Lakeshore Learning Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent products
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAJanuary 21, 2017
Working at the Corporate store (Carson) has its downfalls. It's a family business and the family members will employ all their friends at the store or in the corporate office so advancement can be difficult if your not on their list
Pros
Good hours, good pay
Cons
Very political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVJanuary 4, 2017
management plays favorites, they talk about employees, slow business, pay isn't that great, they talk bad about the customers.
Pros
Work with schedule, cool products
Cons
Play favorites, hours are given to favorites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
HVAC and Facility Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Carson, CANovember 22, 2016
I love the diversity it held. Meeting and working different people from different backgrounds help with the ease of production. The different ideas that the diverse population held.
Pros
Diverse Staff
Cons
No training time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payable Clerk
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Carson, CANovember 7, 2016
I was an Accounts Payable Clerk in the Accounting department. My experience there was one of the worst I've ever had at any job before. Everything was unorganized. A fellow employee went on a medical leave, and his entire work load was designated to me with little to no training. I was left with tons of unfinished work that was not taught or explained to me. Management would constantly micromanage and reprimand for things that I was not trained on. With hardly any training, the work load was nearly impossible to complete, it was extremely stressful & overwhelming and when I expressed my concerns to management about not being properly trained they did nothing and continued to reprimand me. There's not a lot of room for growth or advancement at the company and the overall experience was not a positive one. I don't feel like Lakeshore cares about their employees.
Pros
No dress code, benefits
Cons
Poor management, no training
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away If Possible...
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carson, CADecember 7, 2015
My first couple years were great. Had an awesome manager, let me do my job, had complete autonomy. Good pay with generous raises and reviews. Work hard, play hard mentality. Company culture was awesome with holiday and summer fun. Then, things changed.....son took over, management style changed, micromanagement became the new normal, lay offs and severe decrease in yearly raises. Still expected to do an insane amount of work while not being compensated, due to being salaried. Managers started moving around to different departments, where they lacked understanding and skills provided to do their appropriately. Morale went down, people were told to remove their personal belongings from desks such as pictures and so fourth which was strange as company culture seemed to be important at one time. Benefits changed and became less valuable. I can go on and on, but I just wanted too warn others that this was a good starting job, but not worth staying for long if at all. I'm glad I don't work there anymore period.
Pros
Made friendships
Cons
Poor management, poor morale, micro management, overtime work with no overtime pay, cannot take vacation when you want, no job stability.
Was this review helpful?Yes21No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for Lakeshore Learning Center
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJuly 27, 2015
assisting customers who need help in what they're looking for, stocking up items on shelves, ringing up customers on the register so they can purchase their items, co-workers were friendly and helpful and job was hard working and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 30, 2015
Meeting new people is what I enjoy doing and I have the opportunity to do so at Lakeshore. I learn new ways on how to be creative and have fun with customers. Everyone that works at Lakeshore has an upbeat and positive attitude so its easy to get along with your coworkers.
Pros
great work environment
Cons
no healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place I Have Ever Worked
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAMarch 22, 2015
Very busy. No training. People do not take accountability for anything. Management is very disengaged and degrades employees.
Pros
Casual dress, profit bonus after 2 years of employment
Cons
No breaks, not paid for overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes41No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Former employee (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 2, 2015
Amazing company! Great quailty products and fun atmoshpere. truly becomes part of the education community.
If you live on the east coast there is not much opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Management (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJune 24, 2014
the stores are such a fun place to work. Lots of interaction with customers, they truely care about their people.
Cons
weekend and night hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pace
Asst. Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 24, 2014
Job is great:
Lots of pressure to never get a customer complaint..
great for customer.. not so great for associate who gets grumpy teacher..
Pros
teaching kids
Cons
Teachers who don't understand how a purchase order works...
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun enviornment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Murrieta Ca.April 17, 2014
Worked with customers and we always finds what their needs were.
I learned that customers come first we always go out of our way to help.
The management and employees were always easy going never any conflict.
The hardest part of the job was working retail hours
The enjoyable part of the job is it was easy going.
Pros
Great enviornment, easy going
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment. Great product but ignor employees concerns and issues
management (Current Employee) –  TexasApril 12, 2014
The product, employees and customers are great. The company is more focused on dollar amount than the quality of service. Management gets away with cheating the system and everyone walks on pins and needles worrying about their job. Big wigs too busy to care what is going on in the stores. All they care about is what is black and white on paper. When employees have concerns or issues they should be heard and not ignored.
Pros
The product is fantastic. The customers appreciated help. Benifits and employee recognition good.
Cons
Too much ignoring issues and problems. Keep track of your management and make them responsible.
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team and Awesome training program
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXMarch 30, 2014
Great team and training is great when compared to other retail companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of fun
DAY CARE-LEAD TEACHER (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSMarch 5, 2014
Working with children is very fulfilling. It was most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer first and employees last
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 16, 2013
The location was great and so was the staff. However upper management was out of touch when it came to employees. Many companies value their employees and treat them with respect but Lakeshore is not one of those companies. Often employees at my location and many others were let go after one customer complaint and the rest of the staff written up. During my time there I did meet several great employees and training was great. Bonuses were top notch as well.
Pros
Great bonuses
Cons
Poor working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes34No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting to introduce new educational products to customers
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAAugust 11, 2013
Arrive 10 minutes early get my apprin on
Welcomes every customer that walks in the front door
Ask if they need any help with finding certian products
go above and beyond to make the customer happy
I learned there are many stages for a child to learn and grow
Pros
New relations with cusomers
Cons
Not enought hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly work place.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 26, 2013
I worked the register and helped out customers. I worked with educators to get the right products for their classrooms.
Pros
Long breaks, worked with kids and teachers
Cons
Only part time available
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced enviroment
SALES/FREIGHT (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 23, 2013
it was a great place to work considering I am furthering my career in education. Met a lot of great teachers from the houston area.
Pros
schedule availablity
Cons
lifting 80 lb boxes
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run don't walk away from this place
HR/Recruiting (Former Employee) –  CarsonMay 7, 2013
The President of the company regularly had screaming fits if he was mad at someone. We had a job fair one day, and one of the candidates parked in his space - he went ballistic, screaming obscenities as he walked down the hall. AWKWARD. People are micromanaged and brow beaten into submission to the "Lakeshore" way. On a positive note, there was onsite child care and almost no OT - everyone high-tailed it outta there at 5:00 and didn't look back. They are ALWAYS hiring....go figure!
Pros
Onsite child care, no OT, good year end bonus
Cons
Awful culture, mean people HIGH turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes110No11Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Lakeshore Learning. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2

Lakeshore Learning Reviews by Location