Find companies:
Lam Research
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
42 reviews

Lam Research Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a career...Friendly atmosphere to work and grow..
Internship (Former Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 12, 2014
Excellent place to start a career...Friendly atmosphere to work and grow..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Director HR Information Systems (Current Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 12, 2014
good hours and profitable rewarding company
typical day starts at 7 AM and ends at 5 PM
mostly project-based work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
HR Reports Analyst (Current Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 11, 2014
Excellent work environment, Good Colleagues, good work-life balance, good compensation,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tech results driven
Staff Engineer (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, good bonus for industry, good benefits
Cons: long hours, politics, manager-subordinate disputes poorly handles
Lam Research is a high tech company driven by results and a strong desire to appeal to its customers. The company is very aware of its market position and maintains an aggressive and effective program to ensure and or promote market place dominance. The bonus rewards are good for employees. The strategy for excellence is depends on brute force as much – more... as on wisdom or creativity. Long hours are expected, and short hours, i.e. less than 50 hours per week do not lead to good reviews. The majority of fellow employees and managers are top notch and great to work with. The stated core values are excellent, but their implementation is inconsistent and subject to politics. One senior director stated that "we don't need smart people - just ones who will work hard." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Technical Writer (Former Employee), Fremont, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: promotion incentives
This was an incredible company to work for, very good to employees I was sent to school to improve my education and great incentives were given each time we reached a goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and fun place to work at.
Equipment Support Technician (Former Employee), Fremont CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: none.
A typical day at work involved daily maintenance of 200 mm & 300 mm wafer CMP/Clean processing equipment.
Trained in motion control system software for integrated robotic and mechanical device operation.
Management was good to all employees.
All co-workers were very cooperative.
There was no hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job – more... was managing equipment failures. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to Work
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Manassas, VAJanuary 1, 2014
LAM provides an incredible work environment for its employees. I work away from HQ as and FSE, but we had our own local employee parties and get-togethers. Pay, advancement, and career opportunities were very good. If you knew where you wanted to go with your career, they would help you get there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best outfit I've ever worked for.
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TX and Portland, ORDecember 5, 2013
Best company I've ever worked for. I felt more genuinely valued and appreciated as an employee here than at any other time in my working career. Truly, it was a family-like atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical mid-sized company not great not bad
Software II Engineer (Current Employee), Tualatin, ORDecember 1, 2013
Pros: good job security, convenient cafeteria, flexible working hours
Cons: not learning a lot on the job, stale work
Not the greatest places worked (formerly the site was called Novellus). Everyone seems to be at each other's throats. Each team (software, hardware, electrical, mechanical, process) are dependent on each other. A true management and scheduling nightmare at times

People work hard there, are generally serious and show professionalism. Not enough people – more... are rewarded however. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Process Technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 30, 2013
Lam Research is a good company to work for. Good technical people around to help in the daily tasks. They have a very advanced technology used in processing engineering requests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class company
Senior Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours and much travel
Great place to grow and thrive. Forward thinking and progressive. Cutting edge technology. Wish I still worked at Lam
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed company
Global Mobility Specialist (Former Employee), Fremont, CAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good layout of cubes and offices. buildings are modern and well maintained.
It was a pleasure to work with the professionals in HR at Lam Research. The typical day in Global Mobility was filled with many different activities. There was a lot of cooperation with my co-workers and with management. We worked as a team. Management was very good and supportive. They listened well. I enjoyed accomplishing the longer term project – more... goals and also in serving the needs of the International assignees and transferees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace to work for
SUPPLIER QUALITY ENGINEER III (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 30, 2013
Typically require to review he deviation for any changes for supplier to ship the product to LAM, failure analysis report by supplier, 8D report submitted by supplier to review root cause and any corrective actions or implementation taken, meetings with BU on issues related to failure at field or manufacturing plant or specification improvement. Supplier – more... audit and management at site. Supply chain related issues. Review first article report, supplier presentation on new technology, Six sigma on DOE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Top Mangement
TQM Training Manager (Former Employee), Fremont, CASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: big company
Cons: lot of negativity and politics in the company gives you bp and heart attack.
They bring their own cronies and sometimes they are unqualified people then they regularly lay-off people whom they do not like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Designer/Drafter (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: leaders in their field of etching
Cons: good cop bad cop system
Very Dynamic company, busy people but a nice bunch of folks. Management is tight and sometimes confusing, goods days and bad days, can't tell. The machines are chemically complicated but the parts are simple. Not a space shuttle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured and big corporation culture. Great professional growth.
Pilot Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: big corporation benefits like stocks and profit sharing
Cons: long commute
Supported Pilot Manufacturing and working on assigned commodities and the suppliers. Developed and managed suppliers and supported R&D projects. Ensured on-time material flow. Working on weekly shortage meetings with co-workers brought the team closer. Great direct management and leadership. Did not experience the hard part of the job. Learned in depth – more... with the ERP system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big , organized company
electro/ mechanical assembler, vacuum tester (Former Employee), fremont, californiaJuly 29, 2013
follow the OMS on all jobs. management was strict, co-workers was ok. the hardest part of the job is to do reworks, the most enjoyable is when systems shipped
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Engineering Environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 28, 2013
The people were nice, but I found that I did not enjoy working in an engineering enviroment. I was used to a sales/marketing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace for successful people
China IT Manager (Former Employee), 上海市, C23July 27, 2013
My recent position was China IT manager in Lam Research which is a US Company whose HQ is based in the Bay area. Besides IT operations and team management, I led or participated in large scale IT projects with cross-functional team across USA, Europe and Asia. Through these project management experiences, I gained international exposure to cross-cultural – more... work environments. I built a solid reputation and gained the opportunity to get trained on Project Management Methodology (PMM) including Scrum in the US. I was selected as candidate to be in charge of one worldwide IT strategic projects –mobility in the US. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone to a bigger and brighter future
Field Service Engineer II (Current Employee), Hillsboro, ORJuly 23, 2013
I enjoyed my time working for LAM. There were times when my schedule wasn't consitent and that made it difficult for family life.

1 2 3

About Lam Research

It's not uncommon for chip makers in need of critical manufacturing equipment to go on the Lam. Lam Research is a top maker of – Read more

Lam Research Photos