Lam Research

105 reviews

Lam Research Employee Reviews

Found 98 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• SharePoint/.Net Developer with 7+ Years of experience in full life–cycle development which includes analysis, design, development, testing, document
Senior SharePoint Developer (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CAMarch 9, 2015
• SharePoint/.Net Developer with 7+ Years of experience in full life–cycle development which includes analysis, design, development, testing, documentation, implementation and maintenance in windows/web based environment, distributed n-tier architecture, and client/server architecture.
• Strong experience in core technologies of MOSS 2007 SPS 2010/13, Search Server, Windows SharePoint Services, IIS 6.0, 7.0, SQL Server 2005/2008, and SharePoint Designer 2007/2010, .Net 3.5 and well versed with Database design like MS SQL Server.
• Experienced with planning, deploying, and configuring MOSS 2007 and SharePoint 2010
• Migration of SharePoint portal 2007 to MOSS 2010 like upgrading web pages, web parts, content and changing SharePoint APIs
• Developed and deployed custom Sandbox/Farm web parts in SharePoint 2010 and creating Console Applications using SharePoint Object Models and Client Object Model (ECMA) using Visual studio 2010.
• Extensive experience in Custom Web Parts, Search, Master Pages, Page Layouts, Content Types, Columns, List Templates, List Definitions, Site Definitions, User Controls, SharePoint Web Parts and SharePoint Event Handlers.
• Experience in implementing SharePoint technologies on medium to large Farms and performing Farm, Site Collection level Administration and Technical Support.
• Knowledge in Using SharePoint Designer Tool for 3 stage Workflows in SharePoint, developing and customizing Master Pages and all Branding activities.
• Ability to automate deployment process by PowerShell script
• Experience in designing SharePoint 2010 package and solutions
  more...
• Experience in Troubleshooting and resolution of SharePoint issues with the help of ULS logs
• Strong hands on experience with ASP.NET and its components: C# .NET, ADO.NET and HTML.
• Solid foundation of SQL Queries, Stored Procedures, and triggers
• Experience in designing and developing object-oriented, service oriented software applications for Internet and Intranet applications.
• Solid understanding of business needs and requirements. Well versed in creating detailed technical design document.
• Good at interacting with the customer and resolving their issues with a quick response time.
• Excellent analytical, problem solving, communication, leadership and team skills.
• Worked on the migration from SharePoint 2010 to SharePoint 2013.
• Worked on creating OLAP Cubes using Reporting Tools like SSAS, SSIS.

TECHNICAL SKILLS
MS.NET Technology C#, ASP.NET .Net Framework4/0/3.5/3.0 Visual Basics 6.0, ADO.Net,WPF.WCF
Scripting Languages Java script, VB Script,AJAX,JQuery
Web Technologies XML/XSD,XQuery,HTML5,CSS,XML,WebServices,PL/SQL
SharePoint Portal SharePoint Server 2010/2007, Windows SharePoint, Services 3.0/2.0, SharePoint Designer 2007/2010
Databases SQL Server 2005/2008,2008 R2, MS Access
Tools SharePoint Designer 2007/2010,AdodePhotoshop, Flash, MSVisio, Fiddler
Web server I IS 6.0/5.1/5.0
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNo6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job, no life, "60th percentile industry avg pay = 105% expected work", management sucks, the usual
Engineering Technician Sr (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CADecember 20, 2014
pretty much covered it in the summary, but management = the suck.
pay = paying the same wage nationwide is great if you live in BFE, sucks if you live in the Bay Area.
A typical day at work is get a random email from some guy who thinks he's your boss, read it, laugh at his inability to form sentences or give specific directions beyond "do your job". Go actually find out what your customers need from you that day. Do it, and tell both them and then explain in excruciating detail what you did to your computer 8 times (because the internal software was developed by shakespearean monkeys at keyboards) and to your boss 11 times, and he still doesn't understand what you do on a given day. go home at 8, drink heavily. write down what you did that day on something permanent, so when one of the PhD's (read: first class citizens) who thinks he/she's god's gift to humankind tries to throw you under the bus and reverse over you, you have written records of what actually happened. continue to drink until the next day. repeat.
Pros
never a dull moment
Cons
panicked, incompetent management makes it 100000 times more stressful than it needs to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced production atmosphere with emphasis on fitness
MECOP Intern (Former Employee) –  Tualatin, ORMay 8, 2014
A typical day at work at Lam Research involved multitasking through the several projects assigned for the internship. At Lam, I learned about CPM and the advantages of understanding a company's critical path.

