Find companies:
La Rabida Children's Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

La Rabida Children's Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Service Volunteer
Patient Service Volunteer (Former Employee), Evergreen Park, ILJuly 26, 2014
Patient Service Volunteer, Summer 2005: Assisted medical and hospital staff by with food service delivery to patients; assisted x-ray technician in the disposal of old x-ray films; helped housekeeping staff by collecting laundry and performing light cleaning; assisted medical and hospital staff by visiting patient rooms and supervising organized patient – more... activities. The most enjoyable part of the job was being open to new experiences and loving what your doing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and loving place to work
Office Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 8, 2014
The childrens hospital was a great environment sometimes I felt like a child some of the rooms are designed like a boat and the people and families are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WONDERFUL WORK ENVIRONMENT
ADMITTING/REGISTRATION CLERK (Former Employee), CHICAGONovember 8, 2013
PATIENT FAMILY FRIENDLY PLACE TO WORK. MY CO WORKERS WERE HELPFUL TO EACH ACROSS ALL DEPT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A famous and highly reviewed place to work.
Consumer Advocate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 9, 2013
I had various responsibilities as a Consumer Advocate. One that I enjoyed the most was co-facilitating a support group made up of the caregivers of children and youth who had faced at least one trauma in their lives. Another was co-facilitating a multi- family intervention where we used games and story telling as part of the process of showing families – more... where their strength lies. There were the clerical components where I would design flyers announcing events that we planned. Then there were the mailings that had to go out and follow-up phone calls. I did research to find resources such as food pantries or low cost medical that I could refer caregivers to. I attended and spoke at meetings and conferences on the topic of trauma and violence for instance. In this position I learned a lot about my self, my own strengths like public speaking and my ability to plan an event and carry out the steps necessary to make it happen. My co-workers were mostly social workers and psychologist who worked very diligently with children who had difficult lives. My co-workers were friendly and sociable people who treated me and each other with respect. I had supervisors who trusted me and respected me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved my time there but....
Network Engineer (Former Employee), Chicago ILApril 8, 2013
Pros: fellow staff members, location during daylight hours
Cons: upper management, lack of hipaa security, location at night
After working there for 10 years with nothing less then excellent service reviews, they decide to restructure our dept. False - they just wanted to fire people with high salaries. I even submitted for the entry that won them the health care most wired award in the lobby.
The nurses run the show and most of the service departments are treated poorly – more... in my experience. I felt like ever since the Past President of the hospital left, the environment suffered drastically. Shameful really. They let three of us go at once. All Caucasian and all middle aged all from Indiana too. I took my severance and went on my way but overall it was a slap in the face. I really loved fellow staff even most of the management. It is just the upper management that needs to be "restructured". The doctors are top notch however. They do amazing work Pharmacy and Radiology as well. IT Dept has two great workers in lower positions. That is about it. Overall I would recommend working there as a stepping stone and move on. No future long term. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very small cozy work environment, with easy access to management when needed.
RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONER (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: located in a very beautiful lake setting, flexible scheduling, great benefits.
Cons: no dinner, low fat meals only, no parking ramp, lake effect weather.
Working at La Rabida expanding my understanding of long term, chronic care pediatric needs. Before working here, my pediatric experience was primarily critical care at a very rapid pace. We have great interdepartmental interaction, share in learning experiences, and extensive opportunities to work closely with physicians and rotating residents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Lead Certified Pharmacy Technician/Purchaser (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 26, 2012
Pros: making the children happy
Cons: my position was not held for me for at least 6 not 4 weeks after childbirth
best job ever taking care of little people in such a critical moment in there lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great PTO Accural
Senior Accountant (Current Employee), ChicagoJanuary 15, 2012
Pros: they provide a generous pto accural rate
Cons: lack of appreciation in some areas, they do not provide a company match for their 403b, the merit increases are not good
LaRabida as a whole is not a bad place to work, but in certain departments it can be challenging.