Find companies:
LabCorp
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
675 reviews

LabCorp Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
phlebotomist (Former Employee), Centreville IL.May 23, 2014
I enjoyed the patients. The extremely high patient load was sometimes over whelming without a vacation. All or most vacation denied due to short staffing..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
phlebotomist
Phlebotomy Technician (Current Employee), Burlington, NJMay 22, 2014
take patients blood, perform drug screens, answering phone calls, input patients information in
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company--Feel Like Just a Number
Patient Service Technician (Current Employee), NCMay 20, 2014
Pros: office staff, great patients
Cons: rules rules and rules. time off, feel like just a number
For the most part it is ok. I work as an IOP, the office staff is wonderful. As for Lab Corp, I feel communication is lacking with supervisor. Hard to get time off, although they encourage you take your PLB. More than 4 unscheduled absents in a year will get you written up. Crazy rules regarding wearing lab coat while at work. I average 20-30 patients/day, – more... so there is often some down time. Pay is decent,but the opportunity to advance isvery difficult. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career minded individuals only
Supervisor, Clinical Accessioning (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 19, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: life balance
If you are very career oriented, it could be the place for you; expect long hours. If taking a salary position, ensure that you factor in the hours you will be putting in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad company low pay
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Los AngelesMay 19, 2014
they work you so hard supervisor don't care if your over work as long as you get the job done I seen supervisor come and go needs better management and better pay very stressful I seen 9 supervisor quit in less than 1 1/2 so that tells you all how it is
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT field technician
Computer System Specialist (Former Employee), Uniondale, NYMay 17, 2014
good work life balance. Not much room for growth. Everything gets done very slowly within the company. poor compensation and benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not my ideal job therefore Im' actively seeking
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Current Employee), Burlington, NCMay 15, 2014
Pros: 3% contribution to 401k
Cons: health insurance is too high i pay $117 out of every paycheck for health insurance alone.
A typical workday is high demanding; too much work barely enough time. Every Monday I operate two benches that both require multiple assays/patient testing. I have learned to become meticulous in my work method. Management needs improvement. I have witnessed management seek out workers for job promotions without interviewing other qualified applicants. – more... Management has the authority to block workers from leaving their department and use 30 day holds on people that do get hired in other departments. Not a place for real advancement unless you are one of the favored. Co-workers are shady therefore my interaction with them is strictly professional. The hardest part of my job is squeezing all my duties into 8 hours. The work volume for one person is ridiculous. The most enjoyable part of my day is the end of my day when all my work is complete to the point of satisfaction within my 8 hour work day; thus each day my work goal is complete, doctors are happy, patients are going to be accurately treated because of the hard work and endurance I bring everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, good diversity, family oriented
Front End Billing Specialist (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 14, 2014
well organized, great schedule, great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, awesome open door policy, multiple opportunities for advancement and great training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Time at Lab Corp
Pateint Service Technician (Current Employee), Houston, TXMay 13, 2014
Pros: gifts during lab week
Cons: difficult getting time
Accommodating over 60 patients a day, while showing compassion, skills and experience in blood collection and other specimen collection.