As one of my projects was to determine the capability to switch from cellular manufacturing to continuous production with three separate lines. Throughout the entirety of this project, my ability to communicate became instrumental, as I had to communicate with three separate contractors for three separate bids.

Management was great at Lam and very involved in outside work activities like playing soccer and running. The Lam management is highly skilled and technical, and very helpful with project lineups. My co-workers were all very nice and welcoming, and anytime you requested help, they would prioritize their schedule to help you.

The hardest part of the job was leaving, as I wanted to begin my career with Lam. I had no choice as the internship ended, but I definitely could have went without having to leave. The most enjoyable part of the job was the daily runs and work outs with my mentor. Showers were available in several buildings and the management really knew how important the work/life balance was.
Pros
shoe trucks!
Cons
multiple buildings to navigate
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the work, despise the management.
Production Test Technician (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORAugust 23, 2015
The company as a whole seems to have their things in order and treat employees well. Their Tualatin manufacturing facility is the exact opposite of that. They provide very little and wildly inconsistent training, direction, support and leadership. Many of the supervisors and managers are petty, cliquish, and divisive. There is almost no opportunity to advance ones self within the organization (without brown-nosing) and they prevent productive employees from transferring within the company. This is such a shame since I find the work itself to be challenging and rewarding.

As mentioned, the company as a whole seems very pleasant and capable. Employees are provided with a solid benefits package that has options to fit different situations. Lam definitely has the feel of a large corporation in regards to their HR/PR feel but most of the departments are small enough that they all have their own feel. I don't get the sense that I'm trapped in a big corporate machine, which is nice.
Pros
the work is interesting and challenging, benefits, cafeteria
Cons
abysmal management, politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a mystery how any product gets out the door there
engineer (Former Employee) –  oregonMay 9, 2014
The sales team runs the show and acts as pseudo-engineers to the customer which was scary. Than the schedulers/engineers get to scramble and try to deliver what the sales team promises the customer. Managers offer little unstructured training if at all. Chaotic environment and only a few key people in each group do most of the work while others get left behind. You only see managers when there's a problem, otherwise most hide in their offices and can't manage effectively. Not a place to voice your opinion because the managers would retaliate which I witnessed. Some workers/managers go out of their way to keep the process so complicated for job security and to maintain their SME status and employees blame process inconsistencies on the merger. Only plus is that benefits were good and it's a green sustainable company.
Pros
good benefits and it's a green sustainable company.
Cons
not a nurturing/challenging work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great for service career
Field Service Engineer Sr. (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORJune 24, 2013
Field Service Engineers beware. If you like to be put in a box, troubleshoot with a script, and be treated like a janitor then this place is for you. If you enjoy using your brain to solve complex problems, run, don't walk.
As an FSE I was sooo bored in this job with Lam. basically you are a janitor, given all the dirty work that the customer doesn't want to do i.e. wipe down/ clean out the chambers after use, change out difficult to reach parts, etc. You will do A LOT of cleaning. If something goes wrong you must use a written step by step procedure to troubleshoot. This job will suck the life out of you as a Field Service Engineer. Going to the same place every day, punching a clock, hi tech janitor, you will lose your skills here.
Pros
co workers are ok for the most part. pay was good
Cons
boring, in the box thinking. punching a clock as an fse, no autonomy
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tech results driven
Staff Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 10, 2014
Lam Research is a high tech company driven by results and a strong desire to appeal to its customers. The company is very aware of its market position and maintains an aggressive and effective program to ensure and or promote market place dominance. The bonus rewards are good for employees. The strategy for excellence is depends on brute force as much as on wisdom or creativity. Long hours are expected, and short hours, i.e. less than 50 hours per week do not lead to good reviews. The majority of fellow employees and managers are top notch and great to work with. The stated core values are excellent, but their implementation is inconsistent and subject to politics. One senior director stated that "we don't need smart people - just ones who will work hard."
Pros
good coworkers, good bonus for industry, good benefits
Cons
long hours, politics, manager-subordinate disputes poorly handles
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military / hierarchical structure, can be interesting work and good compensation but very cyclical business
SENIOR STAFF FINANCIAL ANALYST III (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMarch 18, 2015
Lam is in the very cyclical semiconductor, capital equipment industry, that means every few years they will be hiring a lot of people and then a few years after that they will be firing them. You need to accept that if you take a job there. The high margins and cyclicality of the industry translates to average salary + excellent bonus, profit sharing, stock compensation potential. When times are good, the profits get shared. Their is a hierarchical, militaristic, good old boy, structure to senior management which translates to a fast moving environment for employee's. It is interesting work and you will learn, though not as much maybe as at a smaller less will established company. In the boom phase you will be working hard because you are in a boom, in the bust phase you will be working hard because a lot of people got laid off and you are understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile environment, micro management and full of hatred among co-workers and managers
ECR Change Analyst (2014 to 2015) (Former Employee) –  Fremont, Ca.April 3, 2015
It's a terrible place to work if you are a contractor. The company laid off a US citizen employee and gave the job to India. "The priority is India", I was told be the Director.


