Lamar University Employee Reviews

Showing all 66 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with students n learning new laboratory skills n practical everytime
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 27, 2016
It was very great experienced working in laboratory in my department every-time learning new lab skills from students and professors .i was able to work on time so i learned a lot new things from my lab manager and teachers.my co-workers are very good in co-operative nature.sometimes learning new equipment is very hardest part for me .The most enjoyable part of the job is learning new apparatus n equipment and also learning new skills from teachers.
Pros
free lunche n coffee
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 26, 2016
Very Supportive, Flexible, Good Environment to work in.

There are excellent opportunities for any area of computer science which can be used for graduate project or thesis.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learnt a lot and very satisfied with work
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 21, 2016
As my job is related to research everyday I had some new task and almost challenging.. It was a very good opportunity to work under highly experienced professor in research area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College of Educational Leadership and Administration
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 19, 2016
Lamar University is part of the Texas University System As an online adjunct instructor, I am responsible for providing quality education and instruction through well prepared classes, relevant assignments with fair and holistic assessment of studies, documents, and Internships.
Pros
Detailed and prompt responses to questions from faculty and students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best part of my career
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJanuary 8, 2016
Loved being in the field and making calls on the site, learnt a lot the the job taught responsibity and the importance of making timely decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth in personal level
Math Instructor (Current Employee) –  Beaumont , TexasOctober 24, 2015
learning experience in new environment along with personal development and interpersonal skills. Company was big enough with strong management and dedicated towards providing comfortable working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Education Employer
Webmaster (Former Employee) –  Beaumont,TXOctober 4, 2015
Here I worked under Departmental Chair Dr. Stefan Andrei . Under his guidance I improved the website of CS webpages of Lamar University. I applied a lot of web technology to improve the webpage.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching student to conduct experiments well, Researching on your theisis
Research and teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXOctober 4, 2015
A typical day at work is busy and the professors serve as guides to Assistants. Students give a lot of misguided troubles. the most enjoyable part is to be part of the team that help to bring up students and to groom them for a better future
Pros
free Parties or Lunches
Cons
low pay, Long experiments
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work at
Dining Hall Worker (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 21, 2015
always communicating with other customers , being friendly , smile , making sure im meeting the customers needs, getting them what they need, and they are always letting me know if im doing my job right or what needs to be worked on, just to make me work on being the best there
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 8, 2015
I am very thankful for my position at Lamar, employers made it possible for me to balance graduate school and employment!
Pros
Make your own hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desk job with a wonderful work environment
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXSeptember 3, 2015
I had a wonderful time as an office assistant for the Department of Communication. Great work environment with wonderful management. I loved taking care of all of the professor's and student's needs.
Pros
Positive work environment.
Cons
Often times I would finish the work too fast and would find myself lacking direction.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the learning environment
Teaching Assistant/Lab instructor (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXAugust 9, 2015
I would love to stay at Lamar, it is a great company, but my family and life has moved to the Houston area and I would like to follow. I also feel like my career will blossom in a larger city with more opportunities to do extracurricular activities and after school activities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student
Student (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXAugust 6, 2015
I was a Student at Lamar working on my Crimal Justice degree. Lamar was a very good school. They offered a lot of tutoring and different programs to make sure that your claases were passed.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and proactive work environment
Graduate Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJuly 9, 2015
Start the day with well prepared lectures, organize daily assignments, and make sure students are on top of weekly assignments. I learned to be more organized and to be punctual everyday. The most difficult part of the job was having to fail students who did not want to do the work but for the most part the job was very inspiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  beaumontJuly 8, 2015
- got a chance to gain hands on experience under guidance of Dr Tadmor and learnt various facets of surface engineering.
- worked on multiple projects and all the team mates were very supportive and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interactive environment built to help the students
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMay 29, 2015
I learned how to become a student leader. Assisting my fellow students in any way possible to improve their learning environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  BeaumontApril 13, 2015
Nice place to work, research is really good. Coursework is relevant to the industry.

I work in surface phenomena lab. We can work closely with our faculty.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good compensation.
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 11, 2015
very good benefits.
Company provided transportation.
Great food with less cost.
good work like balance.
very nice co-workers and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a fun place to learn
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMarch 24, 2015
With very co-operative and encouraging professors and a friendly environment to work in, it feels really good to be a part of this organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a wonderful workplace and a great research area to learn new things.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mechanical DepartmentFebruary 9, 2015
I learned a lot and was very happy working with the professor and also my co-student worker. I had very good experience learning new Ideas and techniques in the field of Nanotechnology.
Pros
we used to get a free lunch by the professor once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 66 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture