how to exercise properly. Management, no comment. Co-workers, was easy to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time pay, full time work
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), AllentownJuly 29, 2015
Pros: easy to get in, no experience required, stepping stone
Cons: terrible pay, no benefits
There is no hourly pay only per training session so if you don't have full appointment book every day you are working full time hours for only the sessions you have during that shift. LA fitness training – more... sessions are only 25 min each which for many clients isn't enough time to get a quality workout. As an employee you don't feel like a member of a community as much as you feel like a single cog in a corporate machine that sees fitness and health as a sellable product and nothing more. It teaches trainers to care less about individual needs and "trick" clients into thinking they are getting a good workout. A full time personal trainer at LA fitness will expect to have over 40 clients and only be paid approximately minimum wage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin a career in the fitness industry.
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Upland, CAJuly 28, 2015
A typical day started off scoping the floor for prospective clients and gathering information on individuals that I felt would benefit from personal training and attempt to close a deal by selling them – more... a package later on. Then the rest of the day would be laid out in front of me. There were never and last minute clients, or, obscure tasks that needed to be finished immediately. Clients came, I trained them, they left. The work load was very structured. I learned how to be more approachable and how to engage prospective clients in a sales environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you might expect
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJuly 28, 2015
Pros: Clients, quality of equipment, consistency, predictability
Cons: Strict uniforming standards, Disparagement between styles of trainer from location to location, enormously defined by money rather than health.
Its not a boutique fitness club nor is a local gym. Its a massive corporate gym, filled with with enough policies and procedural rigmarole to annoy the sanest of people. It is consistent and predictable. – more... The clients or members are the best part. They are real people who are there for wholesome reasons and when you are able to help them it makes the average pay and strict nature of the work environment more tolerable. Great place to begin a career in the fitness or health industry. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning expierience
Membership Sales Representative (Former Employee), GreenwoodJuly 28, 2015
I actually learned a few things in sales and marketing. The worst part was the scheduling. The best part is the autonomy and self sufficient system.Not a bad job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To obtain a position that utilizes my experiences in the HVAC / maintenance industry.
HVAC tech (Current Employee), MultipleJuly 28, 2015
For more information please see the attached resume which contains all of the information that is which pertains to my work history and duties as an HVAC technician.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment/Able to help me grow
Front Desk Receptionist (Current Employee), Hyattsville, MDJuly 27, 2015
Pros: Networking/Meeting new people
Cons: Management Skills/Rude peop;e
A typical day at LA Fitness would require me to check in our guests and handle all incoming calls. I learned how to control my temper working with LA Fitness. Some of our guests were extremely rude and – more... I learned how to "kill them with kindness." I loved all my co-workers, I got along with every single one of them and personally connected with each of them. The hardest part of the job was realizing that all that hard-work I do wasn't properly appreciated. I felt like I had one of the best customer service skills but only the members see that. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with so many different people. I love interacting and socializing so this job is honestly fun to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Orentated Fun Job
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee), Round Lake Beach, ILJuly 27, 2015
Pros: Hours are always all over the place, never set schedule.
Cons: Commission wasn't too great for clearup calls.
It was a great place to work, the manager was amazing and always worked with you on your schedule. The entire place felt like a family.
You ran the front desk, scanned people in and called on accounts that had past due payments and made $5 for every account you updated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not want to review.
Sales Counselor (Former Employee), Palm Harbor, FLJuly 26, 2015
Pros: Free membership
Cons: working for LA Fitness or buying memberships
trespass daily to populated areas in order to fill required number of leads asked of you. selling Premium memberships to people who only need a single club. harassing phone calls

members should review – more... what they are actually paying for if they are paying more than 30$ a month. the more they get you for the more they make. chances are your paying for racquetball and kids club even though you didn't want either.

management rude dishonest and shady.

did not receive compensation for the hundreds of miles a month you will drive to market.

Pay rate and compensation fluctuates often and high turn over with employees. if you don't sell required Bi-weekly $$$ you wont make anything over minimum wage.

Ignoring multiple problems with equipment and services. woman slipped and fell in the basketball court from AC leak that was known about for almost 2 years.

