Lam Research

91 reviews

Lam Research Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a mystery how any product gets out the door there
engineer (Former Employee), oregonMay 9, 2014
Pros: good benefits and it's a green sustainable company.
Cons: not a nurturing/challenging work environment
The sales team runs the show and acts as pseudo-engineers to the customer which was scary. Than the schedulers/engineers get to scramble and try to deliver what the sales team promises the customer. Managers – more... offer little unstructured training if at all. Chaotic environment and only a few key people in each group do most of the work while others get left behind. You only see managers when there's a problem, otherwise most hide in their offices and can't manage effectively. Not a place to voice your opinion because the managers would retaliate which I witnessed. Some workers/managers go out of their way to keep the process so complicated for job security and to maintain their SME status and employees blame process inconsistencies on the merger. Only plus is that benefits were good and it's a green sustainable company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced production atmosphere with emphasis on fitness
MECOP Intern (Former Employee), Tualatin, ORMay 8, 2014
Pros: shoe trucks!
Cons: multiple buildings to navigate
A typical day at work at Lam Research involved multitasking through the several projects assigned for the internship. At Lam, I learned about CPM and the advantages of understanding a company's critical – more... path.

As one of my projects was to determine the capability to switch from cellular manufacturing to continuous production with three separate lines. Throughout the entirety of this project, my ability to communicate became instrumental, as I had to communicate with three separate contractors for three separate bids.

Management was great at Lam and very involved in outside work activities like playing soccer and running. The Lam management is highly skilled and technical, and very helpful with project lineups. My co-workers were all very nice and welcoming, and anytime you requested help, they would prioritize their schedule to help you.

The hardest part of the job was leaving, as I wanted to begin my career with Lam. I had no choice as the internship ended, but I definitely could have went without having to leave. The most enjoyable part of the job was the daily runs and work outs with my mentor. Showers were available in several buildings and the management really knew how important the work/life balance was. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, safe, and fun work environment.
OMS Technician (Current Employee), Livermore, CAMay 5, 2014
Pros: free lunch on saturdays sometimes. free shuttle from san jose to the company in livermore.
Cons: temporary job.
My work is from 6:30AM to 3:00PM. At Lam Research, I learned the technical skills for my job. I learned safety in work environment and that is one of the most important things at Lam Research. I follow – more... the OMS to make sure my products have the best quality. I also improve my work every day to exceed the required quantity.

I am a fast learner and self-motivated. I pay attention to detail and make sure tasks finish on time. I am very clean and organized. I also get along with others well so working in teams are great. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Sr. Mechanical Designer (Former Employee), Fremont, CAApril 22, 2014
The company are great. Very happy time. But the commute were too far for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to start a career...Friendly atmosphere to work and grow..
Internship (Former Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 12, 2014
Excellent place to start a career...Friendly atmosphere to work and grow..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Director HR Information Systems (Current Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 12, 2014
good hours and profitable rewarding company
typical day starts at 7 AM and ends at 5 PM
mostly project-based work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
HR Reports Analyst (Current Employee), Fremont, CAMarch 11, 2014
Excellent work environment, Good Colleagues, good work-life balance, good compensation,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High tech results driven
Staff Engineer (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: good coworkers, good bonus for industry, good benefits
Cons: long hours, politics, manager-subordinate disputes poorly handles
Lam Research is a high tech company driven by results and a strong desire to appeal to its customers. The company is very aware of its market position and maintains an aggressive and effective program – more... to ensure and or promote market place dominance. The bonus rewards are good for employees. The strategy for excellence is depends on brute force as much as on wisdom or creativity. Long hours are expected, and short hours, i.e. less than 50 hours per week do not lead to good reviews. The majority of fellow employees and managers are top notch and great to work with. The stated core values are excellent, but their implementation is inconsistent and subject to politics. One senior director stated that "we don't need smart people - just ones who will work hard." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Technical Writer (Former Employee), Fremont, CAFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: promotion incentives
This was an incredible company to work for, very good to employees I was sent to school to improve my education and great incentives were given each time we reached a goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive and fun place to work at.
Equipment Support Technician (Former Employee), Fremont CAFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: none.
Cons: none.
A typical day at work involved daily maintenance of 200 mm & 300 mm wafer CMP/Clean processing equipment.
Trained in motion control system software for integrated robotic and mechanical device operation.
Management was good to all employees.
All co-workers were very cooperative.
There was no hardest part of the job.
The most enjoyable part of the job was managing equipment failures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best outfit I've ever worked for.
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TX and Portland, ORDecember 5, 2013
Best company I've ever worked for. I felt more genuinely valued and appreciated as an employee here than at any other time in my working career. Truly, it was a family-like atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical mid-sized company not great not bad
Software II Engineer (Current Employee), Tualatin, ORDecember 1, 2013
Pros: good job security, convenient cafeteria, flexible working hours
Cons: not learning a lot on the job, stale work
Not the greatest places worked (formerly the site was called Novellus). Everyone seems to be at each other's throats. Each team (software, hardware, electrical, mechanical, process) are dependent on each other. A true management and scheduling nightmare at times