Co-workers willing to help when it's needed

The patients are the most enjoyable parts of the job, being able to interact with different people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
venipunctures, entered orders, provided excellent customer service
Phlebotomy Service Representative II (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 13, 2014
collected and processed blood and other specimens; worked front desk and back of lab
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy and Productive
Senior Technologist (Current Employee), Research Triangle Park, NCMay 13, 2014
Pros: friendly atmosphere, teamwork
Cons: lack of possible career advancements. no incentives.
Most enjoyable part of my job is knowing that I provide a service in which the clients may come to a conclusion and provide a diagnosis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with room for growth and learning
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNMay 13, 2014
Professional and cordial outpatient clinic and hospital environment. Supportive team environment. Learned new skills by working in different hospital departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace
Reference Test Clerk (Former Employee), Dallas, TexasMay 13, 2014
Pros: early work days
Cons: not leaving until all specimens have been processed
I would arrive at work approx 2:45 am. For the first few hours I would process referral specimens for testing to be send out. These specimens are all room temp specimens. The second half of my workday wold consist of the same process. Only these specimens were all frozen specimens. That had to be properly store in dry ice. The remaining of my day would – more... consist of problem solving and reviewing audits. The challenging part of y workday would be making sure that all the specimens have been send out in the proper timing matter, regardless of the specimens arrival to my department. Having them sent out on time with the accuracy of the tests required is a major part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, not so good workplace.
Laboratory Technologist (Former Employee), RTP, NCMay 12, 2014
Pros: convenient shift, good money, interesting work.
Cons: messy workplace, poor training, short breaks.
I feel like people leave these reviews either as soon as they get the job out of excitement, or soon after they left, or were fired from the company, so a lot of these reviews are pure emotion and very little situational fact. This review serves to inform in detail what my experience was like. For starters, the company states that a HS Diploma with – more... college credits in a few scientific subjects will suffice for education requirements which lead me to believe that proper training would be provided granted that individuals with this maximum education wouldn't know much about lab work, but it can be taught. I have a bachelor's degree, so I had prior lab experience, but not in this capacity. Again, it can be taught to anyone. I wasn't provided with the proper time and hands-on training to effectively do the job, but I was chewed out by supervisors for making mistakes that I was not informed of. Most coworkers are so concerned with their own work that helping and informing a new employee is the last thing they will be concerned with. I was pawned off to my busy coworkers on the first day. Imagine trying to learn from someone moving so fast, it's almost impossible to observe. As far as "training," I was given several thick books of material to read that were full of repetitive diagrams and was expected to be able to perform at a fast-paced level after reading it with no hands on training until it was time to perform on actual specimens in which mistakes are costly. I was never fully taught the computer system, which is a very important component of your workday, and often had to ask others the steps to get to a certain function of the system. When asking for help from coworkers, I was often given the runaround between them (since nobody wanted to take the time to help), and would eventually end up going to my supervisor for help and being sent back to my coworkers for the same runaround. It was a very messy environment in terms of drama in the workplace. Coworkers argued frequently and often expressed their dislikes for one another while one was not around. The supervisor was just as involved in the drama as the young coworkers and is old enough to be most of their mothers. It seems as if you chose not to converse with coworkers outside of work related subjects, the supervisor will see a problem with that as if you weren't getting along with everyone. I was often told I didn't talk enough as if I'd want to share any information with gossiping coworkers that talk about each other (so high-school). Bottom line: If you are able and would like to be trained to properly do your job, and you do not fit well with attitudes and snappiness, nor deal with coworkers in your personal (not work) life, then this is not a great workplace for you. Then again, that was my experience. Every LabCorp isn't the same. I've seen tons of good reviews, but also a handful of bad reviews. I tried to ignore the bad ones and have my own experience and this is what it was. It may depend on location and the particular department you work for. Needless to say, I didn't work there long. Most of the employees there are looking for a way out, but stay because the money/work experience (as applicable to seeking other jobs) is good. The best thing about the job was the pay and shift convenience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lab Assistant/Specimen Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Burlington, NCMay 8, 2014
Will work you and try to get over at the first chance. Team work is the word.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Phlebotomy Intern (Former Employee), Chesapeake, VAMay 7, 2014
intern
helpful staff
learning experience
intern
intern
intern
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Phlebotomist, PST (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMay 6, 2014
Pros: love the workplace and patients
Cons: nothing i could say that was a con
Love working at the IOP I was at. I really learned a lot working at this IOP office. I loved the doctors I worked for and the co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Phlebotomy Intern (Current Employee), Newark, OHMay 6, 2014
Labcorp was a wonderful place to work .I was only an intern and only worked for a week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company has some stability
Phlebotomy (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZMay 5, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: never have time off even though your guaranteed alot of plb, you dont get approved and lose it at the end of the year
Management is not good, Supervisors constantly lie and you never get approved time off. I have worked for this company in several states and by far Phoenix has the worse management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a very busy patient service center, i've learned a lot being at labcorp.
Patient Service Technician (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 5, 2014
Cons: personal leave time, your quarterly incentives
I've learned a lot being at labcorp, i've met alot of beautiful co-workers that i will miss but my journey has ended. i would usually service 65-75 people in a day. i learned how to spin down the blood and transfer into the proper transfer tubes. i also learned how to do occupational drug screens and paternity test some was private and some was court – more... ordered. The management was pretty fine with me i really did't have an issue to much. my co-workers were awesome and i will miss them the most. the hardest part of the job not being able to call out when your really sick. everything else was pretty great. – less

About LabCorp

LabCorp provides leading-edge medical laboratory tests and services through a national network of primary clinical laboratories – Read more