Find companies:
Lafarge North America
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
53 reviews

Lafarge North America Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Diesel Technician (Former Employee), Newnan, GANovember 4, 2014
Pros: learned new skills
Cons: not much chance for advancement
I did preventive maintenance daily. I did a lot of trouble shooting on electrical, air and hydraulic systems. I learned a lot of trouble shooting skills on equipment that had never worked on before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Driver/Dispatcher (Current Employee), New Orleans, LAOctober 6, 2014
I thought the entrepreneur experience was a great one. It gave my
perspective on how hard it is start and run a business without
good people to move your business along.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Instrumentation Electrician (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 4, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: dirty enviroment
I did electrical maintenance in entire plant. I operated all sorts of equipment and kept inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
barge loading
barge loader (Former Employee), Ravena, NYJune 25, 2014
well it was fun working on the river.we worked in groups of 4....when it came to barge loading we had a big responsibility...I would load...I had two guys that would walk around and made sure everything was safe and good...the third guy was my system man...he would make sure I had good feed on my belts and took samples of cement every hr,..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company. Bad Management. H.R. disorganized. plenty of room for improvement.
Production Associate (Former Employee), Silver Grove, KYJune 11, 2014
Pros: good benefits, good co-workers.
Cons: management`s indifferent attitude.
Good job. Dirty place. Co-workers concerned about others and their work. Lower management overworked. Upper management unconcerned. I enjoyed working with most people there, especially plant maintenance personnel. The point-sytem employed by staff was extremely unfair and they could care less.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced manufacturing environment
Bundler Operator (Current Employee), Buchanan, NYJune 2, 2014
Pros: good pay, co-workers
Cons: long days, travel, no set schedule
Typical day starts with a pre-shift/safety meeting discussing the production for the day ahead of us, then onto the work floor where any quality or maintenance issues are also discussed with the shift being relieved. Each day is something different with the production of various types of drywall. It is a fast paced environment where any hiccup can cause – more... upsets in the production. When upsets do arise, each employee is cross-trained on various jobs limiting the amount off lost product. The hardest part of the day is remaining focused on all issues, most importantly your own safety and the safety of the person next to you. Safety takes priority over anything else. The most enjoyable part of the day is everyone going home the same way they came in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice coworkers
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Silver Grove, KYMarch 25, 2014
Pros: staying busy
Cons: to many bosses
I liked to drive a forklift and the hours I worked. The coworkers were real nice to work with and very cooperative with others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job at Lafarge
Dispatcher (Current Employee), Carbondale COMarch 1, 2014
Pros: daily new challenges
Cons: lafarge sold out to another company
I would dispatch RMX trucks every other day. On the opposite days I would take the orders and do the scheduling for the next business day's orders. Everyday was a new day. Always challenging. I worked well with my fellow team-mates. The hardest part of my job was scheduling the trucks for the times that the customers would want especially during the – more... busy season. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Estimator/Scheduler
Estimator (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: starbucks coffer
Cons: long commute
Work with engineers and project managers on Cement Processing Plants throughout North America.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Plant Operator (Former Employee), Houma, LAFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: work at all hours of the night
Work with great people and great pay. Outside and inside work done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Materials Performance Technician (Former Employee), Wichita, KSDecember 31, 2013
Miss working for such a good employer . Always took great care of the employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic employer
Finance Analyst (Former Employee), Mandeville, LAOctober 22, 2013
Financial Analysis exposure was invaluable to growing my career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very relaxed environment
Terminal Operator (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: plenty of ot opportunity.
Cons: long winters when the river freezes over
Unload barges of bulk powdered cement, bulk load semi-trucks, maintain plant equipment and conduct day to day operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day to day
cccd manager and safety instructor (Current Employee), elgin ilJune 27, 2013
Pros: rewarding
Typical day is a mixture of opening the facility insuring that my staff has what they need and being sure all safety instructions and meetings are up to date. My co workers are always complimenting me on my easy going ways and how i make them smile with my personality. I find it rewarding that i can make an impact on there lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operations management
Operations/Plant Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 12, 2013
Managed multiple high volume and high profile plants in the Atlanta area. Learned a lot in customer value.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall was a great company with wonderful people
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAFebruary 28, 2013
It was a great learning experience being able to make changes and improvements to existing processes, Lafarge was open to suggestions...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment with friendly people
Information Technology Support Analyst (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAFebruary 21, 2013
It was never a hard thing to get up in the morning and go to work. My manager was not a micro-manager and as long as I did my job he never bothered me. The people were pleasant to work with. I learned about everything I know that concerns computers at Lafarge. I learned how to manage time and work with all sorts of people with different personalities – more... over the yrs. The hardest part of the job which I learned to adapt to was coming in on a typical morning thinking I had my day planned out. Then having a major technical problem that affected almost everyone and having to change my plans for the day. I think this probably comes with any job and can be a challenge. But it taught me a lot about how to deal with difficult situations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best employers in northern Virginia.
Customer Value Team Lead, Gypsum Division (Former Employee), Reston, VAFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: excellent health insurance and retirement benefits, adequate leave, overall a very desirable workplace.
The Gypsum Division at Lafarge is very well-organized and efficient. It employs dedicated staff who are well trained and adequately compensated for their hard work. Team-building activities and incentives are provided, as well as ongoing educational opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Sold
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKFebruary 4, 2013
Great company to work for but based out of Canada. Company sold to Eagle Materials which I do not recommend.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Process Engineer
Process Engineer (Former Employee), Harleyville, SCJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: opportunity for advancement and utilization of acquired skill sets.
Typical day was to monitor the process, conduct field test and collect samples for testing. All of which was used for continuous improvement. I learned the importance of process and procedure and the need for continuous improvement. My co-workers were also responsible for monitoring and maintaining specific areas of the plant. There was really nothing – more... hard about the job, just a lot of diversity and several problems to solve on a daily basis. The most enjoyable part of the job was fulfillment of problem solving and helping to make the process better. – less

1 2 3

About Lafarge North America

Lafarge North America works to be the foundation of buildings, roads, and bridges across US and Canada. As North America's largest – Read more