LAKE WALES MEDICAL CENTER Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at the Hospital.
House Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 18, 2016
Outstanding upper level medical staff management/leadership system in place that provides great staff support and needed resources to be able to provide great patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place to work at.
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 12, 2016
I supervised 25-30 persons per day. Making work assignments and daily cleaning. I was in charge of ordering all food needed. I received all food trucks. Keeping up with city and state guidelines and proper sanitation procedure
Pros
great group of people to work with.
Cons
long hours at times doing 15-17 hour days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Outpatient Coder (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 7, 2016
I loved working here the benefits were amazing, and the staff was friendly. The HIM staff was like family and I loved the atmosphere. Being a Coder in a hospital is stressful, but was not at this hospital, and that was because of the great co workers there.
Pros
The Benefits
Cons
The food in the cafe
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical rural hospital
Staff PTA, CPI Instructor (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 4, 2016
great director and co-workers for the most part. compensation is poor and no opportunity for advancement within department.
Pros
schedule flexibility with director
Cons
not a challenging therapy enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe for staff and patients
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 11, 2016
Administration hand picked people for jobs...qualified or not. It's a favorites game and if they didn't like you or you didnt subscribe to their way of thinking you were labeled a trouble maker. Very unsafe staffing ratios. It's all about money first..patient safety 2ND and staff last. Small town mentality and need to be more willing to accept change and modernize the facility and way of thinking. It used to be a great place to work. They promised the moon and delivered nothing.
Pros
No longer work there
Cons
Unsafe. Lack of caring by administration. Weak administration. Youre just a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller hospital, small town afraid of change
Chief Quality Officer (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMay 21, 2016
When I worked there it was a place very reluctant of change. The people were memorable, but the CSuite was intimidating . Quality was not the most important part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job poor staffing
rn (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLOctober 31, 2015
good job poor staffing patient staffing ratio leaves m,uych to be desired small hospital not much room for advancement, overall not a bad place to work just limited staffing resources
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
Admitting Clerk (Former Employee) –  lake walesOctober 23, 2015
Working at the hospital you see and experience so many different things. I personally enjoyed working there. I learned so many things when I was employed there. I would refer more there.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant office staff, good team to work with in the Business Office
Log Analyst/Reimbursement (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 27, 2015
I am very happy and satisfied working at Lake Wales Medical Center. I have great coworkers and directors. Unfortunately, our corporate office has decided to out source the business office functions . So our jobs will be terminated as of 8/1/15
Pros
Great, great working staff
Cons
Today - the workload can be overwhelming. Tomorrow - it could be a breeze.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.enjoyed working there.
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMarch 15, 2015
Very enjoying place to work.typical day at work was my work load heavy short of staff.I learn to do finger sticks,remove foleys.was good but could have been better.very great coworkers team players.when your short of staff.when you can go in to work and have enough staff.Excellent place to work.rate it a nine.
Pros
free lunches whenpatients scores were high.
Cons
sometimes no lunch are breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work with co-workers
Health Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 11, 2014
Review charts, put in orders, talk with doctors and nurses. communicated with other departments. The atmosphere was friendly and the staff was fun to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
reason I would recommend LWMC
Staff Mammographer (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLNovember 20, 2014
Always trying to stay on top of technology.
Putting patients first.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small but Busy
RN ER (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLSeptember 29, 2014
Great team mates, CNO and director...recently acquired by CHS
Cons
lunch breaks are rare... no techs of any kind, no housekeeping to turn over rooms... RN's do it all, in the ER plus transport pt's
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
CT Technologist (Former Employee) –  410 S 11th ST Lae Wales, FL 33853September 3, 2014
Good hospital with great staff. Nurses are friendly and work well with other departments. Hardest part of the job was the physical aspect of moving patients.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Caring Hospital
CNA (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FloridaApril 23, 2014
A typical work day was 12 hours long which included taking vital, rounding on patients, assisting patients with toileting and bathing, making beds, tray set up and feeding if needed and fulfilling any other needs the patient may have so that there hospital stay can be as comfortable as possible to promote a healing environment. I enjoyed working with all my co-workers and we all worked together as a team. The only down fall was the moving/turning of patients who were excessive weight ( 300 plus pounds) and not always having the proper help and or equipment available to do my job without injury.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very warm and friendly place to work, people care about each other.
Health Unit Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLApril 9, 2014
productive and happy place to work, A typical day is very busy, one has to be able to multi-task. co-workers are very friendly and family oriented.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
TCU / ICU / ER Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLApril 6, 2014
Great place to work. Excellent benefits. Great administration.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For profit business
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMarch 10, 2014
Flexibility a must in a facility that is for profit and decisions are made on a business model. Rural based community care.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
For profit business
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is decent, but will fire you without skipping s beat
Radiology Technologist (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLMarch 7, 2014
Terrible culture, no loyalty to employees. For profit hospital so you are just a number
Pros
Good pay for the area
Cons
No room for advancement, will promise to cross-train, but never will
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small community hospital
Medical-Surgical/Med-Tele/PCU Nurse (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLDecember 26, 2013
Worked on the floor where on any given day, I could be taking care of anywhere from 5-7 patients. Typical day on the floor would be checking charts, assessments in the morning followed by giving meds. Very busy hospital with the fact being that you're running around all day long.
Pros
Open to hiring graduate nurses
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at LAKE WALES MEDICAL CENTER. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.7

LAKE WALES MEDICAL CENTER Reviews by Location