Find companies:
Lamar University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Lamar University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University to work for
Technical Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 28, 2013
I have found my experience very pleasant. Staff is very nice and people are usually polite and humble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work while in college
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 20, 2013
Professors understand you have school work and allow you to do it during your down time at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to study
Student Projects (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 25, 2013
Pros: flexibility in classes
Cons: not happening city
Great organisation to study and work. I learned many technical and management stuff. The Staff is very helpful and generous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
GRADUATE TEACHING ASSISTANT- Graded (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 13, 2013
It is a art time job
Deal with student
Wrote two papers with my professor
When I should do the routine job for 200 students
When I was learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAST PACED
INTER LIBRARY LOAN CORRESPONDENT (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 8, 2013
I WORKED THE INTER LIBRARY LOAN PORTION OF THE LIBRARY. THE WORK WAS VERY FAST PACED, AND THE COWORKERS WERE ALL VERY FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING. I WOULD RETURN, HAD I NOT GRADUATED
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lamar University is a great place to get a degree!
Student (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 2, 2013
Pros: student/instructor ratio
Cons: limited courses
Great University with a beautiful campus. Study help is available and also programs designed for student success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a organization that organized by the professor and company. all the students would have a conference in this organization periodically.
Member of Accounting Society (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXApril 12, 2013
conference-----.To know more Knowledge about the CPA exam. this is just a kind of organization that put all the people who are in the accounting area. i have been enjoy all the conversation with those student who already had a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with friends and planning events
Student Director (Former Employee), Beaumont, TxMarch 26, 2013
Pros: was able to do homework at work, and work and plan events with friends
Cons: low pay, short hours
Plan and put on events for the Fall and Spring Semesters,
Coordinate Student Organization Co- sponsorship, event evaluation,
money handling, reservations, poster/ flyer approval for campus posting,
Coordinates with students and staff to develop activities, programs, and initiatives
related to student life. Implementing computer lab rules and regulations, – more... insure that
students have all that they need to accomplish their school work on our computers, and
complete all task assigned by supervisors in a timely manner.
-Working as a student director helped me a great deal; by allowing me to use
my creative side, leadership skills, as well as developing negotiation skills
and budgeting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Research Assistant (Chemical Engineering) (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMarch 3, 2013
* Working on various state funded projects
* Preparing proposals
* Learnt CFD Simulations, Flare Operations, Proposal/Report writing
*Co-workers were good and fun to work with
*Most enjoyable: Flexible hours
*Most hardest part: Setting up hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great easy job
Service Desk Technician (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXFebruary 20, 2013
Easiest Job ever. Lots of fun except when the school sent out automated call announcements then the call center would get flooded with calls. I was able to get a lot of homework done on the job while getting paid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to study
Web Master, Research Assistant (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXDecember 12, 2012
I like the southern style life on campus :-) I studied my master's in computer science here and professors were nice and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enhance my knowledge on chemicals
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXOctober 29, 2012
Pros: nil
Cons: flexible timings
i learned working friendly with co-workers
by working with this company i learned time management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting and a dynamic field
Chief Investment Officer (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXOctober 17, 2012
Polished my financial skills while working as Chief Investment Officer and a Financial Analyst of the fund
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff is overworked and unpaid. no advancement
Secretary (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: healthcare, holidays
Cons: everything else
Information about employee benefits is not clearly explained. HR is not in favor of employee even when they violate your rights. Poor management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work environment
STARS Tutoring Desk Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 12, 2012
It was very easy to communicate with management. It was a learning experience that was also fun!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lamar
Lamar University Intramurals (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 22, 2012
Pros: free access to gym
Cons: only could 20 hours a week/paid once a month
This job worked best especially if you are taking college course. They strive to work around the classes and provide further assistance for study groups. I was able to learn about SO many different type of sports and got the opportunity to even participate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experiences
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 19, 2012
Pros: fixed income
As an International Student at Lamar University, I was offered the job by the department of Industrial Engineering owing to my high score in Graduate Record Examination (G.R.E.).

I started working in the conducive environment at Lamar University in September 2011, learning a lot about hardware and software maintenance.Attitude of management was very – more... friendly and understanding.the most Hardest part of the job was to troubleshoot the new hardware/software problems, whose solution were hard to find. but In fact this was most interesting part as well as this challenged us as a team to think and search the solution of the problem in a different way. Thus increasing my imagination and creativity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experiences
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 19, 2012
As an International Student at Lamar University, I was offered the job by the department of Industrial Engineering owing to my high score in Graduate Record Examination (G.R.E.). I started working in the conducive environment in September 2012, learning hardware and software maintenance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Hydraulics LabJuly 18, 2012
Pros: management, freedom in workbalance
Cons: low working hours
Learned lots of new things in Computer software and Hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and time consuming
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJuly 8, 2012
Pros: free travel, benefits, and fun
Cons: lack of hrs after season
A typical day at work involved running errands, copying, filing, faxing, maintaining sevral data bases, taking and delivering mail, anwsering phones, greeting guest, and much more! The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to travel and work with the football department. I loved attending the games and the rush of making sure everything happend – more... smoothly before kick-off! – less

About Lamar University

Texas State University-San Marcos is saddled up and ready to rope some graduates. The school has more than 34,000 students pursuing – Read more