A typical day at work - You work, work, and work many many hours without compensation after 8 hours
What you learned - to be submissive
Management - Micromanagement, critical, you are not protected if you are not the same race as the manager.
Co-workers - Back stabbing
The hardest part of the job - didn't feel free to do the job. Someone always watching over your shoulder, scolding you, correcting you...
The most enjoyable part of the job - Time to go home
Pros
Nothing good to say from 2 years experience
Cons
No benefits - No compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, safe, and fun work environment.
OMS Technician (Current Employee) –  Livermore, CAMay 5, 2014
My work is from 6:30AM to 3:00PM. At Lam Research, I learned the technical skills for my job. I learned safety in work environment and that is one of the most important things at Lam Research. I follow the OMS to make sure my products have the best quality. I also improve my work every day to exceed the required quantity.

I am a fast learner and self-motivated. I pay attention to detail and make sure tasks finish on time. I am very clean and organized. I also get along with others well so working in teams are great.
Pros
free lunch on saturdays sometimes. free shuttle from san jose to the company in livermore.
Cons
temporary job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for unless you work in manufacturing.
Final Test Technician III (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORNovember 26, 2015
Its ok. You get to test PECVD tools without exposing yourself to any chemicals. They only use inert gas in the fab. There is poor morale and poor management in the manufacturing fab. The floor will run into problems over and over and over for years without engineering fixing it. They band-aid everything and just deal with it as it goes. Management seems to be getting better, but only time will tell. They like to say things will happen or change, but no one does anything about it.
Pros
Compressed work week
Cons
pay is pretty terrible for what it is.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-pace, work enviroment
SENIOR ASSEMBLER (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAAugust 20, 2012
Arrive 20 minutes early. Dress up for clean room. Check inventory of new parts that came in to be able to build sytems on hold and work at op1, op2 ,op 3, op 4 and op 5 in line 32. Built sytems and moved to each op. We worked as a team and always made our quota. If slow cross trained. Help new employee log in and show how to use the different programs that were run in the clean room. Also trained employees in all ops. Deliverying Inventory and parts to the all lines. Perform quality inspections.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVE LAM RESEARCH
Field Service Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXAugust 21, 2012
Loved this job, got to travel the world, and work with some of the brightest minds in the semi-conductor. Loved my direct manager and site managers. learned how to take care of the latest and greatest 300mm dry etch semiconductor fabrication equipment. co-workers were mostly prior military so it made getting things done very fluid and most were very dependable. Miss the industry.
Pros
comraderie, work schedule compressed shift, pay, benifits
Cons
the up and down of the market causing for uknown layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if...
Manufacturing (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORDecember 19, 2014
Lam Research is a very great place to work. Peer Staff (worker Bees) are of professional standard. However, Lam Research would be an Exceptional place to foster a long healthy career if Lam Research ":Cleaned House" of its Novellus Systems Legacy Management. This is the ONE element that impedes professional growth. All the other reviews I've read in regards to this claim is very accurate. Professional Ethics and Standards of Lam Research (Tualitn) is marred by this very element. In all, I'm happy that Lam Research Acquired Novellus Systems. It's only my hope that Lam Research has intent to Reeducate and if necessary replace its Novellus Legacy Management Staff.