People work hard there, are generally serious and show professionalism. Not enough people are rewarded however.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Process Technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 30, 2013
Lam Research is a good company to work for. Good technical people around to help in the daily tasks. They have a very advanced technology used in processing engineering requests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Intern Technician (Former Employee), Fremont, CANovember 25, 2013
Lam’s innovative products provide a vital link between the visionary designs for the latest electronic devices and the semiconductor and electronics companies that produce them. In fact, nearly every leading-edge integrated circuit made today has been processed with Lam Research equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World class company
Senior Field Service Engineer (Former Employee), Austin, TXNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours and much travel
Great place to grow and thrive. Forward thinking and progressive. Cutting edge technology. Wish I still worked at Lam
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed company
Global Mobility Specialist (Former Employee), Fremont, CAOctober 22, 2013
Pros: good layout of cubes and offices. buildings are modern and well maintained.
It was a pleasure to work with the professionals in HR at Lam Research. The typical day in Global Mobility was filled with many different activities. There was a lot of cooperation with my co-workers and – more... with management. We worked as a team. Management was very good and supportive. They listened well. I enjoyed accomplishing the longer term project goals and also in serving the needs of the International assignees and transferees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting workplace to work for
SUPPLIER QUALITY ENGINEER III (Former Employee), San Jose, CASeptember 30, 2013
Typically require to review he deviation for any changes for supplier to ship the product to LAM, failure analysis report by supplier, 8D report submitted by supplier to review root cause and any corrective – more... actions or implementation taken, meetings with BU on issues related to failure at field or manufacturing plant or specification improvement. Supplier audit and management at site. Supply chain related issues. Review first article report, supplier presentation on new technology, Six sigma on DOE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Top Mangement
TQM Training Manager (Former Employee), Fremont, CASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: big company
Cons: lot of negativity and politics in the company gives you bp and heart attack.
They bring their own cronies and sometimes they are unqualified people then they regularly lay-off people whom they do not like.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Designer/Drafter (Former Employee), Fremont, CAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: leaders in their field of etching
Cons: good cop bad cop system
Very Dynamic company, busy people but a nice bunch of folks. Management is tight and sometimes confusing, goods days and bad days, can't tell. The machines are chemically complicated but the parts are simple. Not a space shuttle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very structured and big corporation culture. Great professional growth.
Pilot Purchasing Specialist (Former Employee), Fremont, CAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: big corporation benefits like stocks and profit sharing
Cons: long commute
Supported Pilot Manufacturing and working on assigned commodities and the suppliers. Developed and managed suppliers and supported R&D projects. Ensured on-time material flow. Working on weekly shortage meetings with co-workers brought the team closer. Great direct management and leadership. Did not experience the hard part of the job. Learned in depth with the ERP system.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Fremont California, United States
Employees
5,001 to 10,000
Industry
    Links
    Lam Research website
    YouTube

    Twitter

    Facebook