Lamar University Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 81 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of Texas job
Secretary in each Department (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 28, 2016
Part-time to start then advanced to full time
Benefits started first day of employment
Holidays off from Christmas till New Years
Salary not that great.
Cons
Had to pay to park to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Administrative Associate Senior (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 22, 2016
Really enjoy my coworkers and the students here. Relaxed environment. There is a twenty words minimum for this review and this website is forcing me to do it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience to work with people.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 14, 2016
Everyday is a great chance to work and be a useful resource of the team. Environment is so friendly staff are so encouraging teaching every individual laying their paths for future . Co-workers are good and management of stress and other works was always made easy and learning new ways of management in job. The staff and co-workers were encouraging and never made us imagine how hard the job was and almost every part was enjoyable during the working period.
Pros
Caring staff
Cons
Nothing .
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience..
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMay 20, 2016
It was great experience..Nice atmosphere and nice facilities...
Many things to learn and many other advantages also..

Thank You.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMay 12, 2016
Happy to assist students with their lab work. Sometimes there will be long experiments to complete at work place and assisting students to get proper results.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time work
Student Records Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 20, 2016
worked here part time right after high school and wasn't here long enough to form any strong opinions one way or the other
Pros
good pay easy work
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Blackboard Technician (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 20, 2016
When working for Lamar full time one receives great benefits. Don't expect a raise or any promotions, also you will be underpaid.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Financial Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 15, 2016
They work around my schedule, making it super efficient for me since i have another job and school. Also the pay is very good! and I love my job here
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancing workplace filled with youthful members.
Corporal (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 3, 2016
Lamar University Police Department is a great place to work for a young, new police officer who is leaning in the direction of becoming a great police officer in his/her mere future. The management/supervising core is extremely young, therefore, it takes some time to get used to this form of environment.
Pros
One can quickly move into supervising fairly quickly.
Cons
It is tough to find time to spend away from work and with family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
healthy enviroment to work in
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 1, 2016
I enjoyed helping people. Learned things that were possible be the best at my job in processing payroll and wage garnishes. Was a team player.
Pros
Free to work independantly
Cons
rules were bent to many times pertaining to department deadlines
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and experienced professors
Senior Solar Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 29, 2016
A unique and friendly atmosphere. Full array of tools. Great environment and location. Very experienced scholars. Diversified group and very dynamic activities along the year.
Pros
Availability of ALL development tools
Cons
More technical Labs needed
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great platform to serve yourself as a teaching assistant
Graduate Assistant, Computer Science Department (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 9, 2016
Feeling really good that me being student, I am able to help other students in their homework assignments, lab tutorials and even in their project.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning new every day.
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 7, 2016
Here at Lamar University, I am working as a Graduate Research Assistant under Dr. Stefan Andrei.

I am working on a Virtual Campus Tour within a team of 8 people, using Unity Technology and C# as backend scripting language.

Everyday is fun-filled with the team as we have to learn something new each and every day about Unity technology. It is very vast.

Being the oldest in the team, I have taken some responsibilities to resolve the issues and also resolving day to day problems faced by team. I try to manage the work process by distributing the work as per their efficiency and knowledge.

I got to work with some good and very well cultured & behaved people. Trying to develop the team-work in such a way that will not lead to at least a deadlock.
Pros
Awesome Exposure
Cons
Vast variety of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting students in Mathematics is fun
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Texas City, TXFebruary 17, 2016
I work as a teaching and student assistant in department of college readiness .My job is to help students solve problems related to Pre Algebra,Intermediate Algebra ,College Algebra and Pre-Calculus.
Work atmosphere is really fun for someone like me who loves to teach.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with students n learning new laboratory skills n practical everytime
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 27, 2016
It was very great experienced working in laboratory in my department every-time learning new lab skills from students and professors .i was able to work on time so i learned a lot new things from my lab manager and teachers.my co-workers are very good in co-operative nature.sometimes learning new equipment is very hardest part for me .The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new apparatus n equipment and also learning new skills from teachers.
Pros
free lunche n coffee
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 26, 2016
Very Supportive, Flexible, Good Environment to work in.

There are excellent opportunities for any area of computer science which can be used for graduate project or thesis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learnt a lot and very satisfied with work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 21, 2016
As my job is related to research everyday I had some new task and almost challenging.. It was a very good opportunity to work under highly experienced professor in research area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College of Educational Leadership and Administration
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 19, 2016
Lamar University is part of the Texas University System As an online adjunct instructor, I am responsible for providing quality education and instruction through well prepared classes, relevant assignments with fair and holistic assessment of studies, documents, and Internships.
Pros
Detailed and prompt responses to questions from faculty and students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of my career
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 8, 2016
Loved being in the field and making calls on the site, learnt a lot the the job taught responsibity and the importance of making timely decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth in personal level
Math Instructor (Current Employee) –  Beaumont , TexasOctober 24, 2015
learning experience in new environment along with personal development and interpersonal skills. Company was big enough with strong management and dedicated towards providing comfortable working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Lamar University Reviews by Location