Find companies:
Lafarge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
59 reviews

Lafarge Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Electrical Engineer (Former Employee), al fuheisFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: short break
training on electric drives, motors and generators operation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multi task, International Company
Executive Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: nice people
Email and Calendar maintenance for Executive Management Team. Domestic and International Travel accommodations. Interact with all departments, plant employees and other Administrative personnel in other cities and states. Enjoyed all my co-workers, everyone worked hard but took time to be helpful and work together as a team. My position was to support – more... several Executives and everyone's needs were important, sometimes difficult working with many interruptions. I enjoyed the fast pace of my job and to be diligent in helping others. I am a team player. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very old company with a lot of resources
Quality Engineer/Supervisor (Former Employee), Harleyville, SCDecember 11, 2013
Pros: ownership of product/systems
Cons: non-stable market
The cement industry is very old so there is a lot knowledge already built into the organization.

Typical day was reviewing the data from QA and Process and determining it's potential impact on the daily product and determining the rates of raw materials to be blended to create the best product.

I learned the importance of good structured systems and – more... auditing and how to set them up.

The hardest part of the job was the volatility of the market. It dictated how we ran and the schedule.

The most enjoyable was ownership they gave to each employee over a system or piece of equipment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Eastern Regional Sales Manager (Current Employee), Central MarylandSeptember 17, 2013
Lafarge was a great company to work for and a strong company. Unfortunately they sold our division.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Process Intern (Former Employee), Joppa, ILJune 15, 2013
great place to start a career. everyone is very helpful and the people you work with make the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fly Ash Tech
Fly Ash Technician (Current Employee), KSFebruary 4, 2013
Pros: advancement, benefits
Cons: playing a key role
A work day would consist of running tests of fly ash per ASTM 618. From graduation to my first job, I learned valuable knowledge about fly ash as well as extended my knowledge of concrete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Work Day at Lafarge North America
Dispatcher (Former Employee), Metairie, LouisianaJanuary 10, 2013
Pros: leave for dr. appts, breaks when needed, family leave when needed, attend your kid functions at shcool
Cons: we really could not leave for lunch, lunch was at your desk.
A typical work day at Lafarge begins in the early morning typical (01:00)am. From 01:00 am to 06:00, I am in the office alone. In this time frame depending on the work load, I am dispatching drivers to designated job sites, answer all phones from customers and Lafarge saleman and taking orders. Time goes by really fast, 06:00am is here. The other dispatchers – more... begin to come in for their work day. Now the day gets a little easier, I now have help. On Mondays when my co-worker gets in, he would releive me so I can get payroll completed before 09:00am. At 11:00am my work day is over.

LaFarge was a big happy family. We worked 10 hours days 6 days a week, but I enjoyed my job.

My leaving LaFarge were personal reasons. I recently remarried and relocated to Baton Rouge, La., where my husband lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41/2 ****
Millwright, welder, operator (Former Employee), Morrison, COJanuary 9, 2013
Pros: the employees &safety were real good
Cons: better once the union was gone.
Very good place to work always learning something new .very good equipment,well kept,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe,challenging work environment with high production standards.
Heavy Equipment Operator/Maintenance (Current Employee), Perryville,MO.January 3, 2013
Pros: supervisors and plant managers working alongside you when production plant breaks down.
Cons: dirty, dusty conditions make job difficult to meet production goals.
Each day started with a safety/production meeting detailing the importance of using proper safety equipment and tools for a specific task. Challenging production standards requires the help of every employee which creates a very productive team. My co-workers are always alert and look out for the safety of others,including outside contractors and customers. – more... These qualities gives employees "Good piece of mind" and trust in one another. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lafarge is a disappointement
accountant (Current Employee), SSC SouthfieldJune 26, 2012
Pros: flexible work schedule
Cons: favoritism and rude work enviroment>
There is no loyalty at this company. They use and abuse you. It's all about politics and not performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, great benefits
Project Lead (Former Employee), Southfield, MIMay 21, 2012
Flexible work hours
Good salary and benefits
Great people to work with
Expect a re-org ever 3-5 years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed environment, fast paced
Lead Dispatcher/Customer Service (Former Employee), Fort Collins, COApril 26, 2012
Pros: the people, customers
Cons: the long hours, 430am to 600 or 700 pm
there would be 3 people in dispatch office each day. 2 would take calls and input orders for that day or the following days. the other person would dispatch trucks. In this position we rotated out the weeks and weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work no presure
Admin Assistance and Reception (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: training recommended if need be
Cons: average working hours
Mostly is busy in the mornings because all work must be updated and have to follow up on emails and filed work. i have learned that when ever i deal with a project i must make sure that is done and closed it must not be left pending because as human beings if you are busy yoyu turn to forget, and filling is very important , we work as a team here at – more... Lafarge in oder to skill each other, everyone learns each other's job , the hardest part is when you find that our compter serve are down its very difficult as most of our jobs have to be captured on the system. The most enjoyable part is that there is always something to learn and do within the company so its easier to grow within the company. What i have learned is that hard works pays at the end of the day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Safety Advisor (contract) (Current Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: lots of work
Cons: lay-offs when work runs out
Harris Rebar is a good union company with lots of work when its busy but they take on so much at one time when work runs out they can not keep all their guys
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Work, Good Pay
HEAVY EQUIPMENT OPERATOR (Current Employee), EdmontonAugust 28, 2014
Hard Work, Good Pay. Union Company, fast paced environment and seasonal, no snow removal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Cintroller (Current Employee), Randfontein, GPJuly 22, 2014
I've learned that any idea will take you places, all you need is to work as a team.

I had the most defficulty in controlling mill quality in my first month of running the mill but with time i manage to become one of the best'

I enjoyed artervia concrete project in durban and my first mill shut down project. i got a chance to go inside a cyclone

management – more... is the best, they value all employees

pressure is always a key to keep us working together as a team – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accountant (Former Employee), Bucuresti, IFJune 25, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Module General Accounting (GL)
- Module Receivables
- Module Payables
- Module Stock and Services
- balance sheet
- audit reports
- fiscal statements
- daily accounting records
- reconciliations (accounts)
- sales journals , purchase journals
- inventories procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were great to work with!
Ready Mix Driver (Former Employee), LethbridgeJune 5, 2014
Pros: the pay
Cons: long hours
Delivery of concrete to work sites, very many different applications of concrete, the management was fantastic, co-workers were fantastic, hardest part of job was learning about the concrete, slumps, pouring, and the applications, everybody that trained me had the patience to teach me what I learned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lafarge
Application BI Manager (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMay 15, 2014
Pros: canteen
Lafarge has a lot of challenging work, and the BI environment is very highly used.

I really enjoyed working there, and regret leaving the company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales/Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBApril 28, 2014
I only worked for the summer, but I always felt welcomed by the employees there. I was given multiple opportunities to participate, and I was always given the training necessary.

1 2 3

About Lafarge

Lafarge North America works to be the foundation of buildings, roads, and bridges across US and Canada. As North America's largest – Read more