Pros
peer to peer relationship is great
Cons
you've just read
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment where deadlines are a priority
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  chandler, azOctober 17, 2014
 Duties and Responsibilities require me to work on problems of diverse scope where analysis of data requires evaluation of identifiable factors. Exercises judgment within generally defined practices and policies in selecting methods and techniques for obtaining solutions. Electronic system troubleshooting, mechanical aptitude, good communication skills, and the ability to deal effectively with customers e.g. Engineers and Technicians on the floor, postmortems, meetings, conferences, passdowns, lessens learned and escalations.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical mid-sized company not great not bad
Software II Engineer (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORDecember 1, 2013
Not the greatest places worked (formerly the site was called Novellus). Everyone seems to be at each other's throats. Each team (software, hardware, electrical, mechanical, process) are dependent on each other. A true management and scheduling nightmare at times

People work hard there, are generally serious and show professionalism. Not enough people are rewarded however.
Pros
good job security, convenient cafeteria, flexible working hours
Cons
not learning a lot on the job, stale work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers who are always willing to help.
Final Test Technician III (Current Employee) –  Tualatin, ORAugust 20, 2015
The people are really good to work with and there is a lot of semiconductor experience among the senior technicians. Complex troubleshooting is part of the day to day routine and there is a steep learning curve for new technicians due to minimal training. Not very many opportunities to move up in the company without changing departments. Technical ability is not weighted very heavily during evaluations.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
Breaks and lunches are watched like a hawk.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor job security and large bureaucracy
Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 12, 2014
This company has morphed into a large corporation with layered bureaucracy with many internal procedural barriers preventing fast and innovative product development. The tag line of innovative product solutions no longer applies, instead the process and procedure takes precedence over everything else. In order to be fast and responsive to customer needs you need to work outside the normal process. Just don't get caught or you will be eliminated.
Pros
good compensation
Cons
poor job security; rigid procedural work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed company
Global Mobility Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAOctober 22, 2013
It was a pleasure to work with the professionals in HR at Lam Research. The typical day in Global Mobility was filled with many different activities. There was a lot of cooperation with my co-workers and with management. We worked as a team. Management was very good and supportive. They listened well. I enjoyed accomplishing the longer term project goals and also in serving the needs of the International assignees and transferees.
Pros
good layout of cubes and offices. buildings are modern and well maintained.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After the merger/ takeover of Novellus Things were very different.
Senior Purchasing NPI Specialist Contractor (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 28, 2015
The Manager that hired me left and the group moved to Fremont.
The Fremont managers were so hostile towards the San Jose people it was sad. My contract had ended but they requested I stay on.
They seem to have a very top heavy culture.
Pros
Pay, Location, some of the people.
Cons
Over loaded supply base, Silo thinkers and Just enoughers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture