Find companies:
LAKESHORE LEARNING MATERIALS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
17 reviews

LAKESHORE LEARNING MATERIALS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Seasonal Order Taker (Former Employee), Carson, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: free carnival and lunch on halloween
Cons: short lunch breaks
The company always trains its employees if they do changes to the system. Supervisors are always around to help if you get stuck. Co-workers are always friendly and courteous towards each other. Loved working their and look forward to working their again this year
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average job
Warehouse clerk (Former Employee), Carson, CAJuly 19, 2014
Pros: health benefits, 401k, vacation and sick time, eligible for raise every 6 months
Cons: many people don't speak english, some supervisors micromanage and go in frequent power trips, pay isn't the best, they won't push you to succeed, mandatory overtime, it's either managements way or your fired.
I worked there for a couple years and it seemed like forever. I was stuck doing the same job because I was good at it. My supervisor didn't even push for me to advance just because no one else could do it like me. I was always told that I was going to be training to do something else but I never had the chance to. It was extremely frustrating when other – more... people got transferred around to other buildings while I still kept doing the same repetitive thing.

However, I did learn a lot from my experience there, and I owe lakeshore for helping me build my work ethic. The job is very physically demanding and is constantly busy. So there is no down time at all. Overtime is almost everyday, and some people love it and some people hate it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun Learning and Working Environment for all
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Hamden, CTJune 23, 2014
Pros: staff, managers, work environment, employee discount
Cons: not a lot of hours available to work
Lakeshore Learning Store is a down to earth place to be employed. A typical work day is coming in to a place where everyone works towards a common goal. It is a place where support from each associate helps you get through to customers and provide the necessary needs of each. A team work oriented place that helps teachers, parents, grandparents, and – more... associates expand their knowledge of education and understanding amongst children. The most enjoyable part of my job is making a customer happy and having them say that they will come back again because it was such a wonderful experience for them. In opposition, the hardest part of my job is dealing with customers that are not open to new educational experiences and learning more about new educational options they can provide to their child. All in all, Lakeshore is a comfortable environment that offers endless amounts of educational experiences for children, teachers, parents, grandparents, and anyone who has interaction with children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome staff to work with
Seasonal Sales Associate/Outlet Associate (Current Employee), Carson, CAFebruary 1, 2014
A great working experience to learn, develop, and (surprisingly) help make a difference in the lives of teachers, their students, parents, and their children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved interacting with customers and emplooyees
Receiver, Production Lead, Restock-Supervisor (Former Employee), Carson, CADecember 3, 2013
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: working nights
When I got to work I went around and said hi to everybody and then I made sure all employees were assigned work and working correctly. I would then clean out payroll before doing the order for the store. I would the build displays and help stock the shelves before going home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Customer Service Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Carson, CASeptember 6, 2013
Pros: excellent employee support and award system.
Cons: .
Lakeshore is a family based company that truly supports it's employees. The owner walks through our department every day without fail. The number one goal is to carry quality products and provide the best service to customers. I have never been in a company where Customer Service was closely monitor by the owner to ensure consistent excellent service. – more... The people are excellent, meetings star on time and there is hardly any time wasted. There is a sense of urgency with everyone and you don't sense any mediocrity.

I lived in Florida before and want to return, that’s the only reason I would leave Lakeshore – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work, beautiful merchandise and very supporting Managers
Store Manager (Current Employee), The Woodlands, TXJuly 10, 2013
Pros: fun environment, the people, discount to the store, growth opportunities
Cons: truck
A typical day at work for me was doing a little of everything. As the Store Manager you are required to handle all operations at the store level and manage employees to ensure great customer service. I had part of my day scheduled off to the office when there was other management coverage so that I could get all the paperwork taken care of, but most – more... of my day was spent on the floor with the staff and customers. I worked mainly coaching my staff on excellent customer service and also helping customers myself. The hardest part of the job was unloading the trucks. I really enjoyed the rest of my job and loved working with my staff and the customers.I also really like my District Manager, he has been very supportive and helpful in acheiving my goals. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE!!!!!!!
Inventory Management (Former Employee), Carson, CAJune 19, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: management, everything else
Hire and fire environment run by warehouse workers. Their motto is "You're great or you're gone"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Newton, MAMay 24, 2013
It was my first customer service experience so it was good to learn practical things that would be useful such as operating a cash register and greeting customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Leandro, CAMarch 12, 2013
-retail
-fun activities for the kids that come in
-fun merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Educational Supply company - staying one step ahead of the market.
Operations Project Manager (Former Employee), Carson, CAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: great benefits, casual dress code
Lakeshore rewards you for the efforts you put into your job and gives opportunities to learn and grow within the company. There are great people working there, making it a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive Marketing Approach
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Carson, CAJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: excellent earning potential
Cons: benefits
In the beginning of my tenure with Lakeshore, I was an independent contractor. I enjoyed the liberty of no ceiling on commissions, freedom to expand and make independent decisions involving ways to increase sales and get the customer more involved in products that we were introducing to our different markets. I really interacting with customers and – more... developing very strong relationships that have continued in my present endeavors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extreme fast pace
Material Foreman / Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee), Carson, CANovember 26, 2012
Pros: crossed training
production lead, materials manager, forlift manager, shipping supervisor.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck
Order Taker (Former Employee), Carson,CAOctober 19, 2012
Pros: the $$$
Cons: the rest
One of the wort places to work the people are all two faced and they will fire you for anything they want. Ask for more hours they will cut yours. By far the worst place I have ever worked.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace, fast pace and always changing
Promotions Manager (Former Employee), Carson, CAJune 1, 2012
• Directed a team of 11 professionals with an annual budget of $900K for this 56-store chain to develop the store design strategy to maximize sales/profit per sq/ft by optimizing layout, merchandise placement, marketing materials and other promotional vehicles. Responsibilities also included new and existing store design, signage, merchandising, fixturing, – more... and packaging for permanent and promotional use – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to Work
Production Artist (Former Employee), Carson, CAMarch 23, 2012
Pros: the people
Cons: carson
Working at LLM was challenging, exciting and always rewarding. You're surrounded by the best of the best that inspire you to work as hard as you can.

June 4, 2013

would like to know what level you came in with? graphic designer or just production only