Find companies:
LabCorp
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
743 reviews

LabCorp Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisors work hard
PST Supervisor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 6, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: on call 24 hours
Supervisor positions require a lot of hard work and strategizing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memphis
Histology (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 2, 2014
Cons: poor upper management; more about profit than patient care
I'm not sure about other reviews in Memphis, but the Memphis Histology branch for Labcorp closed in March. We were given Less than a month's notice and were expected to work and close the lab as well. We were deceived by everyone that visited our lab, from regional manager to the human resources representative that told us in January that were weren't – more... closing... Lies. I'm told that the Southaven branch is unorganized and filled with people that would rather gossip and avoid work than have a stellar lab... BEWARE – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad entry level job
Specimen Accessioner (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNAugust 2, 2014
The work is monotonous, but for what the job entails you are paid decently. Its glorified data entry but with a biological twist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Cytotechnologist, On site supervisor (Former Employee), Dublin, OHAugust 2, 2014
Pros: interesting and challenging work.
Cons: too much interesting and challenging work.
I had to hit the ground running. As team lead there were seemingly more things to do in a day than was possible. Some how I got it done. I was salaried so some days I spent as much as 10 hours getting my work done. I learned valuable management skills, people skills, and how to multitask. Management wasn't bad. As long as things were going well they – more... kept a hands off posture. Management was available to me when I had questions I couldn't answer. I worked with many great techs ... some of which demonstrated truly amazing diagnostic skills. The hardest part of the job was just getting everything done in a days time. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was seeing everyone work together accomplishing our daily goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily schedule
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: long breaks, healthcare, working with one person, team work
Open /close clinic, drew between 30-60 patients a day, kep facility clean, process from touch screen
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Submission Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Burlington, NCJuly 29, 2014
Overall it's a pretty good company with great paid time off benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Productive Company
Phlebotomy Externship (Former Employee), Montgomery, ALJuly 29, 2014
A great company to be a part of. The staff and management are awesome there. Nothing but EXCELLENT TEAMWORK!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pediatric medical assistant
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Covington, LAJuly 26, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
I did the doctors scheduling and prepared rooms for patients. I did blood draws, simple splinting, cultures, asthma treatments and pediatric immunizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive work
Cytogenetics Technician (Former Employee), Durham, NCJuly 25, 2014
Shifts usually overlap with the weekend. Sun-Thr or Tue-Sat.
Work is repetitive but one can move laterally to other groups in order to have a more diverse work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with a wonderful pathologist and had a great supervisor.
Histotechnologist (Former Employee), Bloomington, ILJuly 22, 2014
Our pathologist always took the time to educate and explain things to us. Our supervisor was willing to help out however she could. The only draw back was work volume. It fluctuated quite a bit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IS LABCORP REALLY HIRING?
Consumer (Current Employee), Atlantic DivisionJuly 21, 2014
Pros: just to a job
Cons: the list could go on for days, dont get me started
...Doesnt seem like it. Everytime I stop by to drop a resume off or try to contact a supervisor, no one responds. They always seem to be short staffed with long wait times. I waited 1.5 hrs just to have blood drawn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 20, 2014
I worked in Specimen processing and Cytology areas. Management wasn't always the best, but working with a good crew of like-minded people made the days go better. Not much opportunity for advancement though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweat Shop is a good description
Specimen Accessioner (Current Employee), Raritan, NJJuly 19, 2014
Pros: free lunch every now and again, %12 additional for overnight shift
Cons: benefits are expensive, a lot of work for little pay, idiotic mangers
Management doesn't care about you, just the work is getting done. The lot of them are a joke and they don't even know how to do the job. How can you tell me how to do my job when you can't do it in the first place? You want it easy here, just make friends with the supervisors, you can do whatever you want and get away with it. You want to come in 2 – more... hours late and leave early every night, sure go ahead. Your production is half what it should be for the last year? Here's a raise. Seriously, a huge joke. I do however feel secure that I have a job as long as I want it because they don't even fire people that don't know what they are doing and making a mistake every 5 mins. You always get another chance it seems. I would suggest to stay away but, it's too enticing a place to work for lazy people. The harder you work, the more work you do here, thats your perk, that or a new chair to do more work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a friendly enviornment!
Specimen Accessioner (Former Employee), Albany, NYJuly 19, 2014
Pros: pay and earned vacation time
Cons: treated horribly, no advancement, short staffed.
The pay is decent and I actually liked the job itself. Management is horrible, they treat employees terribly. You earn a decent amount of vacation time but it is very hard to get any time off approved. We were told that for the summer months nobody was allowed to request time off. They would sometimes approve time off for you and take it back the day – more... before your scheduled time off. When you did contact someone about your complaints, even when you went through the chain of command, like they recommend, nobody will get back to you. They just brush you off like you don't even exist. They will give you a great review but won't give you a reason why they didn't give you a raise. Always short staffed, upper management won't get their hands dirty and help you finish the work, and you are treated terribly. I would not recommend to work for LabCorp, it was a highly disappointing experience. There is also no room for advancement. The females were highly discriminated against, males were given much better treatment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We're not in Kansas anymore Toto....
Cytotechnologist (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 18, 2014
This was once a good company to be with--we had perks like overtime and company picnics and fun competitions between the labs...all has changed. Now you may have vacation time but getting to use it is another matter. Rather than treatment as a competent professional there is an atmosphere of distrust and disregard for the individual. Employees are micromanaged – more... and treated as just cogs in the corporate wheel, used to the advantage of the parent company...worst is the feeling that the patient is the last person in the equation for consideration. More is expected from the employee and less is given ...in both respect and in compensation. Co-worker turnover rates are very high due to increased job dissatisfaction. No longer is there a sense of rapport or teamwork with the physicians and the patients. No longer my idea of a service field., no longer my idea of the life I want to live. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 17, 2014
Pros: a lot of over time
Cons: short breaks
productive place to work, always busy supervisors or good to get along with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to balance life and work
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee), Burlington, NCJuly 17, 2014
It's very hard to balance life and work while working endless mandatory overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proficient
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Burlington, NCJuly 17, 2014
I worked on the research development team, if a patient called in to customer service and the agent was unable to handle the call due to escalation, the information was relayed to my department, we would research the issues whether it was a coding error, insurance error, or clinic error, call the patient back and inform them of the resolution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically demanding
Custodian (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJuly 16, 2014
Pros: lots of responsibility
Cons: hours couldn't be flexible with my internship
I personally enjoy a job that demands my attention the entire time of a shift. I was a custodian during my general education portion of college responsible for and maintaining the cytology, hematology and microbiology labs of Labcorp . Each shift I was able to listen to my recorded lectures and or music while moving an entire eight and a half hours. – more... My boss was fairly absent, though the night shift microbiologist made for good company. I had to put my two weeks in two weeks before I began my internship with Concorde. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great place to work
Student Clinicals (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 16, 2014
Employers are friendly, and co-workers are amazing. It's very family oriented company.

About LabCorp

LabCorp provides leading-edge medical laboratory tests and services through a national network of primary clinical laboratories – Read more

LabCorp Photos