Find companies:
Lamar University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Lamar University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good step if under the right professor
Research Assistant (Former Employee), BeaumontJuly 7, 2014
All depends on whom working with
I got great experience working with FEA ANSYS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Adjunct Instructor - College of Arts and Sciences (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 22, 2014
Great place to work and begin a career. You can maintain a great work life and home life balance. People are very friendly. There is a great amount of time spent on professional development.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Web developer (Graduate Assistant - Webmaster) (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 11, 2014
This two years were really a great time in my life.
As worked with faculty member learned a lot of thinks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Student Assistant - Great place to work and study
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Beaumont, TX 77710May 7, 2014
I was happy to work as graduate student assistant while studying in same university. I was very interesting time. I helped undergraduates in Math Lab, conducted help sessions in calculus I, II and III classes and worked on a research under the title “Comparing PCA, SVD, and NMF on USA Mortality Data” using R Statistical package. All of employes are – more... in Lamar, very nice and willing to help as I did. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and good atomoshpere.
Accountant (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: great work environment.
Cons: wasn't able to grow in the job or progress.
I was promoted to this position as an Accountant once I graduated and obtained my degree. I enjoyed the job but was more of an administrative assitant than an accountant. I would have stayed with this job but I took an offer from LIT that I believed would allow me to obtain more accounting experience.

I dealt with students daily who were in the Academic – more... Partnership program and were in the process of obtaining there Masters Degrees in education. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University to work for
Technical Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 28, 2013
I have found my experience very pleasant. Staff is very nice and people are usually polite and humble.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to study
Student Projects (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 25, 2013
Pros: flexibility in classes
Cons: not happening city
Great organisation to study and work. I learned many technical and management stuff. The Staff is very helpful and generous.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
GRADUATE TEACHING ASSISTANT- Graded (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 13, 2013
It is a art time job
Deal with student
Wrote two papers with my professor
When I should do the routine job for 200 students
When I was learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FAST PACED
INTER LIBRARY LOAN CORRESPONDENT (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 8, 2013
I WORKED THE INTER LIBRARY LOAN PORTION OF THE LIBRARY. THE WORK WAS VERY FAST PACED, AND THE COWORKERS WERE ALL VERY FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING. I WOULD RETURN, HAD I NOT GRADUATED
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lamar University is a great place to get a degree!
Student (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMay 2, 2013
Pros: student/instructor ratio
Cons: limited courses
Great University with a beautiful campus. Study help is available and also programs designed for student success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a organization that organized by the professor and company. all the students would have a conference in this organization periodically.
Member of Accounting Society (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXApril 12, 2013
conference-----.To know more Knowledge about the CPA exam. this is just a kind of organization that put all the people who are in the accounting area. i have been enjoy all the conversation with those student who already had a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working with friends and planning events
Student Director (Former Employee), Beaumont, TxMarch 26, 2013
Pros: was able to do homework at work, and work and plan events with friends
Cons: low pay, short hours
Plan and put on events for the Fall and Spring Semesters,
Coordinate Student Organization Co- sponsorship, event evaluation,
money handling, reservations, poster/ flyer approval for campus posting,
Coordinates with students and staff to develop activities, programs, and initiatives
related to student life. Implementing computer lab rules and regulations, – more... insure that
students have all that they need to accomplish their school work on our computers, and
complete all task assigned by supervisors in a timely manner.
-Working as a student director helped me a great deal; by allowing me to use
my creative side, leadership skills, as well as developing negotiation skills
and budgeting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn
Research Assistant (Chemical Engineering) (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXMarch 3, 2013
* Working on various state funded projects
* Preparing proposals
* Learnt CFD Simulations, Flare Operations, Proposal/Report writing
*Co-workers were good and fun to work with
*Most enjoyable: Flexible hours
*Most hardest part: Setting up hardware
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great easy job
Service Desk Technician (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXFebruary 20, 2013
Easiest Job ever. Lots of fun except when the school sent out automated call announcements then the call center would get flooded with calls. I was able to get a lot of homework done on the job while getting paid
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to study
Web Master, Research Assistant (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXDecember 12, 2012
I like the southern style life on campus :-) I studied my master's in computer science here and professors were nice and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enhance my knowledge on chemicals
Student Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXOctober 29, 2012
Pros: nil
Cons: flexible timings
i learned working friendly with co-workers
by working with this company i learned time management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An interesting and a dynamic field
Chief Investment Officer (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXOctober 17, 2012
Polished my financial skills while working as Chief Investment Officer and a Financial Analyst of the fund
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff is overworked and unpaid. no advancement
Secretary (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 29, 2012
Pros: healthcare, holidays
Cons: everything else
Information about employee benefits is not clearly explained. HR is not in favor of employee even when they violate your rights. Poor management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work environment
STARS Tutoring Desk Assistant (Current Employee), Beaumont, TXSeptember 12, 2012
It was very easy to communicate with management. It was a learning experience that was also fun!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lamar
Lamar University Intramurals (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXAugust 22, 2012
Pros: free access to gym
Cons: only could 20 hours a week/paid once a month
This job worked best especially if you are taking college course. They strive to work around the classes and provide further assistance for study groups. I was able to learn about SO many different type of sports and got the opportunity to even participate.

About Lamar University

Texas State University-San Marcos is saddled up and ready to rope some graduates. The school has more than 34,000 students pursuing – Read more