LA MADELEINE Employee Reviews in United States

Found 39 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a cashier & Host
Restaurant Server (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2016
The most enjoyable part was meeting people with good personality. My co-workers were also for the most part college students. The management at the company could have been better organized, but for the most part, they did the best with the tools they had available to them. There were no hard aspects of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work/life balance
Manager (Current Employee) –  Irving, TexasMarch 29, 2016
Never staffed properly to the needs of the business, no time to work on advancement. Grueling schedules (Close then open)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, just not enough hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Flower Mound, TXFebruary 21, 2016
Loved this place, everyone is nice and its a very easy going job. The only fault was the lack of hours given to the employees
Pros
great management
Cons
little hours and pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible work schedule
Catering Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 2, 2015
Great schedule, needed a better bonus structure, and better compensation plan but overall a nice place to work. The turnover for the employees was terrible. This was probably due to the restaurant just opening.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Low pay low tips
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, Easy first job.
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 16, 2015
-Typical Day at Work-
- Cashier, Food Service/Prep, Custodial.

- What I learned-
- Everything pertinent to advancement in the Retail/Food Industry World.

-Management-
- Mostly fair, had nice rapport.

-Co-Workers-
- Easy to work with.

-Hardest part of job-
- Long hours during High School years.

-Most enjoyable part of job-
- Getting to know/helping Guests.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place !!!
Line Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXMay 16, 2016
It is stressful working here , but the people and management are fun! our guest are very friendly with the exceptions of few and working here the time goes by fast
Pros
discounts
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
La Madeleines
Line Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 29, 2016
Working at La Madeleines was okay but the turn over rate is out of control. Its a friendly and clean environment. Great location
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
Dishwasher/Server (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 12, 2016
I enjoyed being able to work various positions. I was also permitted to learn several aspects of how the restaurant ran so smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced workplace with flexibility
Associate (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXOctober 29, 2013
Overall, I do love working at La Madeleine. I've made great friends and learned so much.
There isn't really a typical day for me; some are busy, some are slow. Sometimes I'm working up front or prepping, night or day. But I've learned all about cooking, the importance of being neat and organized, and always making sure I have what I need for the day.
The hardest part of my day is either having customers come in during a lunch rush and being impatient, or no lunch rush at all!
But I do enjoy relaxing at talking with my co-workers, and building relationships with my customers.
Pros
discount meals, desserts, downtime, benefits
Cons
low pay, no overtime, small workspace
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
la madeleine
Line cook (Current Employee) –  La Madeleine , dallas,txDecember 20, 2015
Ok company to work for . Has it good and bad .It is a company that is growing .There is a lot of good people that work for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Cook (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXDecember 9, 2015
To much work, not enough pay. Food their is not pre-pared well. Work hours are always different and long. people always rude to you if u get there order wrong. They only thing good is the people I worked with fun and friendly,
Pros
fun work colleagues
Cons
not organized
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic paycheck, no future with high turnover and constant problems
waiter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 5, 2013
arrive at work: find out who didn't show and what equipment was under repair or what food staples ran out. Cover from 2 to 4 positions(no bonuses or raises, rarely managerial help), don't rely on teamwork, and hope your relief doesn't no show. Whole job was hard and thankless and would cheat you of overtime, but allowed a basic paycheck.
Pros
impossible to get fired, basic income
Cons
no advancement, unstable schedule, poorly ran with unreliable equipment, never fully staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an Ok job
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Frisco, TXDecember 10, 2015
Decent place to work if you enjoy working with food. It's a fast-paced environment but not much opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging
Cook (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VASeptember 22, 2015
Love the business overall, love cooking at la Madeliene. Management could be way better. I think there could be more success if the business was ran better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family style and well organized workplace
Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  McLean, VASeptember 17, 2014
My job is always a warm feeling family style workplace to walk into. I'm always greeted and shown much respect. Food is always prepared and served on time and the regular customers are great!
Pros
1/2 off lunch, benefits, opportunity for growth
Cons
no health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural Experience
Line Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAOctober 7, 2015
The time at la Madeline was short-lived, but I gained a lot of experience and skill sets working with such great people. Very cultural.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is good please to work
Manager Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 21, 2012
it is a really fast environment, and you must have a lot of patience, some time customers can be really rude, and the hours change a lot, is good if you work and study they do accommodation for your studies.
Pros
50% discout
Cons
short salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXMay 28, 2015
Fast paced on weekends and christmas time.
slow most nights
customer service is a must
some co workers are fun
help customers with line and bakery items
high turn over rate
long hours available
couldn't be cut down to part time
Pros
50% off lunches
Cons
lack of training
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job that felt like home
Line Associate/Hostess/Cashier/Bakery Associate (Former Employee) –  Katy, TXAugust 3, 2013
As soon as I would walk in the door, my co-workers were so full of excitement. Everyone was treated like family, whether morning or night shift. I learned so much from my company, such as efficient customer service and patience. The only hard part of my job would have to be being understaffed during a rush of any kind. Everyone's job got a little harder when that happened, but we worked together and managed to handle it. There weren't many bad days when working here, everyday was great. Being able to have fun but still work hard was perfect!
Pros
breaks everyday, good food, new friends
Cons
high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Cashier, Barista, Line, (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 12, 2015
Fairly busy work days, where you're consistanly moving and getting things prepared for the next shift. Management worked well around my school schedule, and my co-workers made work enjoyable.
Pros
shifts go by fast
Cons
sometimes customers are rude
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture