Find companies:
Lam Research
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Lam Research Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Process Technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 30, 2013
Lam Research is a good company to work for. Good technical people around to help in the daily tasks. They have a very advanced technology used in processing engineering requests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Intern Technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 25, 2013
Lam’s innovative products provide a vital link between the visionary designs for the latest electronic devices and the semiconductor and electronics companies that produce them. In fact, nearly every leading-edge integrated circuit made today has been processed with Lam Research equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class company
Senior Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours and much travel
Great place to grow and thrive. Forward thinking and progressive. Cutting edge technology. Wish I still worked at Lam
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed company
Global Mobility Specialist (Former Employee), Fremont, CAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good layout of cubes and offices. buildings are modern and well maintained.
It was a pleasure to work with the professionals in HR at Lam Research. The typical day in Global Mobility was filled with many different activities. There was a lot of cooperation with my co-workers and with management. We worked as a team. Management was very good and supportive. They listened well. I enjoyed accomplishing the longer term project – more... goals and also in serving the needs of the International assignees and transferees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace to work for
SUPPLIER QUALITY ENGINEER III (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 30, 2013
Typically require to review he deviation for any changes for supplier to ship the product to LAM, failure analysis report by supplier, 8D report submitted by supplier to review root cause and any corrective actions or implementation taken, meetings with BU on issues related to failure at field or manufacturing plant or specification improvement. Supplier – more... audit and management at site. Supply chain related issues. Review first article report, supplier presentation on new technology, Six sigma on DOE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Top Mangement
TQM Training Manager (Former Employee), Fremont, CASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: big company
Cons: lot of negativity and politics in the company gives you bp and heart attack.
They bring their own cronies and sometimes they are unqualified people then they regularly lay-off people whom they do not like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Designer/Drafter (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: leaders in their field of etching
Cons: good cop bad cop system
Very Dynamic company, busy people but a nice bunch of folks. Management is tight and sometimes confusing, goods days and bad days, can't tell. The machines are chemically complicated but the parts are simple. Not a space shuttle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured and big corporation culture. Great professional growth.
Pilot Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: big corporation benefits like stocks and profit sharing
Cons: long commute
Supported Pilot Manufacturing and working on assigned commodities and the suppliers. Developed and managed suppliers and supported R&D projects. Ensured on-time material flow. Working on weekly shortage meetings with co-workers brought the team closer. Great direct management and leadership. Did not experience the hard part of the job. Learned in depth – more... with the ERP system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big , organized company
electro/ mechanical assembler, vacuum tester (Former Employee), fremont, californiaJuly 29, 2013
follow the OMS on all jobs. management was strict, co-workers was ok. the hardest part of the job is to do reworks, the most enjoyable is when systems shipped
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in Engineering Environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJuly 28, 2013
The people were nice, but I found that I did not enjoy working in an engineering enviroment. I was used to a sales/marketing environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone to a bigger and brighter future
Field Service Engineer II (Current Employee), Hillsboro, ORJuly 23, 2013
I enjoyed my time working for LAM. There were times when my schedule wasn't consitent and that made it difficult for family life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ping pong table
Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 9, 2013
Operation sequence and processes in the manufacturing, fabrication of parts, components, sub-assemblies and final assemblies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with a few drawbacks
Field Service Engineer (FSE) (Current Employee), Fishkill, NYJune 28, 2013
Pros: a good place to get exposure to real time troubleshooting issues
Cons: projects are sometimes poorly defined and not enough training given especially to contract works
The culture at LAM Research has always been positive for me and I have been there 3 years. I like the 12 hour shifts and supervision has always treated us fairly and with respect, good exposure to real time troubleshooting issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great for service career
Field Service Engineer Sr. (Former Employee), Hillsboro, ORJune 24, 2013
Pros: co workers are ok for the most part. pay was good
Cons: boring, in the box thinking. punching a clock as an fse, no autonomy
Field Service Engineers beware. If you like to be put in a box, troubleshoot with a script, and be treated like a janitor then this place is for you. If you enjoy using your brain to solve complex problems, run, don't walk.
As an FSE I was sooo bored in this job with Lam. basically you are a janitor, given all the dirty work that the customer doesn't – more... want to do i.e. wipe down/ clean out the chambers after use, change out difficult to reach parts, etc. You will do A LOT of cleaning. If something goes wrong you must use a written step by step procedure to troubleshoot. This job will suck the life out of you as a Field Service Engineer. Going to the same place every day, punching a clock, hi tech janitor, you will lose your skills here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Managed company
Senior Program Manager (Former Employee), Livermore CaliforniaMay 15, 2013
Pros: fair wages, good bonus plan, strong upper management
Cons: internal opportunities limited because a lot is outsourced
Lam Research is a gem of a company to work for. Strong management, great products with many good people working there. Top minds in the industry are attracted to this company from a technical standpoint.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lam Research was a good work atmosphere for me.
Engineering Intern (Former Employee), Fremont, CAMay 10, 2013
Pros: good boss, good coworkers, excellent work experience
Cons: only internships; it's extremely difficult for me to find fulltime employment at lam
On a typical day, I would come in at 8-9am and work in two locations: the engineering group and the testing group.

In the engineering group I would do circuit board work and firmware programming, as well as continually communicate with my supervisors.

In the testing group I would build my test fixtures, as well as generate the appropriate documentation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first big company to work for.
Staff Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Fremont, CAFebruary 22, 2013
So many campuses.
Can get discounts to amusement parks, and other tickets.
Large cafeteria.
Easy access to freeway - 880.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Tenure due to customer moving off-shore
Account Mgr. ST Microelectronics North America (Former Employee), Fremont, CAFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: a top company in semiconductor
Cons: did not feel effort put into finding me another position.
Responsibilities were for two ST Micro Electronics sites.

I normally spent two days a week at each site in Carrollton, Texas and Phoenix Arizona.

I had operational responsibility with P&L and 6 direct and indirect reports
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 20, 2012
- challenging work - most enjoyable part
- new product development
- field support, escalations, problems solving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Engineer
Project Engineer (Former Employee), Wilmington, MANovember 14, 2012
Design and development of cluster tool semiconductor wafer etch systems and wafer transport systems.

About Lam Research

Lam Research Corporation is a major supplier of wafer fabrication equipment and services to the worldwide semiconductor industry, – Read more

Lam Research Photos