Find companies:
Lake Superior State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Lake Superior State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very managable for a busy life
Chef Assistant (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, MIOctober 23, 2013
Pros: works with your scedual
Cons: not a lot of hours
was very helpful for busy days and having school to go along the work day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable time with an outstanding workplace community.
Instructor of Communication Studies (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, MISeptember 9, 2013
Working as an instructor, my work hours depended upon the needs of my students. The classrooms were clean and technologically advanced. My department chair was responsive and supportive when inquiry or concerns were apparent.

Working independently was one of the best parts of this job but knowing I had an active community and team environment is what – more... made me flourish in this position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lake State
Interim Head Women's Basketball Coach (Current Employee), Sault Sainte Marie, MIMarch 19, 2013
Pros: travel, flexible hourly schedule
Cons: long days, weekends, travel
Typical day consists of recruiting, budgets, travel expenses, organizing camps, watching game film, preparing for workouts, weight lifting workouts, etc.

I have learned to really stay organized and balanced in what I spend more time on than another. Co-Workers are what keep us coming to work everyday; I couldn't have asked for better co-workers while – more... here at LSSU over the past 5 years.

Hardest part of my job is thinking thru ideas and what will be best for our team at the current moment. Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the smiles on the players faces knowing that they were successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working, Fun person able to get the job done
Cook (Temp) (Current Employee), Sault Sainte Marie, MIFebruary 5, 2013
A typical day at work for me in having my ideal job would include creating projects, completing assignments, seeking more assignments upon completion of other jobs.
The hardest job I had was cleaning out silos and pouring concrete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging but rewarding job both mentally and emotionally.
Laboratory Preparation Assistant (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, MIJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: working with such smart and welcoming people, constantly learning new lab techniques and standards, and of course, the chemistry jokes.
Cons: could get lonesome at times and became frustrating when my inexperience inconvenienced others.
Prepping the weekly labs was primarily an independent job for me and included various duties such as keeping a sanitized lab, updating the lab manuals, checking inventory for necessary components, communicating any concerns/and or suggestions with the professors and my supervisor, and mainly just using common sense to avoid potentially dangerous situations.
I – more... was able to log hours whenever it was convenient for my schedule so long as my labs were prepped and ready by the time the classes started. As a freshman taking a full coarse load, I can barely express how grateful I was to have such an accommodating employer.
I also had a very understanding supervisor who always made me feel worthy and competent even on the occasions when the stress of homesickness and classes got the better of me.
The knowledge I gained as a result of this job is something I will always be grateful for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and strong environment
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee), Sault Ste Marie, MINovember 5, 2012
Pros: good pay, freedom for classroom management & lesson plans
Cons: i would have liked to teach more courses.
I taught two classes a week which met twice a week. I taught a lab class so time was divided between lecture/board work and working with the group or one on one. I learned how to be more professional, how to manage my time better at home and at work towards completing what was needed for the classes, and I learned valuable teaching skills. The administrative – more... staff and other professors were always helpful, friendly, and encouraging. The hardest part was working with students with poor attitudes or work ethics but nonetheless, working with students was the best part. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and feel fulfilled.
Admissions Advisor (Former Employee), Saulte Sainte Marie MISeptember 20, 2012
Pros: great institution to work for and to gain experience.
Cons: very low job security because of state funding.
A typical day during the school year consisted of constant travel to state wide high schools and college day fairs promoting the institution and recruiting new students. During the summer, days were spent in the office interviewing prospective students and parents, giving campus tours, explaining the admissions process, breaking down cost and gaining – more... commitment form students to enroll. In this position I learned a great deal in listening and identifying with the prospects needs, interest, concerns and desires and properly matching knowledge and information to generate a positive outcome and solution. The work environment was great and relaxed. The hardest part of the job was staying busy. The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a great team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, MIAugust 28, 2012
I would not recommend Lake Superior State University to anybody for employment or any of the degree programs. They do not care about the students or the workers and the tuition is way too high with too many hidden fee's. They treat the students like garbage and drain them of their financial resources and also give them grades which do not reflect their – more... true ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Building Manager
Student Manager (Former Employee), Sault Ste. Marie, MIJune 26, 2012
I was in charge of customer care with students and visitors to Lake Superior State!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lame work place with decent benefits
Telethon Caller (Former Employee), Sault Sainte Marie, MIMay 10, 2012
Poor management, beneficial for workers who are lazy. Very compensating with hours.