Crowded with people

building has mold coming into AC vents – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many young people in charge.
Janitor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 24, 2015
Their was no leaders only children. No one cared about the company only their apprence. Need better leadership the free gym membership was great and some of the co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and stress free enviroment to work.
Child Care Assistant / Front Desk (Current Employee), Deerfield Beach, FLJuly 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly memebers and co-workers
Cons: No breaks
Stress free work place, with friendly members and co-workers. Also, the kids bring a fun energy to the club, so they make it easy on us to enjoy work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its is a great place you gain expereance in goal reachin throgh the effords of yourslef and othe
Personal Training Director (Former Employee), Georgia, McdonoughJuly 22, 2015
Pros: Paid well when yoy hit bouns
Cons: Did'nt as well when you missed bouns
rs. great for sales and marketing,and dealing one on one with customers empolee's. also leaned how to manage profit and loss we had a base eft (electonic funds tanfer) that shows if you growing the the personal trainings servics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent team of Managers and the Best Customers!
General Manager (Former Employee), Somerdale, NJJuly 22, 2015
Pros: Compensation
Cons: Hours
LA Fitness was a great place to work. I looked forward to going in to work and tackling my goals. My sales, marketing and management skills were definitely sharpened through their training programs. My – more... in club team was phenomenal and my upper management team were very supportive. The only challenge I had with my employment was the hours. Working 55-65 hours per week as a single mother had begun to take a toll on me and my children. Over all I LOVED my position with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Days are long and non stop work. The job is easy but the due to unreliable employees and over priced training, the sales because hard.
Personal Training Director (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 21, 2015
Pros: Gym environment, fun co workers
Cons: Too many hours, pay structure is not good
The company is going down hill due to the pressure that is put on the VP's and managers. The turn over rate is really high because the pay structure is not good. Long hours and job security is not guaranteed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Area Managers summary
Area Manager (Former Employee), San Antonio, TxJuly 20, 2015
Pros: Hours, Free Gym membership
Cons: not a lot of room for advancement
Area Managers hire, train, and supervise all Operations Managers to resolve all membership issues, manage payroll and supplies budget, maintain the facility and uphold company standards throughout district.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are into working out
Personal Trainer (Current Employee), Snellville, GAJuly 17, 2015
Pros: Free gym membership
Cons: Pay isn't great
Fun enjoyable place to work for the most part, clients can become a bit demanding. Management and co-workers are all hard-working and relatable, down to earth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A clean and professional environment
Personal Trainer (Former Employee), Melbourne, FLJuly 17, 2015
Pros: Schedule Flexibility
Cons: Clients Training Session Times
I have enjoyed my time and employment at the LA FITNESS gym. I've met some great people with wonderful personalities, goals and aspirations. My schedule was very flexible and definitely the best aspect – more... about the job. Being able to move around my training sessions and clients throughout the day was amazing, unfortunately the client's training times were only 30 minutes long. My co-workers were awesome team players and great people to be around, it was a pleasure working with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive
Receptionist/baby sitter (Current Employee), Garland, TXJuly 16, 2015
I would either be at the front desk or at the play area with kids. Management was excellent and made us focused on our work. My co-workers are very supportive of other people's opinion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring sedentary job
Front Desk Operations (Current Employee), Kirkland, WAJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Free gym membership
Cons: Sedentary, low pay, low engagement, I have to take abuse from angry customers
A typical day involved me sitting up at the front desk of the Kirkland/Juanita La Fitness. I am required to fold towels and keep the supply of such bolstered by means of washing and collecting towels from – more... repositories. Otherwise I remain at the front desk receiving calls and dealing with customer complaints and such. My manager is a nice person and I enjoy her company but she is rather ineffective at management in general. She switches shifts without telling people sometimes so there is always an element of confusion and mystery when trying to track down your work schedule. I have notified her of my schedule and availability but she tends to just schedule me randomly. I enjoy my co workers presence as they are cheerful and lively. The job is extremely easy and requires very little movement or brain power. I dont enjoy this part as I would like to be on my feet or engaging my brain in some way rather than sedentary. I enjoy my co workers, as that is the best part of my job. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About LA Fitness

Founded in 1984, LA Fitness is one of the fastest growing sports club chains in the United States and presently has over 340 locations – Read more

LA Fitness Salaries

General Manager
$50,000 per year
Front Desk Supervisor
$8.50 per hour
Personal Trainer
$12.68 per hour
Janitor
$9.27 per hour
Personal Trainer
$27,279 per year