LAKE WALES MEDICAL CENTER Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJanuary 2, 2018
Worked in dietary office and learned about different types of menus (diabetic, cardiac, etc) as well as different types of food for patients. Whenever was shorthanded also worked in other areas of dietary to help out
Pros
Free food
Cons
12 hour shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only hire for winter. Crowds
Er registration rep (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLNovember 24, 2017
mulitple hires. Rushed thru training
Promise of hours. Disappear as the winter residents return to the north

Er lead. Has great knowledge but doesn't train very well
Really dangerous practice of only having one overnight registration person on the er desk
Pros
Ample size hospital
Cons
Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad review
Phlebotomist/Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLSeptember 30, 2017
They hire you with an offer then tell you they have to cut your pay because they can't find your certification that was mailed to them twice. they employees are to cliquish, they dont welcome new people
Cons
very cliqueish
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Floor nurse
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLSeptember 27, 2017
Hours too long, nurses not held accountable for being late, had to work with skeleton crews, but had great people to work with, and great support from management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very nice place to work, I would recommend it to a friend.
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLAugust 26, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at LWMC it was a fantastic place to get my feet wet in a hospital environment. I would like to keep expanding my horizon in the medical field... im ready for anything the comes my way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
felt like a family
RN PCU (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLAugust 6, 2017
The pace was fair, the workload was fair, workers worked well with one anther. I enjoyed the smaller environment. People helpful.
No complaints. Director was excellent.
Pros
Many gifts
Cons
being called off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drama
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 6, 2017
This place is full of DRAMA and CLICKS! If you're not in the "IT" crowd you'll never go anywhere. All the rules apply to the unpopular, not in the IT crowd group while everyone else does what they want
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Dietetic Student (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 5, 2017
The days here were filled and memorable. There was great work life balance and it was truly a joy making a difference within the community that was served.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the employees here
Registered Nurse PCU (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMay 30, 2017
I have worked here in several different nursing roles and I keep coming back. For the most part the management team is fair, positive, and looks out for the employees and the patients.
I would recommend working at LWMC.
The doctors are friendly and approachable.
Pros
Great work enviornment
Cons
Sometimes the nurse to patient ratio is too high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJanuary 4, 2017
Great bunch of nurses and staff to work with, team players, helpful. the most enjoyable part of the job was patient care. Loved being with my patients every shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at the Hospital.
House Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 18, 2016
Outstanding upper level medical staff management/leadership system in place that provides great staff support and needed resources to be able to provide great patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work at.
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 12, 2016
I supervised 25-30 persons per day. Making work assignments and daily cleaning. I was in charge of ordering all food needed. I received all food trucks. Keeping up with city and state guidelines and proper sanitation procedure
Pros
great group of people to work with.
Cons
long hours at times doing 15-17 hour days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Outpatient Coder (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 7, 2016
I loved working here the benefits were amazing, and the staff was friendly. The HIM staff was like family and I loved the atmosphere. Being a Coder in a hospital is stressful, but was not at this hospital, and that was because of the great co workers there.
Pros
The Benefits
Cons
The food in the cafe
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical rural hospital
Staff PTA, CPI Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 4, 2016
great director and co-workers for the most part. compensation is poor and no opportunity for advancement within department.
Pros
schedule flexibility with director
Cons
not a challenging therapy enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe for staff and patients
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 11, 2016
Administration hand picked people for jobs...qualified or not. It's a favorites game and if they didn't like you or you didnt subscribe to their way of thinking you were labeled a trouble maker. Very unsafe staffing ratios. It's all about money first..patient safety 2ND and staff last. Small town mentality and need to be more willing to accept change and modernize the facility and way of thinking. It used to be a great place to work. They promised the moon and delivered nothing.
Pros
No longer work there
Cons
Unsafe. Lack of caring by administration. Weak administration. Youre just a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller hospital, small town afraid of change
Chief Quality Officer (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMay 21, 2016
When I worked there it was a place very reluctant of change. The people were memorable, but the CSuite was intimidating . Quality was not the most important part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job poor staffing
rn (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLOctober 31, 2015
good job poor staffing patient staffing ratio leaves m,uych to be desired small hospital not much room for advancement, overall not a bad place to work just limited staffing resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Admitting Clerk (Former Employee) –  lake walesOctober 23, 2015
Working at the hospital you see and experience so many different things. I personally enjoyed working there. I learned so many things when I was employed there. I would refer more there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant office staff, good team to work with in the Business Office
Log Analyst/Reimbursement (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 27, 2015
I am very happy and satisfied working at Lake Wales Medical Center. I have great coworkers and directors. Unfortunately, our corporate office has decided to out source the business office functions . So our jobs will be terminated as of 8/1/15
Pros
Great, great working staff
Cons
Today - the workload can be overwhelming. Tomorrow - it could be a breeze.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.enjoyed working there.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMarch 15, 2015
Very enjoying place to work.typical day at work was my work load heavy short of staff.I learn to do finger sticks,remove foleys.was good but could have been better.very great coworkers team players.when your short of staff.when you can go in to work and have enough staff.Excellent place to work.rate it a nine.
Pros
free lunches whenpatients scores were high.
Cons
sometimes no lunch are breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LAKE WALES MEDICAL CENTER. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 36 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5

LAKE WALES MEDICAL CENTER Reviews by Location